We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury on the farm”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Longtown, Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnnyboy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Luxury on the farm”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I stayed at the lodge for Easter weekend 2017. The whole place is absolutely immaculate and I could not believe that it had been open for a few years as everything looked brand new. As a very special touch, Adele the owner had left us a hamper full of local goodies that was not expected but very appreciated. I will not spoil the surprise of this as I think she leaves a basket for every stay (though I suspect ours was extra special as it was Easter) but needless to say, it was an extremely thoughtful touch.

The lodge is situated next to a farm and I think that if your party has children, they will love this as they can get a close up look of the animals if they wish. I was particularly impressed by the high spec of the applicances which included a bottle fridge, coffee machine, free fast wifi and of course, a great hot tub.

There is loads to explore in the surrounding area and I was particularly impressed by Carlisle which is definitely a hidden gem.

Overall far exceeded all of our expectations, I don't think I've ever experienced a level of cleanliness and attention to detail like this before; even in luxury hotels!

Thank you Adele for making our Easter weekend extra special.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your exceptional review, we are delighted you enjoyed you stay & your extra special Easter present & look forward to your return.
Owen & Adele Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole445
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Needed a last minute break to get away from it all and we found the perfect place. Booked one day, arrived the next to find our home from home for the next 7 nights. We have stayed in many lodges but have never received a welcome pack, like the one that greeted us on our arrival, I won't spoil the surprises but you will not be disappointed!! The lodge has everything you could need, a pleasant surprise opening the drawers and cupboards. Soft white fluffy towels and a huge comfy bed and comfy pillows. The hot tub was great, although the weather was against us, we made the most of it, as often as we could. Good area for exploring but also a great base for much needed r & r. The owners Mr & Mrs Taylor were very helpful without being intrusive. Many thanks for a great stay, I'm sure we will try and get back.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, alas the weather is out of our control, hopefully better on your return its ony February!
Many thanks Mr & Mrs Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aprilhead...
livingston scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I would swap my house for this lodge!”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just back from an amazing stay at this fantastic lodge, I was taken as a surprise from my partner and what a surprise it was. We were made to feel so welcome the lodge itself was stunning and the personal gifts were lovely. The owners even went out there way to accommodate my food requirements. The little treats made it so special and the hot tub was the icing on the cake, it was so enjoyable we even stayed an extra night! Would recommend for any couples to get away, close to Gretna shopping centre and a great location. Looking forward to our next visit!!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your surprise!.Looking forward to your return.
Owen & Adele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a stunning place”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Location central to places to visit.where do i start about the lodge, arrived 23rd dec and left 2nd jan, what a welcome we had,christmas tree all decorated,christmas hamper,flowers. champagne waiting for us,what a high standard of everything there,wouldnt change a thing absolutely amazing.Although the main house of the owners was really close,Adele and Owen left you to it and was always on hand if needed loved every minute of it, would love to return at summertime
Thank you
Adele and Owen

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thank you for your fabulous comments, lovely to meet you & look forward to your return.
Owen & Adele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H
2 reviews
“Exceeded Our Expectations”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We went to Pheasant lodge to celebrate our 20th Wedding anniversary so we wanted it to be somewhere nice. Needless to say we were not disappointed. Mrs Taylor emailed to confirm our booking and also called. We arrived on the Monday to the fantastic autumn scenery. Mrs Taylor was there to meet us and took us straight to the lodge where we were very impressed by the quality and the attention to detail from the great hamper to the complimentary fruit and even down to the sonos sound system. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. Both Mr and Mrs Taylor were charming and very helpful. I would recommend Pheasant lodge as an ideal get away for anyone.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: There was nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed you recent visit & hope to see you again.
Mr & Mrs Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sj6791
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The lodge with the wow factor”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a birthday surprise ,the beautiful lodge is set in a gorgeous garden and once you get inside it the wow factor happens from the fittings to the flowers the fabulous bed and bedding so many little extras you don't know where to look for the next wow ,my birthday card balloon Chocolates and fizz was such a thoughtful extra and gratefully received ,the owners Adele and Owen are lovely people and have put a lot of time and effort into Pheasant Lodge and it really is worth a trip to see first hand .Its a brilliant base for visiting the Kelpies the Falkirk Wheel and Hexham is a lovely market town .Well done to you both for such an amazing property we will back ,it's our silver wedding anniversary next year !

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and bedding
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayebeck2...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING, Totally Loved It!!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked pheasant lodge for our 10th wedding anniversary as we booking a wedding vowel renewal at Gretna green.
Had an amazing stay, the lodge was beautiful and fully equipped with everything we needed. When we arrived we were greeted by Adele and had prosecco on ice, flowers and various other gifts. The welcome packs were overwhelming. Both Adele and Owen are lovely people and made us feel so welcome. The wild life, views were stunning and the hot tub made great edition to relax at the end of a day... All round we had a amazing stay and will return in the near future. Thanks for a great time!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments, so pleased we could be part of your memorable celebrations. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Owen & Adele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing