We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salem House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Chacewater B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this B&B as a last minute booking for a one night stay. When we arrived myself and my wife were greeted by Lisa. We were shown to our room which was immaculate and very well presented. It was nice and quite in a lovely peaceful setting off the main road. Breakfast was fantastic, the attention to detail and service was well received by us both. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody.. Thank you Lisa for a wonderful stay even though it was brief..

Room Tip: Contact owner direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed at Salem House a couple of times now and we will be returning at every possible opportunity. The room is beautifully decorated with all of the home comforts that you need, including one of the comfiest mattresses I have slept on for a long time! But, what makes the stay memorable is Lisa's friendly and welcoming attitude towards her guests! She really is the perfect landlady! Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to, with many options given and at whatever time that suits you. Thank you, Lisa! We will always think of you first for any visit to Cornwall!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oodlesofdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Despite the wind, rain and floods, Salem House B&B provided a warm and friendly haven. Very well appointed, a charming host, and five star breakfasts. If they had put on sunshine, our cup would have been full.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Nizar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a 'find', it is spotless, friendly and very quiet, well away from the road. Lisa made us the most wonderful breakfasts and we did not have to get up early. The scones with jam and cream were a delight.Thank you Lisa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely room in a lovey location but best of all the lovey Lisa who made us very welcome and made best breakfasts ever. A true Domestic Goddess! From this location we were easily able to visit Padstow, the Eden Project and St Ives. It isn't too far from newquay airport.Thank you.

Room Tip: The room has its own entrance and has everything you need. Warmer weather visitors have the added be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supergrannieisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at Salem House for 20+ nights over the last few months on business in Truro. This has been an excellent bolt hole at the end of the day, rural tranquillity and yet not far from the village, Truro and the rest of west / central Cornwall.

The room was comfortable and pleasantly presented and the room pricing is competitive.

Lisa is a great host, who prepares a first rate breakfast.

I could not get a mobile phone line in the room, but the free wi-fi worked well, plus a good Sky package and so I did not find this an inconvenience.

I would heartily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived fairly late in the evening due to bad weather on route and had plans to pop out for an hour after unpacking. We found the place so welcoming that we decided to stay in instead with a cup of tea and Sky TV. The room and en-suite has been decorated to a high standard and everything worked perfectly, including the free wi-fi.

Lisa is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable. Breakfast was superb, in the very grand breakfast room.

This is our first B&B stay near Truro, as we normally stop with friends there - but we will definitely be booking again when we are over that way, as it made our break that much more special.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southeastcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Salem House Salem, Chacewater TR4 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Chacewater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chacewater
Price Range: $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW Management - January 2017 Salem House is a rural Bed and Breakfast, set in an acre of private gardens, next to an historic old copper & tin mine and community. Salem House is part of the historic Tregothnan Estate. The house dates back to the 1600's, originally built for the Hornblower family, one of the historic mine owners of Cornwall. The house is steeped in history. Salem House is a "home from home" hosted by Marie, with spacious, private accommodation and luxury furnishings. We offer freshly prepared local produce, cooked to order. You can sit outside your french doors and enjoy the secluded garden and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Salem House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing