We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow just Wow”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Longtown, Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave S
Murcia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow just Wow”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had the pleasure of staying over the Valentines weekend and to say we were blown away by the welcome packs we were both left speechless! The place is 100% luxury with beds that are so comfy it's hard to get up.
The layout is perfect with good size bedrooms and bathroom with a superb shower with constant hot water.
The hot tub was fantastic and we even were in it as the snow was falling.
We will definitely be booking again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Hi,
Thank you for the fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming again soon. !
Kind regards,
Owen & Adele Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie M
1 review
“Pheasant lodge" beautiful☺"”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just got home after an amazing weekend at pheasant lodge, i have to say we got a very warm welcome on arrival and totaly blown away by such hight standards of the lodge and the amount of treats laid out for us no expence spared from a large basket of fresh fruit to hand made chocalates cakes champagne beer fresh egg fresh flowers in all the rooms the list is endless everywhere cleaned to a very high standard pure luxury , l loved looking out to all the countryside the ducks hens nd sheep and even two foxes came to see us ,the hot tub even in feb was to die for so relaxing we will be back theres no dout in that thank you for an amazing weekend away 5 star id give you 6 lovely couple beautiful lodge well done☺x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmybric...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just home from a fantastic weeks stays at Pheasant Lodge. The lodge is beautifully furnished and equipped with the highest quality items, from the luxurious beds and bedding to the kitchen crockery and appliances. On arrival we were shown round by the very friendly owner and got the most amazing "welcome hamper" I won't spoil the surprise but WOW!!! Not only does the lodge have everything you could need or wish for inside, there is the hot tub outside which we enjoyed every evening. Being there on the 5th of November meant we got to relax in it and enjoy some firework displays at the same time. The owners have put a lot of thought and effort into the lodge and deserve everyone of these 5 stars, thank you very much and hope we get back to enjoy it again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasmin A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have stayed in quite a few self catering lodges...however nothing could compare to this experience.

To say the property is perfect is an understatement...it is actually very difficult to write this review as words cannot describe not only the perfect atmosphere but also the great lengths the owner went to in order to make our stay so special...from trying to cater for our dietary needs (oh yes I said cater even though this was meant to be self catering), she also left us a loaf of bread which was split half white half brown (seriously nobody is this thoughtful) to purchasing us a very touching & specific drink for an activity we mentioned we would be doing and so much more.

All I can advise you is to go! Book now before I beat you to it.
I'm at home now completely relaxed, refreshed and ready to go back to work again so if you need a break to recharge those batteries this is the ideal place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieB197...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Log cabin living on another scale! 5 star luxury with hot tub!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you ever want a log cabin experience it must be this one!!! From the welcome hamper to the luxurious linens, furniture, fixtures and fittings, it was beyond our expectations!

The welcome hamper I might add isn't a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates, there was a full breakfast pack of local produce in the fridge, fresh bread from the local bakers, treats galore from the area, cake, chocolates, oat asks, lemon cheese, chilli jam, the list is endless and and did I mention the three floral displays from both her own garden and the local florist!!

The cabin is set in its own pristine garden, fabulous solid oak garden table and chairs in the garden and on the decking and fabulous, spotless hot tub!

The interior of the cabin is so well presented, every amenity you could possibly require from iron to hairdryer to dressing own and slippers and a fully equipped state of the art (and easy to use) kitchen with every appliance you could possible need.

The area itself has ample to do, from agricultural shows, food and drink markets, Carlisle, Cumbria and Gretna within a few miles you will have plenty to see and do, with many quality restaurants nearby you won't struggle to eat out. The village of long town has plenty amenities and is only 1 mile from the cabin. It has a bakers, butchers, tearoom, restaurant, pub, takeaways and a local mini supermarket with everything you could possibly need.

Mrs Taylor has created an outstanding product, so much so you will never want to leave. It's comfort and luxury on another level. Her knowledge of the area and events nearby are invaluable and she's such a welcoming lady, there if you need her but by no means does she invade you privacy, how she find that perfect balance I don't know but she is the cabin best asset. Although the cabin and its facilities are 5 star, she would be its 6th star!!!

I truly believe if you visit you will be talking about it in years to come and we will definitely be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mrs Taylor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Impressed from the moment we walked in!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent a relaxing week at the recently established Pheasant Lodge, where everything we could have wanted had already been thought of by the host.

We can't thank Mrs T (the owner) enough, the accommodation, fixtures, fittings and furnishings are all 5 star. The addition of Prosecco on ice, and a range of lovely things to eat and drink made for a fantastic welcome. Our road bikes were given a secure home for the week and Mrs T provided information on cycle routes and the area in general.

Pheasant Lodge is an ideal base being within one hours traveling distance from many lovely places, please do visit Drumlanrig Castle, great for cycling (mountain or road).

We really can't recommend Pheasant Lodge enough.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavk73
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You really have to go -”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just spent a fantastic Easter weekend break at Pheasant Lodge for my birthday - from start to finish our stay was superb. Birthday gifts, luxurious hamper, fruit basket, local produce in fridge for breakfast including hand picked eggs :) the lodge is expertly put together and the finishing touches are divine - this is what a lodge should be and how I imagined a stay at a lodge would be - others will pale in comparison.

Located a 10 minute drive from M74 with Gretna & Carlisle within 20 minute drive away.

So many positives about this accommodation from the welcoming owners, local wildlife and farm animals for us the Best part of our stay was making use of the hot tub looking out over the countryside relaxing with a glass of wine.

Would definitely recommend and will return ourselves in the future

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing