We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Linhay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Little Coxwell, Faringdon, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nadiachri...
Kenley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have the best time at this beautiful cottage. Decorated so beautifully and suited our family perfectly - 2 children and grandparents. Everything we could need, even including board games, dvd's and full kitchen ware. Very cosy and accommodating absolutely loved it. Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Nice place to stay. All facilities are available to have a nice stay with your family! A town is nearby to do grocery shopping. A great place to enjoy the British fields by feet. Nearby the the white horse hill.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lco11
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant cottage in perfect location ”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful weekend at The Linhay. We were a party of 4 but the cottage can easily sleep 6 - there are three bedrooms and two bathrooms, and the living space is very spacious. The decor is gorgeous and cottage itself very nicely done; all bedrooms and both bathrooms are really lovely, and there's a small but very nice BBQ area at the back with an outdoor table.
The Eagle pub which is a 5min walk away serves great food and has some really nice wine at reasonable prices - we were expecting a local country pub but it's much more of a restaurant/gastropub. The surroundings are beautiful and there are lots of nice walks you can do easily.
We came on the train from London and in general found it very easy to manage without a car (we got a cab from Swindon station and ordered a Sainsburys supermarket delivery to the cottage).
We didn't meet Sonia but she was very friendly and helpful via text, and her son who was around during our stay was great.
Literally nothing I would change - a perfect cottage for a weekend in the country without having to travel more than 1.5hrs from London!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pootings
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Charming place to stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family and I stayed at the charming converted grain store(I think that is what it was). It has been down to a very high standard, this is reflected in the choice of furnishings and furniture. It is predominantly laid out on the ground floor, with stairs leading to one upstairs bedroom. There are two further bedrooms on the ground floor, one with an on suite shower room. there is one further bathroom on the ground floor, this has a bath and over bath shower. The living area is spacious and very well equipped, as is the kitchen.
Outside is a small shingled courtyard where you can sit, and if like us barbecue. There is a small area at the rear of the property with a table and chair, ideal for any smokers in your party.
Parking is not a problem as there is a large area just beyond the courtyard, we parked 3 large 4x4s there and there was still plenty of space.
There are plenty of nice walks just at the end of the drive, important if you have dogs and we took 2.
There are a couple of pubs close by, although the one in the village is more like a restaurant. 5 minutes drive away there are 5 supermarkets ranging from Aldi to Waitrose, so you don't have to go far to stock up.
We had a brilliant time at Linhay and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. We know they would love it as much as we did.
The only negative I have is that my husband fell in love with a VW camper parked there, so much so he wanted to buy it. However, I wouldn't let him and he has not stopped going on about it since!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98ckingsb...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Linhay (3 couples age 30ish). All rooms newly refurbished and no complaints at all!

Fantastic pub in easy walking distance with real ale and great food.

We went on a lovely walk through the fields and saw the new born cows, sheep and horses!

Hope to stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B
1 review
“Extremely stylish converted granary and studio with excellent facilities.”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a very stylish combination of a converted studio (white walls, rooflights) and a beautifully restored granary (staddle stones, low ceilings, lots of beams). The kitchen facilities are sleek and comprehensive: I hadn't expected two ovens and two plate-warming ovens. The double bed downstairs is huge and extremely comfortable.
The underfloor heating was efficient and we were cosy when the weather was a bit chilly.
The owner - Sonia - lives just next door and sorted out a couple of minor problems very quickly and efficiently. The property is dog-friendly and Sonia currently has 4 daschund puppies. There are a couple of bridleways, suitable for dog-walking, almost next to the property.
Do visit the white horse at Uffington, about ten minutes drive away; the car park is free and the views are stunning.
Our only minor quibble is that directions for the property were rather confusing (not the owner's fault!). The advertised five bar gate is set back off the main road and kept open so that the property name is not particularly visible.
We would be very happy to book the property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dotties1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a wonderful cottage !!! Clean , beautifully furnished and very comfortable , we also took our dogs who loved the underfloor heating !! We would highly recommend this cottage and the owner is lovely . Best beds in the world !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing