We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tunnel Top

The Tunnel Top
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dutton
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Tunnel Top, formerly known as the Talbot Arms has stood above the Preston Brook Tunnel on the Trent & Mersey Canal since 1903. The pub has seen many changes over time yet has remained at the heart of a local community for many years and is still inviting for passing travellers and canal users throughout the year. Many local walks can be commenced from the pub, for those interested in rural history.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Never really been here before, but decided to go for some food after other restaurants were quoting 2 hour waiting times. There was a warm welcome on arrival and a friendly atmosphere. The food we ordered was fantastic, well presented and very fresh. Well worth the short wait!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    79
    23
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great size portions. Great choice. Offered real ale tasting. Great staff. Would definitely come back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusiBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a country pub...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This pub is an excellent find for us, it serves good, honest, hearty home cooked food... It's is only a country pub so don't be expecting a fine dining experience but that does not mean the food isn't delicious! We were greeted straight away by pleasant staff who were courteous and tentative, the atmosphere was lovely and perfect for a relaxing Sunday afternoon. We will defiantly be returning soon... Thankyou!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelTop, Owner at The Tunnel Top, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for taking a little time out to share your experience with other TA users.

Our menus do change with the seasons and the volume of customers and as we move into the busier months a more varied selection of special dishes will return to the menu to enhance your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully quite soon.

Kevin & Moira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Always excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you can overlook the slightly dated decor, the food is definitely worth it. We visit regularly and never have a bad word to say about the food, it's always so tasty and fresh! I would highly recommend the minted lamb henry and braised steak for some classic, incredibly tasty homecooked food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katieburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelTop, Owner at The Tunnel Top, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Katie,

Thank you for taking out a little time to share your experience with other TA users.

It is good to know that you enjoy the food so very much, after all that's the prime purpose of going out to eat and (as you suggest) not to look at the decor. The lamb Henry and the Braised Steak are as you suggest "classic" dishes and are by and far our most popular dishes.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kevin & Moira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

If you turn up here after reading the majority of reviews you're going to be bitterly disappointed.
I am still completely bamboozled as to how this run down, tired pub gets such high scores and reviews.
The staff are pleasant enough but I fear for anyone who goes here for a romantic meal out, thinking they are about to treat their partner to a special evening. You will be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Finchy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelTop, Owner at The Tunnel Top, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Finchy,

I note that you visited the TT and reviewed us in October 2012 with the words “I believe most people who use trip advisor to help them choose a quality restaurant for a night out would be disappointed. This place offers good service, value for money. ... OK for a lunch or reasonably priced evening meal but please don't go for a special occasion. It's simply nowhere near as good as the likes of spirit, Eden, grill on the square”.

Sadly we clearly did not fulfil your expectations completely in October, though happily that did not deter you from returning to the Tunnel Top so I guess that suggests that we otherwise delivered an acceptable level of satisfaction. However on your return you have made similar negative comments seeking to influence customers away from here, suggesting that you alone have a clear an accurate perception of the TT offering, whilst the many other highly satisfied customers have all got it wrong.

At the time of writing this response, your 2 reviews (along with 16 others) are the only ones out of a total of 167 which are not 4 or 5 blobs. I humbly suggest that the volume of highly satisfied customer opinion is against you. Readers of our reviews will note that many of them are from frequent returning customers.

As for special evenings, many of our guests have had delightful special meals here. If a customer is coming for a special evening, they just need to advise us of the occasion at the time of booking. It is just possible that on the occasion of each of your visits you dined in the open ‘bar’ area rather than the more secluded ‘restaurant area’. We will always do our utmost to make every occasion very special for our customers.

We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied by your last visit and quite saddened that you did not take any of the several opportunities given to you to make your dissatisfaction known so that we might have dealt with any concern during your visit.

Moira & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tunnel Top also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The Tunnel Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing