We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, quiet oasis with garden.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Moohey

Main Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Living Area
Dining Area Light and airy living space opens onto large lawned enclosed garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Main Living Area
Dining Area
Light and airy living space opens onto large lawned enclosed garden
Superkingsize bed or  separated to form x2 single beds
Master bedroom opens into ensuite/main bathroom
Option for master bedroom to be arranged as twin or superkingsize bedded room
Spacious Second Bedroom
(x3 Single beds)
Corridor leading to 2nd toilet/shower room
Large enclosed lawned garden
Large enclosed level lawned garden
View across Downderry towards Rame Head
View of Downderry less than half a mile away from Moohey
View from the lane towards Looe Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
SOL505
1 review
“Lovely, quiet oasis with garden.”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful vacation in the Moohey. The place is spacious, comfortable and clean. It is perfect for a family of five. The kids played in the garden and we had some bbq. It is very close to the beach but the road is very steep. There is another road around that we recommend on your way back from the beach if you go by car.
Mary and Pat are absolutely lovely and discrete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Sung - Thank you for this lovely review. You were delightful guests and have a lovely family - we hope that you may visit us again. Please keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhp2916
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Really nice & peaceful place. Never had such a sound sleep there is something magical about this place which makes you feel relaxed. Enjoyed the stay, left feeling to want more of it.
Very helpful owners who made sure our stay was comfortable.
Many amazing undiscovered spots nearby as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you for this really special review - it was a pleasure to have you all here and so glad of the impact that the Moohey had.
Hope you are all well and enjoying your travels and maybe oneday we will see you here in Cornwall again?
Mary and Pat
xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARETH09
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here in September with family. The facilities are very good plenty of sitting room. The enclosed garden was brilliant for our dog and he was always looking out for the roaming chickens. The owners are very friendly and will help with anything. We would stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2016
Thank you Gareth - we would love to welcome you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandapo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient - a perfect base”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great holiday staying in the Moohey and it accommodated three adults and two children easily. We all slept well in the beds, and there was lots of room for everyone to have their own space. Not that we were there much as there is so much to do in the area.

Pat and Mary are extremely welcoming, and are on hand to offer lots of ideas for places to visit and things to do. The chickens and cats were loved by the children and the large garden meant that they had plenty of play space. All in all, a memorable stay for lots of good reasons!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: large bedrooms, all with outside access.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was truly lovely to have you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
Such kind words Ann! Thank you so much -it was lovely to have you all here.We really hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judy S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic in every way, all you could wish for and more.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The barn is private and peaceful but within easy reach of beaches, villages and local amenities. Pat, Mary and family are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Fresh laid eggs are not to be missed! A great find, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Still here don't want to leave.....
Liked least: Everything is fab
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2016
This is such a kind review Judy and family - it has been truly lovely having you here and thank you for bringing FANTASTIC weather !!!
Would love you to come back again!
Mary Pat and Boys xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday home with great hospitality”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a brilliant holiday at the Moohey - it is ideal for exploring this quiet and lovely area of Cornwall, which was new territory for us. We also found we wanted to just spend time in the beautiful barn and everyone was keen to get back each day. It had everything we needed, is immaculately kept, a fantastic space for the family and so peaceful and relaxing both inside and in the garden. Mary and Pat have created a really special place and all the extra touches such as the fresh eggs and provisions, flowers on the table, tips on where to visit and hospitality during the week were much appreciated and made it all the more sad to leave. Although we had our privacy, the football matches with the boys were epic - now part of family legend - and the fresh crab was a memorable supper following a tutorial in how to prepare it! Would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic conversion, beautifully clean and spacious with everything we needed, in superb location
Liked least: The long, very steep hill down to the village (barely driveable) meant we didn't get down there as much as we might have liked but tended to drive out elsewhere.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing