We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside Canal View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Canal View
Outside Canal View BBQ area at Canal View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Outside Canal View
Outside Canal View
BBQ area at Canal View
Canal View Cottage - open plan well equiped kitchen
Inside dining area
Canal View sitting area
Double bedroom overlooking the canal
Twin bedroom overlooking the canal
Landing in Canal View
Bathroom at Canal View
Swimming pool area with a 10 metre x 5 metre pool
Swimming pool area
Swimming pool area
View of the lock from outside Canal View
Swings and Trampoline play area
Marseillette
Carcassonne Medieval Cite light up at night
Pretty sea-side town of Collioure popular with artists
Spectacular vineyards
One of the many beautiful Mediteranean beaches
Golf Course, Carcassonne
Canal du Midi
Carcassonne old cite with the Pyrenees in the background
Minerve old village
Canal du Midi
Perypertuse cathar chateau
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marseillette, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary G
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights while travelling a little around the languedoc region. The gite is lovely, and really well equipped. I thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the place.
You'd need a car to get to closest supermarket so come well equipped if arriving late in the day.
Great place to relax and watch the holiday makers go by in the canal.
Only issue for some may be the toilet on ground floor so a slightly narrow staircase to negotiate in the middle of the night if needed.
We'd love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thank you Mary for the review. You are right the Canal and the Lock never fail to entertain us! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki1953
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Canal View for 2 weeks from the beginning of September 2014, Ann Marie and Adrian are a great couple who do all they can to make the stay great. This was the first time we have visited this area and will definitely be back. The accommodation was all one could expect. The views were wonderful. The antics of people trying to get through the lock were very entertaining. We hope that they continue to have a great success with their venture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliePLei...
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location and a Very Warm Welcome”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Canal View Cottage for 5 days as part of a wider tour around France and couldn't have asked for a better base from which to explore the wider area.

The cottage is very well equipped, rooms tastefully furnished and bed very comfortable with great views of the Canal du Midi to wake up to. Ann-Marie and husband Adrian offered a warm welcome and were on hand to help with any advice or recommendations for the area.

We didn't use the pool but I'm sure its a welcome relief in the hotter temperatures. The only reason we didn't give an 'excellent' was because the loo was on the ground floor and not well ventilated. Would definitely recommend to another couple or family of four.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and warm welcome
Liked least: Only loo on ground floor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CheshireL...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We were met with a warm welcome by the owners of the gite, Pauline and Ken. The gite was everything we had expected and more. It was spacious and comfortable with fabulous views of the Canal Du Midi and beyond.
Marseillette is an ideal location as so many varied and interesting places to visit are within easy reach. We particularly enjoyed Lastours, Lagrasse, Minerve and the highlight was Perypertuse castle. You can hire bikes and cycle along the canal or you can go on a boat. There is also canoeing and white water rafting.
We didn't like the beaches at Narbonne, but we didn't chose this area for its beaches, so it didn't bother us.
The pool at the gite was a nice temperature and had sunbeds and umbrellas for shade, as well as some tree shade. It was so lovely not to have to worry about reserving a sunbed as with large holiday resorts!
There were plenty of retsaurants to chose from in nearby Trebes and Carcassonne. There was also one in the village which was very good value. We ate in quite a lot as the garden was so pretty with lovely views and then we could have nice walk along the canal.
All in all it was a wonderful holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewed July 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing