We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Little Idyll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Idyll
Ranked #1 of 2 Ningwood B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Luxurious accommodation with superb breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by Chloe and enjoyed a cup of tea and home made shortbread and in our superbly appointed bedroom there were lots of goodies and home made cakes for us to enjoy. If you are looking for accommodation in this area then look no further than Little Idyll, nowhere else could compare!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed with Chloe and Rob in Little Idyll for a week. It was our 39th Wedding Anniversary and we had the most fantastic time ever. The cottage is out of this world, and Chloe and Rob were the most perfect hosts. Our room was superb, beautifully furnished and the copper bath in the beautiful bathroom was stunning.
The food was excellent; and the afternoon tea was such a treat. Chloe and Rob made us feel more like family friends than guests, so warm and friendly. All the little extras were much appreciated.
We have no hesitation in recommending Little Idyll and look forward to going back for many more visits in the future.
Thank You Chloe and Rob xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Charming thatched cottage,super breakfast and charming hostess Chloe.

Great location Close to Freshwater and Yarmouth,upmarket and value for money.

Would recommend it to friends and family. We had an excellent 2 night stay on the Isle of Wight

Excellent Inns nearby.Hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the super copper bath, part of the charm of the cottage, see web site for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mum and I have just arrived back from an overnight stay at the Little Idyll. The property was in an ideal location and easy to find. Chloe greeted us as the door and immediately introduced herself; she couldn't have been more accommodating. Waiting for us in our luxury double guestroom were two beautiful homemade cupcakes as-well as a hamper full of goodies such as biscuits and crackers. The icing on the cake was the copper bath. Views of the stunning countryside included frequent visits from pheasants, rabbits, horses and various different birds. We dined at the village pub which was within short walking distance. We both had a great night sleep in the comfy bed....Breakfast was vast with many yummy options. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay made possible thanks to great hospitality from our two hosts. We will certainly be back especially to sample a tempting afternoon tea. Thanks Rob and Chloe :-)

Room Tip: The breakfast quiche was to die for :-P
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki-Blackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just had a very relaxing 3 nights at Little Idyll.
Everything about it was 100%. The bed was very comfortable, The food was perfect. ( Afternoon tea is a highly recommended extra. ) The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and you are so at ease you feel at home.
We will be back later in the year :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed here in April 2013 for 1 night but could easily have stayed for longer!
The owners were so welcoming and the little touches that gave a real wow factor just kept coming. I won't spoil the surprises but they really make you feel special.
The location is fantastic, a couple of nice pubs for food and drink nearby, it is easy to find and we'll located to get around the island.
The room and bathroom were perfect, done to a high standard
Breakfast was superb, delicious!
We hope to return and would highly recommend family and friends to stay here

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foxypepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a top notch B&B - excellent break for us to celebrate our 2 birthdays. Chloe had cooked one of her special cakes - a masterpiece! Breakfasts were excellent and leisurely affairs. Room very clean, comfortable and finished to a hight standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ningwood
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
380 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 10 in Totland
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
219 reviews
12.7 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
315 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clock House
Clock House
#2 of 2 in Brook
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Idyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Idyll

Property: Little Idyll
Address: Little Idyll Main Road, Ningwood PO30 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ningwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ningwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Idyll 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Idyll is a grade II listed thatched, stone property, dating back to the 16th century, set in Ningwood, in the beautiful West Wight countryside. The exterior of Little Idyll projects an image of the quintessential 'Old England'. Step inside, and you'll find that the stonework and ancient timbers have been skillfully blended with a few contemporary pieces. With only three double bedrooms, the house is ideal for an intimate escape in splendid, rural surroundings. The large garden has a tranquil fish pond, and usually has a flurry of garden birds popping in for their meals. As well as the odd fox, rabbit, pheasant and woodpecker. You may find that you waste a couple of hours just watching all the creatures rush about with their daily business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Little Idyll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing