We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Catlowdy B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a really fantastic place, we only stayed for one night but would stay again and for longer. Everyone we meet during our stay were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast and evening meal was out of this world, home cooked and of a very high standard. We travelled on motorcycles and when we arrived we were given the option of parking them in an enclosed shed/garage. We were allocated one of the cottages which was fitted to a high standard with a lounge area with TV, kitchen etc, really nice relaxing space to warm and chill out in. There is a bar area and lounge in the main house, which is also a nice relaxed area, free wifi is also available. We would highly recommend this if you are in the area. Lots of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerGirlCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed one night and the owners were most welcoming. Our room was big and well furnished with a large ensuite that had both a bath and shower. Breakfast included a cooked meal which was delicious and set you up for the day. If you are organised you can order an evening meal and alternative dishes for breakfast.
The is a well furnished and comfortable common sitting room and conservatory which were great for relaxing and also had internet access.
The property location is isolated but then that is why you go the the Borders!
Excellent and will definately stay again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Believe what you read, the excellent reviews on here all speak the truth.
Now I am a clean, house proud person - but this place is immaculate!
We stayed for one night here on our way down from Scotland back to Yorkshire - its not far from the M74 just passed Gretna.
The place is beautiful, we stayed in the main building just to the right at the top of the stairs. It was spacious, wonderfully decorated, ensuite with double shower, fluffy white towels and the comfiest bed!
We stayed for dinner (£20 each, glasses of wine for £3) which was lamb with all the trimmings followed by a choice of deserts. (infact, after you have finished your first desert, you are offered a second!) Everything was home made (except the wine) with local produce. Both dinner and breakfast were absolutely delicious and the dining area is just as immaculate as the rooms.
We enjoyed after dinner coffee in the the conservatory or we could have sat in the lounge, again both rooms are delightful.
Although we didn't do a lot of exploring while we were here there are plenty of places to go walking. Margaret and Tom ("yes dear")would be happy to point out routes to you. The owners and the family are all very helpful and friendly. It really does feel like home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having read all previous reviews I found it hard to believe it could be that good. It was. This is a very clean establishment with excellent facilities in a part of the world that is often overlooked by tourists heading further north. Over a Bank Holiday weekend we tootled for miles on scenic roads without seeing other cars.
And if you are coming to this region stay here and enjoy good breakfasts [possibly a bit more fresh fruit needed] and a lovely small team of friendly hosts. There are cottages for rent here too - ideal for families

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tontoBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary here, having visited Bessiestown regularly, with our children, during the past ten years. It is the most delightful place, from the warm welcome, beautifully-appointed bedrooms to the delicious homecooked meals, we feel at home as soon as we arrive. It's well-located for the Lake District, Scottish Borders and Carlisle and even the North-East. The scenery is spectacular. For a relaxing break in idyllic surroundings, Bessiestown cannot be beaten!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a working farm B & B on the outskirts of Northumberland.
Plenty of car park space on a clean courtyard.
A warm welcome by Jack (Braces) who took our luggage and showed us around.
The bedroom was classed a twin which had a double and a single bed. The room was clean, spaciousness and well decorated. On opening the bedroom door you immediately went down two steps, which could be a potential hazard, but once you got used to it it was fine.
There was a bright & airy conservatory leading to a large lounge with an honesty bar serving most spirits and bears. It was left to the clients to help themselves and list what drinks were taken.
Breakfast was a typical farmhouse full english, well cooked, hot and plentiful.
Thank you Margaret, Jack and your staff for a great nights stay.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties make sure you tell Margaret & Jack so they can allocate a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned peace filled week in self contained cottage at Bessiestown, Comfort in STYLE, Views to Die For, Genuinely friendly hospitality from the owners Margaret & Jack, Beds heavenly, Beautifully appointed en-suite with fluffy dazzling white towels, had dinner in the hotel on a couple of evenings, food delicously cooked to perfection and served with a winning smile, the perfect getaway, We`ll Be Back, thank you Margaert & Jack.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse

Address: Bessiestown Farm Longtown, Catlowdy CA6 5QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Catlowdy
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Catlowdy
Price Range: $130 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multi award winning, 5 Star Gold, Country Guest House situated in a magnificent rural setting just north of Carlisle, midway between Gretna Green & Hadrian’s Wall. Within driving distance to the Lake District, South of Scotland or an ideal stop off point for those traveling to or from Scotland. Here a warm, lighthearted welcome awaits its guests to peace and quiet, beautiful public rooms, pretty en suite bedrooms and delicious home cooking, using local ingredients and traditional recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing