We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sornbank

Sornbank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sornbank
Ranked #6 of 7 Bridgend B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Bank Flat at Sornbank - Just returned home after spending a week at The Bank Flat and we really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is very roomy with a lovely twin bedroom, spacious lounge and well equipped kitchen. The bathroom is modern and the whole apartment is spotless! The location at Bridgend is nice and central for days out around the island, and with a Spar and pub just across the bridge it has all the local services you could want! An excellent experience and holiday, thank you Katherine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just home after a short break on Islay.We stayed at Sornbank for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.Sornbank is a lovely B&B with a lovely family feel.Our room was lovely and spacious with everything we needed and a huge bathroom with a shower and bath...Katherine will spend time showing you where to go and visit and also goes that little bit further...It is such a comfortable feel and the boys are so pleasant and very helpful too...After having such a full breakfast which is continental we were sad to leave after a great chill out break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have been to Islay a few times and must say Sornbank is a great friendly,family,laid back B&B!I stayed here for four nights and was very comfortable,room was large and airy with a huge bathroom and breakfast was continental but with an excellent choice,something for everyone.The owners run Islay Car Hire also and i was able to hire a car from them too.Very well located in the middle of the Island and great stay.

Room Tip: I had a twin room which was very big with a large bathroom,the double room is smaller but is fine wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siobhan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed with Katherine and Scott over Easter and had a great stay.From the warm welcome till our departure it was first class.There are two rooms which accommodated us well and breakfast is continental and there was so much to choose from.It is the perfect place to stay in Bridgend and is a very family friendly place especially with their two lovely boys.
Sornbank is a lovely old house and is well situated being on the centre of the island.

We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Double room is smaller than the twin but both very warm,clean and comfortable....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
192 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We enjoyed 4 nights at Sornbank at the end of August and were made extremely welcome by Katherine, Scott and their family. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom was spotless and very comfortable and the biscuits and coffee much appreciated too!

Sornbank is in the perfect location for exploring Islay. Restaurants close by and in neighbouring Bowmore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

In September we spent a nice week in the Bank Flat of Sornbank. The flat is really big and very well equipped. Our hosts, Katherine & Scott, were very friendly and helpful. Bridgend itself is quite small but with a supermarket and a nice restaurant it provides everything one needs. The bus stop is situated right around the corner. The guest houst is a good base for trips around the beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis_R78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We spent a week at the Coachman's Flat. We had the best of times and we loved, Loved LOVED this accommodation. Comfy, cosy and spotlessly clean with a fantastic balcony overlooking the river and the bridge. The couple that own and run the place have a great product and they're lovely people. You'll find everything you need in the open-plan lounge kitchen and the twin bedded room has lovely comfy beds too. This is a great base to explore the beautiful Isle of Islay from. You gotta go to Islay and you gotta stay here in the Coachman's Flat!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgend
0.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sornbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sornbank

Property: Sornbank
Address: Bridgend PA44 7PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bridgend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sornbank is located in the village of Bridgend, ideal for exploring Islay. We offer B&B and two adjacent self catering properties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing