We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continues to be a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Guests Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Guests Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Dutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Continues to be a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Well, one year on from our first visit and things have only got better. This is a hotel that listens to their clients. As suggestions are mentioned if they are practical and will help improve their standards – which are already very high – Jeff and Marjorie implement them.
If you are looking for comfort with friendly staff The Happy Guest Lodge is for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    34
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
48
19
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peel, Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Booked this lodge on the strength of other trip-advisor reviews AND WASN'T DISAPPOINTED. We were visiting Chester to "deposit" my older daughter at University. The first night we had a double room [wife and myself] and a twin room [two daughters]. After the older daughter signed in at Uni on the Sunday my wife, younger daughter and I returned to the lodge for a further two nights, this time having my younger daughter put up in a bunk bed within our original double room.

Throughout our stay the room[s] were kept spotlessly clean, with plenty of complimentary tea and coffee etc. Also, as an added bonus, hand-wash and shower gel are still provided here - free of charge!. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who themselves were spotlessly clean, cheerful at all times and exceptionally helpful with a number of questions I put to them in relation to the best places to shop for various items we needed for Uni etc.

The inclusive breakfast was plentiful from the choice of fruit juices and cereals on offer to the toast, beans, yoghurts, tea, coffee and a number of preserves and other ‘concoctions’ to spread on your toast!

The free internet access was an added bonus and proved useful and worked whenever we had occasion to use it [both on the lodge provided computer and my daughter's own laptop, which was easily connected]. The kettle and TV/Remote in the room also all worked perfectly - not always the case in other 'dearer' establishments I have visited!

The lodge is easily located after coming off the M56 and although a short time away from main towns/cities, proved ideal for us as we travelled to Warrington, Chester and Runcorn.

All in all a GREAT FIND and EXCELLENT VALUE for money. If my relatives in Runcorn cannot accommodate me when I return to the UK bring my daughter back to the Isle of Man when she is on holiday from Uni then this is where I will be staying [subject to availability of course!].

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED – and if you don’t believe me MAKE YOUR OWN BOOKING and see for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

What an excellent find; very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms at very good value for money. We were warmly welcomed despite arriving very wet on our bicycles and staff accommodated our bikes and offered to dry our clothes in the dry room. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There was an extensive range of breakfast fare together with newspapers if required and a lovely touch was a plate of brownies and millionaire shortbread. A great place to stay. WiFi and a dedicated standalone computer with free internet access was really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas_a_macdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were looking for somewhere around Manchester to break up our trip to Scotland and came accross HGL. We were quite late checking in. Th Tomtom lead us correctly to the destination but as it was dark we did not notice the sign (it's just before the petrol station if driving from M6) and went as far as the pub probably 500 yards down the road (looked very good from the outside, worth considering). They directed us back. The lady at reception was very friendly, when we could not work out the shower she came and helped. This looks like a 70-s hotel that has had a bit of a facelift, painted and some accessories in bright colours added but the old furniture and bathroom equipment is showing through. Everyhting is in perfectly good working order, you have all the equipment you need and it's very clean. The room we had was very spacious which is a bonus if you've got a lot of luggage. The breakfast was OK and the staff again very pleasant. free wi-fi and use of a computer in the ahll. My only warning is the noise of traffic (but then I'm used to sleep in absolute silence) and the cars using the petrol station. The price of petrol was much more reasonable than along M6, though (on the plus side)! Much better than Travelodge for an overnight stay but would not stay there for more than 1 night, I personally prefer smaller B&Bs in quieter areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We recently had a 2 night break at the Happy Guests Lodge and found it a perfect base for exploring the area. Very handily located for our trips to Chester Zoo, Liverpool and the Camelot Theme Park all less than 30 mins drive away.

Service at the hotel was friendly and efficient. We made use of the free Internet access and the buffet breakfast was very good.

The reason we decided to stay at the hotel was the availability of a family room for the five of us. What a pity more hotels don't provide this!!

Overall a great place to stay - excellent value for money - will definitely recommend to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed over on business and found myself in a bit of a coffufal. Saty bent over backwards to help and made stay very pleasant.

Rooms clean and comfortable and free wi-fi....

Streets ahead of competition

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_fin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have stayed at the Happy Guests Lodge several times and would recommend it. Owners are very friendly, rooms are large and clean - everything is lime green and orange but feels really cheerful. Good buffet breakfast - and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhols64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dutton
7.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
9.5 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guests Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guests Lodge

Property: Happy Guests Lodge
Address: Tarporley Road, Dutton, Warrington WA4 4EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Dutton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guests Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Guests Lodge offers great value for money and fantastic rooms, backed up by friendly & efficient Customer Service!All our En-suite Bedrooms are large - 25 sq Mt. and have 30 channel flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities, telephones, etc. If you are a little bored with the corporate lodges and want a fresh and interesting place to stay then try Happy Guests Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Guests Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing