We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of NIA ROO

April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Nia Roo with views all around A stunning view of Loch Duich from hilltop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
April sunset view from patio - washed down with a chilled Pinot Grigio !
Nia Roo with views all around
A stunning view of Loch Duich from hilltop
Sunset view from Nia Roo
Arnisdale (a short drive away) - stunning scenery
Otter directly below Nia Roo - photo taken by one of our Guests July 2011
Dining al fresco in April 2013 - photo taken by one of our Guests
Wonderful Glen Lichd - walkers dream !
Sunset from Kintail Lodge Hotel - short walk from Cottage
Large fully fitted kitchen
Eilean Donan - four miles from Cottage
Beautiful sunset on Loch Duich
Highland cattle graze quietly
Loch Duich taken from Mam Ratagan
Autumn colours on Loch below Nia Roo
Stag taken by one of our guests  in April 2013
view from house
sunset
Stags on the horizon
Five Sisters of Kintail and Loch Duich from Mam Ratagan - Nia Roo is on the right of picture
Eilean Donan Castle
Loch Duich morning
Four Poster Kingsize en suite bedroom
Loch Duich morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Morvich, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mitch247
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The booking was effortless and the owners contacted us prior to arrival to check if we had any questions and to provide detailed travel information, with this information the cottage was easily found just a few mins from the main A87. On arrival at the cottage we found it well appointed with everything you could need, large rooms and a beautiful view over Loch Duich, there are 3 large bedrooms one on-suite with shower. Our main aim for the week was to do some walking, we were spoiled for choice with Gleann Lichd and Gleann Choinneachain just 15 mins from our doorstep as well as 5 Munro's. We enjoyed walking most days but on our two 'rest' days we managed to visit Attadale gardens, Lochcarron and Applecross one day and the woodland walk and gardens at Balmacara just a short journey and Skye Clan Donald museum and gardens the second day, all very enjoyable days out. We had one day of heavy rain yet is was lovely and warm and dry sitting in the sun room at the front reading, really just an excuse to sit back and enjoy the view and peace and quiet. We mainly ate in, as the cottage has a large fully equipped kitchen, but enjoyed one of the best haddock and chips at the Glenshiel lodge (1 mile from cottage) on our last evening. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your visit- welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadinegre...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage, it had stunning views of the loch and mountains, it really is a picturesque location. It was immaculately clean, with very comfortable beds and everything you need and more, the owners were lovely people, they took us to see the Stags, which was amazing! I will definitely book this again, can't wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Thanks Nadine glad you enjoyed it x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badgerSed...
English Lakes
2 reviews
“An outstanding property, beautifully appointed and with magnificent sea and mountain views”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nia Roo is one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in in 11 years of Scottish holidays. The photographs on the website belie the spaciousness you find when you enter the house. The rooms are large, tastefully furnished and there is an immediate feeling of being at home in comfortable surroundings. The kitchen is a delight, with ample storage space and room to move around and with a central island allowing many hands to work, if desired, without getting in anyone's way. We enjoyed the luxury of the sun-room, even though there was little sun.The bedrooms were well-equipped and the beds extremely comfortable. From its elevated position close above a tidal bay of Loch Duich the views of the loch and the surrounding mountains are to die for. The only drawback to our stay was that we struck the one week in three in May when the weather took a downturn, so we had more cloud and rain than sunshine. We will certainly come again and hope for better luck with that. The cottage could hardly be better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the spaciousness, comfort and views
Liked least: not having a washing-up brush!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you so much for a lovely review - certainly hope you get the sun next time too !! Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia4...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect setting”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cottage was perfect and set between the mountains opposite a sea loc, we had a wonderful 2 weeks here, with plenty of walks through and up the mountains. The Kintail lodge serves very nice food, also Jac-O-Bites at the end of the lane serves very nice fresh home cooked food, well worth a visit. The ilse of Skye is well worth a visit, we drove over the mountain and took the ferry across to it and then went on a boat ride and saw plenty of sea lions. Lovely sitting in the conservatory with wonderful mountain views and watching the tide come in and out, perfect sunsets on a clear evening. We certainly would come back to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the mountain views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Thank you - welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
254PauliH
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Nia Roo for two weeks - end of September 2015. This place is amazing - it is impeccably clean, smells new and fresh and has everything you need and more besides.
The views over the loch with the mountains beyond are spectacular and there are many places to discover within a short drive - places that one would normally drive by without noticing on the way further north or to Skye. For instance Glenelg and Arnisdale, Glen Beag and Corran, Ratagan and Totaig, the mountain car parks with astonishing views over Loch Duich and the wonderful walk to the Falls of Glomach. Walk through various scenic glens and experience the peace and tranquillity of a little visited area.

Nia Roo is perfectly placed to do all these things and a wonderful warm house to return to.
Helpful and friendly owners.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments - glad you had a lovely stay

Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland19
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've visited this area a few times before but we hadn't stayed in a cottage - and I'm so glad we did. Nia Roo is absolutely lovely and in a stunning location. A modern cottage with all the mod cons and beautifully decorated. The glass conservatory that looks out over the views of Loch Duich and the mountains is stunning.... I could sit there all day just looking out at the changing scenery. The Kintail Hotel is only a 20 minute walk if you get sick of cooking, it's great with lovely homemade food in the bar. For all you walkers out there, there are plenty of Munros in the area, so it's perfect for that as well as a lovely relaxing holiday which we had. The owner couldn't have been more lovely or helpful. We had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
Thank you kindly - glad you had a lovely break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter P
1 review
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Nia Roo is a warm, welcoming place with lots of space. Clean, comfortable and it provides you with all you need (and even more) to make your holiday unforgettable.
The location is a very good starting point for visits to Skye, Plockton and the Applecross area. The view from the house over the bay and the tides in Loch Duich is always stunningly beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alles was er, keuken, badkamer, woonkamer, serre. Alles is volledig uitgerust met goede spullen.
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Thank you - hope your journey home was comfortable .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing