We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, quality, welcoming and comfortable stay.”
Review of Sornbank

Sornbank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sornbank
Ranked #6 of 7 Bridgend B&B and Inns
Preston.England
1 review
“A lovely, quality, welcoming and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our 3 day stay was a thoroughly special experience. The proprietors were welcoming and helpful with regard to island sightseeing as well as perfect hosts. The breakfast was excellent, accommodation modern and spotlessly clean, bedding was beautiful . En suite facilities again perfect. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayhurstangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great location on a beautiful island. Very friendly helpful hosts, great breakfasts, comfortable and large rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrown057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

we loved our stay here- the owners were really friendly and helpful and the room pretty and facilities good. breakfast really tasty. The location is peaceful yet only 3 miles from Bowmore. You would need a car to get around but the owners also run a car hire business from the same site - Islay Car Hire.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

The Bank apartment has a sheltered suntrap overlooking the river where you can watch fish jump and the occasional heron feed.With a glass or two of wine from the Spar shop opposite, idyllic ! Katherine and Scott are helpful owners/hosts. The kitchen is particularly well equipped. Sornbank is a good location for touring. Only minor negative was occasional noisy traffic from cattle market lorries ( spring sales ) and Shell tankers going to/from the oil terminal but this wasn't major.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Fantastic accommodation at the Coachmans. Scott has done a tremendous job on the refurb. As ever great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble to them both. Spotless and well appointed. How many self catering establishments offer a balcony with a view of a river below. If you are thinking of coming to the isle then you must book here. (don't bother if you want to come in the first week in June because I've already booked the coachmans. The Bank may still be available though). Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan14Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

I stayed at Sornbank for the long weekend with my mother. Islay is a really beautiful island - we had nice sunny weather when we were there and could get out on nice walks/ distillery tours/ bird watching/ nice lunches out in bowmore and port charlotte whenever we wanted.

This was certainly one of the cosiest b&bs I've stayed at, spacious bedroom and bathroom and although well located at the meeting of the main roads on islay, very quiet at nights. A highlight included fast wireless broadband so we didnt lose touch with the rest of the family.

Katherine and her family were very friendly and the breakfast was one of the highlights of the day. We look forward to coming back in the future. All in all probably the best place to stay on the island if you want a comfortable, relaxing time

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and a great breakfast an extremely friendly host and hostess what more could you ask.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
0.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sornbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sornbank

Property: Sornbank
Address: Bridgend PA44 7PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bridgend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sornbank is located in the village of Bridgend, ideal for exploring Islay. We offer B&B and two adjacent self catering properties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing