We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun! Put it on your "Must Do" list!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Tours

Wilderness Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness Tours is a 600-acre adventure resort situated on the shores of the Ottawa River. Just an hour west of Ottawa and the National Capital Region, Wilderness Tours is Canada's premier adventure resort. With accomodations and activities for every budget, Wilderness Tours is everyone's ultimate playground. Bungee jump, whitewater raft, rockclimb, kayak, stand-up paddle board, mountain bike, or simply relax on one of our two beautiful beaches. Featuring the best nightlife in the Ottawa Valley, Rafters Restaurant and Bar is the place to be every night of the week. Don't miss our outdoor movie theatre, communal campfires, beach volleyball tournaments, and weekend DJ parties.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So much fun! Put it on your "Must Do" list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was my second trip to Wilderness Tours near Ottawa, Ontario. This trip was a group of 10 from our office, with ages ranging from 24 to 54, and everyone had a blast. The staff at Wilderness Tours are simply amazing; all of them! We were here as part of a "Team Building" trip at the end of the summer, and booked the Log Cabin and Beach house for our accommodations, and both places were superb, offering comfy beds, spacious living areas, modern appliances, decks, water views, and a night sky with essentially no light pollution: awesome for star gazers. Whether you are an experienced rafter/paddler, or just looking for a little taste of adventure, the Ottawa River and the team at Wilderness Tours has something for you. The Main Channel offers a few more thrills and spills, whereas the Middle Channel tends to take it a little easier on "you", but you're still in for a blast! Options exist for kids as well that might be a little hesitant (or perhaps it's the parents ;) ). The facilities are fabulous and expansive and offer many other outdoor activities including bungee jumping, kayaking, hiking, mountain biking, volleyball, in addition to winter pursuits. The food was excellent at all meals, and the bar at "Rafters" is a great spot to have a cold one and swap war stories from the day. Our guide; Betty, was a 19 year veteran of the Ottawa River, and we thoroughly enjoyed her professionalism, experience and amazing personality. In closing, Wilderness Tours is a fantastic organization that takes safety, satisfaction and service very seriously, and it shows. Check them out for your next adventure; you'll be glad you did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MuskokaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    67
    16
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to WT for 2 nights and 1 day on the rapids, and it was INSANE! Sport rafting was incredible.
Staff was great, accommodating, and social. The resort was massive, well maintained, and plenty to do.
Really had a great time!
Thanks to all our guides and the rest of the WT staff!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kage44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow!!! That is all I can say. What a ride. My neighbor had told me about whitewater rafting so we thought we would do it as a family. Absolute rush. Family loved it. It is expensive for a family but you cannot buy the look on their faces!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Wilderness Tours Rocked My SOCKS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was one of a group of 5 adults that stayed in one of the Chalets for Labour Day weekend. Let me just say we hand an incredible trip! Day 1 was arrival and we basically partied. Day 2 we went white water rafting (Wendy is the one you want!) and then bungee jumping. Day 3 went mountain biking and then left the resort and went skydiving at MILEHIGH!!! Honestly the staff at Wilderness Tours are AMAZING and you can tell they love their jobs.. and are extremely talented as most of them wear several hats. They are personable, fun and just want you the guest to have an awesome experience. In short I would say that this place is not for families as there is a bar on site... a well utilized bar by patrons. It can be quite or a party atmosphere, it is what you make it! This resort is somewhere in between camping and a hotel. The Chalets are rustic, but have a 3-Piece bathroom.... totally acceptable unless your born with a silver spoon :) The only negative comment I have is that our room wasn`t made up upon arrival... but they totally made up for their short comings. I WILL RETURN to this RESORT

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“WT takes your fun seriously!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Family of 4 - 2 girls (ages 10,12)
Easily the highlight of our summer!
Rafted here in '97 with friends - still great place.
2 days on the water - Excellent.
Resort activities - Excellent (pool, paddling, v-ball, b-ball, campfire, biking, etc.) - make sure to ride over to Presqu'ile for the beach and rope swing.
Food - Excellent, both in dining hall and on the river.
River guides - Excellent, Betty is the supreme river queen!
(we want to request her to guide us next year!)
Our girls can't wait to go back and said they want to become raft guides someday :-)
- WT takes your fun seriously (how's that for a tagline!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sempur_sursum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Tours also viewed

Foresters Falls, Township of Whitewater Region
Foresters Falls, Township of Whitewater Region
 
Foresters Falls, Township of Whitewater Region
L'lle-du-Grand-Calumet, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Wilderness Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing