We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, fantastic service and lovely food”
Review of Glangrwyney Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glangrwyney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glangrwyney Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Glangrwyney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed at Glangrwyney Court recently and we were really impressed. The house itself is very impressive and set in about 30 acres of its own beautiful grounds. Our room was really pretty and comfortable with gorgeous views of the countryside. We were very impressed with the service and the breakfast was delicious. Our only regret was that we didnt have time to stay for longer! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Crickhowell.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirl071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

It’s just as I would expect a county house to be. The sweeping driveway with the crunching of the gravel under your cars tyres. Enter the hallway & your met with a sense of history. The ornaments, paintings, drawings all compliment this building. The grand piano in the bar accessed via a very comfortable lounge and the gardens are a picture, take time to walk round, its worth it.

Excellent helpful & friendly staff & super breakfast again taken a room oozing with “country house features”

We would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

There are very few times when I actually thank the lord for the creation of television, but this has to be one of them. I don't usually don't get sucked into the "reality TV bubble", but Five's recent Hotel Inspector series was something of a rare treat.

And, unusually, I let the power of TV get the better of me..... after seeing the episode about Glangrwyney Court in Crickhowell, I logged onto the guest house's website and booked a two night stay.

Was really chuffed when we pulled up outside on the gravel driveway. The 17th century building was impressive - and the entrance area even more so. It may have been called bric-a-brac in the TV programme, but do you know? The ornaments and collection of "bits and pieces" in the entrance hall leading through to the lounge (and, of course, the honesty bar area) really fit with the period of the building.

The staff are indeed friendly - I seem to recall them being referred to as "little elves" in the TV programme.... not elvish-like at all!! The rooms were all immaculately set out and each had its own character (and yes, more ornaments but all in keeping with the setting).

Breakfast (included in the very reasonable room rate) was also a delight. Christina (the "star" of the particular episode of Hotel Inspector that made me book) also made a welcome appearance. What a lovely lady. Really down to earth and an absolute laugh to be with ..... we could have stayed hours talking!!

Don't let other reviewers put you off. This is a really well positioned, lovely and homely place. It's incredibly reasonable (still) too and Crhsitina, Warwick and their girls deserve much success.

We'll be stopping by again and bringing more of our family with us too!!

Thanks for a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank h0vetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Glangrwyney court over the August bank holiday. We travelled with friends and spent three nights in the house. The owners are welcoming and all the staff/family are very friendly. Our rooms were enormous and very inkeeping with the age and style of the house. There is a very large, comfortable lounge for guests and also a bar. Breakfast was excellent. We would not hesitate to return on our next trip to the Brecons.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosetteL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Had a two night stay at the Glangrwyney Court during the May half term. The house is a fabulous detached manor in lovely countryside.

The rooms all have their own character (we were staying in the Lavender family room at the top of the house). It was a lovely, comfortable room with plenty of space and nice views. The bathroom was small but pleasant and contained a nice shower (no bath). I enjoyed using the lovely Penhaligons toiletries provided.

The other members of our group were in a fabulous room on the floor below us. This room boasted a large bath and also a shower which could become a sauna. We had a chance to look at some of the other rooms and they all seemed luxurious and well-appointed.

The surrounding gardens were pretty and full of interesting shrubs and sculptures.

Breakfasts were tasty, using the local produce as much as possible.

This is a place for quiet relaxation and is ideal for a getaway weekend. We enjoyed our two days in this tranquil oasis very much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We only stayed here for one night on a short last-minute break in South Wales, having read the other reviews on this site. We weren't disappointed.

We had a room (the Rose Room) at the top of the building and it was quiet and comfortable, although not all that spacious. The bathroom however was excellent and about as big as the room itself, with a separate bathtub and shower cubicle. Despite one review to the contrary, we didn't find any problem with the toiletries provided, of which there was a full range.

The breakfast was superb and copious. You couldn't possibly want for more.

The only small problems I would point out are that the radiator in the room makes a continuous rattling noise when the heating is in operation, and although it isn't loud, you do notice it in this quiet location. Also it can be very easy to miss the turning from the main road when you're trying to find the place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

This is a delightful bed and breakfast. You step in to a huge hall and immediately feel at home. Ths is a home. The decor and furnishings are opulent but in a classic way. The rooms are outstanding. Having stayed at the George V in Paris I can only say the rooms are as good as. The breakfast was the full welsh and served in the dining room with wonderful views of the garden. We stayed in the Toile room - it enjoys views over the front lawn.

Christina, the proprietoress, is extremely welcoming and makes every effort to ensure your stay will be just right. Her recommendation where to eat for dinner took us to Gliffaes where we had a five star 3 course dinner.

I can honestly say I unreservedly recommend Glangrwyney Court. We have every intention of going back.

Tip. Take great care exiting back onto the main road - use the mirror.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RykPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glangrwyney
2.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
635 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
538 reviews
11.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hall Bed & Breakfast
White Hall Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Glangrwyney
115 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glangrwyney Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glangrwyney Court

Address: Glangrwyney, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Glangrwyney
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Glangrwyney
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glangrwyney Court 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glangrwyney Court Hotel Glangrwyney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing