We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Catlowdy B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary here, having visited Bessiestown regularly, with our children, during the past ten years. It is the most delightful place, from the warm welcome, beautifully-appointed bedrooms to the delicious homecooked meals, we feel at home as soon as we arrive. It's well-located for the Lake District, Scottish Borders and Carlisle and even the North-East. The scenery is spectacular. For a relaxing break in idyllic surroundings, Bessiestown cannot be beaten!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
75
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a working farm B & B on the outskirts of Northumberland.
Plenty of car park space on a clean courtyard.
A warm welcome by Jack (Braces) who took our luggage and showed us around.
The bedroom was classed a twin which had a double and a single bed. The room was clean, spaciousness and well decorated. On opening the bedroom door you immediately went down two steps, which could be a potential hazard, but once you got used to it it was fine.
There was a bright & airy conservatory leading to a large lounge with an honesty bar serving most spirits and bears. It was left to the clients to help themselves and list what drinks were taken.
Breakfast was a typical farmhouse full english, well cooked, hot and plentiful.
Thank you Margaret, Jack and your staff for a great nights stay.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties make sure you tell Margaret & Jack so they can allocate a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned peace filled week in self contained cottage at Bessiestown, Comfort in STYLE, Views to Die For, Genuinely friendly hospitality from the owners Margaret & Jack, Beds heavenly, Beautifully appointed en-suite with fluffy dazzling white towels, had dinner in the hotel on a couple of evenings, food delicously cooked to perfection and served with a winning smile, the perfect getaway, We`ll Be Back, thank you Margaert & Jack.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked for 2 nights as our fiends were getting married at Gretna, all I can say is WOW!! the hospitality started from the moment we drove into the car park and Margaret and Jack greeted us. The rooms were extremely spacious and maticulously clean. We were told to make the place our home and we felt comfortable with this. Jack certainly jollied us along with his amazing sense of humour. This is a family run business and they all go that extra mile, to ensure your stay is perfect. We would deffinately recomend this fantastic place and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

B & B's just don't get any more charming than this. Someone paid a great deal of attention to this lovely place. From English proper folks who own and run this B & B, to the lovely spacious grounds, and kids play ground yards, to a spacious honesty wet bar, to charming rooms where details were not spared. A dinning room so large and cozy that if you want to be alone you can, or enjoy the company of one of their interesting guests. 
For a few additional pounds each we choose to eat dinner in the dinning room, and was that a treat! Lovely table silver and linens, nice glass of wine of your choosing, food so delectable that even the discriminating palate would be hard pressed to complain. Oh and desert, it was home made and wonderful !!...and would you like to top off your desert with coffee, a desert wine, or maybe a cognac?, why of course!
Not only will I give this cozy little place a 5 star rating, but an extra point for charm and brilliance, and for a price that is simply not enough for this lovely gem!

Room Tip: Just show up and let Margret and John take good care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked one night for a short break and visit to Hermitage Castle. I phoned to ask if we could have dinner and told that we could and it would be lamb. I was pleased that the owner had a sense of humour which he shares with guests when he asked if I wanted dinner for my wife as well! We arrived to be given a choice of room. We opted for one with a shower and what a shower - a huge double shower and a luxurious bedroom with every imaginable extra on the hot drinks tray. The public rooms are very comfortable and offer a range from conservatory, bar and smaller one with a TV in it which was fortunately never on while we were there. Dinner was great with the lamb accompanied by great vegetables particularly the mashed parsnip and swede; and a huge choice of desserts - as well as second helpings, followed by tea or coffee with mints. We had tap water although you could have red or white wine. The attention to detail in the rooms and the friendliness of the family and staff made this a real treat and we would heartily recommend Bessiestown. It reminded us how great British food can be and how good it is to meet other guests in the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glentressgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willatook, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We travelled from Carlisle to Catlowdy, a tiny village in the hills of Cumbria, to Bessiestown. It certainly was in a beautiful location, with wide views over the hills towards Solway. We wanted peace and quiet and it is certainly there. We were met and welcomed by Jack & Margaret. The B&B is actually a guest house with a floor upstairs of smallish bedrooms and outside there would appear to be newer buildings catering for families. The rooms are immaculate with a small bathroom, also immaculate. Tea & coffee making facilities were present in the room. The dining room downstairs not only caters for breakfast but also for dinner so we did not have to trek miles to find a pub meal. The dinner was very good, basic meal (set menu for the main course) and a selection for dessert for £20. There is an 'open bar' which we found interesting. A good selection of spirits and wine was offered at dinner. Meal service was excellent with efficiency, and amusing asides from Jack. Breakfast was the usual array of cereals and lovely fruits though most appeared to be of the tinned variety. The cooked breakfast was substantial. Comfortable night stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catlowdy
6.9 mi away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
140 reviews
13.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
936 reviews
7.5 mi away
Eskdale Hotel
Eskdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langholm
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
145 reviews
10.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
6.0 mi away
Abbotshaw House - Farm B&B
Abbotshaw House - Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Newcastleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse

Property: Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
Address: Bessiestown Farm Longtown, Catlowdy CA6 5QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Catlowdy
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Catlowdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multi award winning, 5 Star Gold, Country Guest House situated in a magnificent rural setting just north of Carlisle, midway between Gretna Green & Hadrian’s Wall. Within driving distance to the Lake District, South of Scotland or an ideal stop off point for those traveling to or from Scotland. Here a warm, lighthearted welcome awaits its guests to peace and quiet, beautiful public rooms, pretty en suite bedrooms and delicious home cooking, using local ingredients and traditional recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing