We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming pub and dog friendly”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Selling
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We went for a dog walk round Perry wood (walks around kent) and came here afterwards. The bar staff where very friendly and helpful. They did not mind us in the pub with our 10 dogs and made us feel welcome. The food was nice and fresh and the pub was quirky yet clean. I would recommend the Rose and crown to anyone and I will be coming here again next time we walk in Perry wood.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2016

We have walked past this pub hundreds of times whilst walking our dog around Perry Wood. Yesterday we decided to call in for lunch. Big mistake. Miserly fire, disinterested landlord, flat soft drink, budget frozen supermarket fish portions, bland frozen peas, badly reconstituted duck leg, bland frozen green beans, dirty smelly toilets (pub had just opened so no excuse there).........our advice is keep on walking.........there is far superior fare on offer in the area at similar prices.

Date of visit: November 2016
6  Thank Stef86320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

The Rose & Crown looks as though it has seen better days. What is most off putting is the negative signs all over the place e.g. You can get food if they are not too busy, they're doing the best they can, no muddy boots etc. It just didn't seem welcoming although the solitary barman was very polite. I had the butternut squash, beetroot and goats cheese burger which was fine. Chips seemed a bit industrial and there was lots of shredded lettuce. The whole place including the menu just needs some care, love and attention.

Date of visit: October 2016
2  Thank Calamity999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2016

This pub has a lovely garden and could be great but there is something not quite right. We are vegan. Had the soup which tasted watered down then a burger which I was told had no cheese in but it did. I sent it back and was refunded. Lovely girl behind the bar but she seemed to be the only one serving. We went for a walk in the woods which was lovely, had a beer and a packet of peanuts before ordering food, next time I would just have a drink and peanuts.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Came across the pub almost by chance halfway round a walk from Chilham. Although it was very busy, the extremely helpful barmaid fitted us in and we were eating 2 lovely Steak and Ale pies about 20 minutes later. Good food, a nice atmosphere, a lovely private and quiet garden to eat in - great for walkers and non-walkers alike

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 65KeithV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing