We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure and amazing nursery garden”

Bluebell Cottage Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Dutton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1.5 Acre cottage garden set in a rural location, with plant nursery, wildflower meadow and bluebell woods. Our small tea room serves hot drinks, cakes and ice cream. There are plenty of seats around the garden so do take your time, relax and enjoy the plants and the wildlife. We're open from 10-5 Wed-Sun April to September
Manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure and amazing nursery garden”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent a half day here and had a lovely time. We were made to feel very welcome. There is a very well stocked nursery and we were given helpful advice regarding lots of the plants available for sale. The staff are very knowledgeable and keen to explain which plant goes in which spot in the your own garden.

The gardens are stunning and there's something to see around every corner. There are signs and labels to explain how each border is planted and it's clear this garden has been tended by experts.

After a stroll around the grounds there's a pleasant tea and coffee cafe (self service and pay on exit). Plenty of seating inside and out to enjoy the atmosphere.

This is a great place to while away a few hours with friendly staff and high quality plants to buy. Keep it a secret......

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MRDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weaverham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a potter around this lovely garden one sunny Saturday afternoon. Lots of nooks and crannies and hidden gems just waiting to be discovered. The lady owner was very welcoming and pleasant and the nursery was filled with reasonably priced plants so you could take back your favourite from the garden if you chose.

We spent a happy hour or so there and that was without using the little tea room that had some attractive looking sweet treats on display.

Helpful?
2 Thank hazeldinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This place is an absolute delight! The small nursery sells plants propagated on site, many are not commonly found and not dictated by fashion. If there's something you've been looking for that the big centres can't provide, try here.
The gardens were lovely, we sat on a bench and chatted for ages, constantly interrupting our conversation to remark on a plant that we'd just spotted. There's no hard landscaping and it's divided into smaller gardens by hedging so it's possible to picture a section at home. Basically, it's about plants and planting.
The tea room is just that, tea, coffe, soft drinks and cake. Midweek we brewed our own tea and were trusted to pay on the way out. We only met Sally who was friendly, helpful and passionate.
This is the owner's back garden so it isn't a big place, nothing like the size of a stately home but if you don't live too far away and like plants, it's well worth a visit or two. I'm sure that yesterday was my first visit of many.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Sagacandidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBeesley, Owner at Bluebell Cottage Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I will make sure Sally sees your post - she'll be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden with a nursery to match.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful garden designed and maintained by Sue Beesley (BBC Gardener of the Year) and a lovely nursery where you can buy plants from the garden plus lots of other high quality perennials. Well woth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
244 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent home made cakes and lovely gardens”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pop in frequently for coffee and cake as it is a lovely stop on our walk from Runcorn along the canal.
Staff always friendly and the cakes are excellent.Lovely gardens and a nice place to visit on a summer day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lgd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebell Cottage Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bluebell Cottage Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing