We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Cornwall retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Moohey

Main Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Living Area
Dining Area Light and airy living space opens onto large lawned enclosed garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Main Living Area
Dining Area
Light and airy living space opens onto large lawned enclosed garden
Superkingsize bed or  separated to form x2 single beds
Master bedroom opens into ensuite/main bathroom
Option for master bedroom to be arranged as twin or superkingsize bedded room
Spacious Second Bedroom
(x3 Single beds)
Corridor leading to 2nd toilet/shower room
Large enclosed lawned garden
Large enclosed level lawned garden
View across Downderry towards Rame Head
View of Downderry less than half a mile away from Moohey
View from the lane towards Looe Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
kitmacca
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic Cornwall retreat”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

When I first read all the other reviews from other stays it sounded too good to be true but it really is that nice and Pat and Mary are super, genuinley lovely hosts,
We took a last minute break literally booking the Moohey on the day of travel. Mary and Pat were exceptionally accommodating; they helped us to arrange the booking and made time to start a fire to make the Moohey warm toasty & homely and they waited to welcome us when we arrived
Although the house has 4 bedrooms it is arranged in a way that makes it feel spacious but not overly large. It has a modern contemporary feel yet it is cosy and homely. There is everything you could possibly need and there are plenty of little areas to segregate yourself off should you be in a bigger party like the large garden or the seating areas at the side. The views are lovely and it is so peaceful and quiet, ideal for a tranquil and relaxing home.
There was only me, my partner and our two dogs on holiday and we loved it. There is lots to do in the local area, lots of national trust places of interest, loads of easy access day trips , oodles of gorgeous scenery, walks and forests, good food restaurants and the local beaches are some of the best around. It was ideal to get out and about and just as lovely to stay in by the fire
We never ran out of supplies as Mary and Pat are amazing hosts and so happy to help when and if you ask but never intrusive. Pat made sure we were stocked up with logs and Mary gave great tourist tips on local attractions.
We would recommend the Moohey to friends & family without hesitation and we would consider going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No microwave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatripp...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday in Cornwall”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Moohey for a week at end of August and loved it.
The accommodation is the upper parts of a huge barn, which is very nicely presented and has really good spec equipment for a holiday rental. If I could have smuggled the huge range cooker out without the owner noticing, i would have done.
The Moohey is situated in a quiet lane, in a beautiful country setting, and has a large garden area, barbecue deck etc. There are nice country walks within a minute and Seaton and Downderry beaches are a 5 min drive away.
Everything about the barn was very good quality and spotlessly clean. The bed linen, duvets, plates/pots/pans - all better than we have at home.
There is Sky Tv and a big range of DVDs, books and games for rainy days.
The owners Pat and Mary are lovely - kind, friendly and helpful. Our 3 children disappeared off with their 3 boys for most of the spare time we had - Mary even took my kids surfing at the beach with her 3 boys one afternoon, which they loved.
Best things to do here: Dave's fish and chips in Looe, Sarah's pasty shop in Looe, mackerel fishing afternoon with Ernie on Pania, out of Looe harbour, Kartworld for the kids, beaches at Cawsand, Whitsand Bay, Portscatho and St Mawes, more pasties at Sarah's, country walks.
We will return and would not hesitate to recommend the Moohey to anyone - even fussy cottage renters will be pleased to see how wonderful it is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quiet setting and space.
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert V
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage and lovely host family”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at the Moohey Cottage in mid August. The cottage is a lovely spacious and open living space and we couldn't have been more relaxed there. There are a couple of Restaraunts/pub and a village shop around 15 to 20min walk away but other than that you definitely need a car to get around. Our favourite places to visit were, Polpero, Fowey and the beautiful sandy beaches of Whitsand Bay that look like they belong to a different continent !!! Another favourite place was the View Restaurant, appropriately named when you see its location high above Whitsand Bay. The food there is 2nd to none and that includes Raymond Blanc's Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons. As for the hosts of the Moohey, you couldn't ask to meet a nicer family, Mary, Pat and their 3 boys, Gawen, Finn & Euan could not have made us feel more welcome and who can not do enough to help, should you need it.

A great place to chill out and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrannyBeW...
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming & informative super host family”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just had a week at the Moohey. Mary & Pat are BRILLIANT hosts as are their three boys who played with our 3yr old George and entertained him so well he never wanted to go anywhere else but downstairs to join the boys.
Mary & Pat are so helpful with ideas of what to do and go and see, but also not overwhelming, they just seem to be there when you need them.
Stunning conversion of the Barn, clearly carried out by Pat & Mary with much thought in terms of layout, and passion for their home.
We have normally stayed in properties in North Cornwall much nearer to the beach, but found the Moohey location to work really well, being able to wander around their paddock was great, fantastic view from the top corner out to sea, we simply ran out of time and only scratched the surface of what was to be seen / done in the surrounding area.
In summary we have so enjoyed our week staying in a lovely barn, made complete by such great hosts, and for that reason alone I am sure we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, non intrusive, but made you feel so welcome super helpful and their three boys were lovely, and really helped to entertain our boisterous 3 year old
Liked least: Coming home!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet C
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation, location and hospitality.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved the look of the moohey and weren't disappointed on our arrival. The accommodation was fabulous, very spacious, beautifully decorated and spotless. The space both inside and out was fabulous for a group of 6 including 4 teenagers. This is a beautiful area and there is a lot to explore but would recommend the use of a car. There are two local beaches and more extensive ones a short drive away. The hosts were exceptionally helpful and full of advice to help make our holiday a good one. Great for walking, seaside, relaxation and touring. Local facilities also for zip wires, go karts, sailing, shopping should you have teenagers in your party too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and style of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, plenty of living space and beautiful lane ways,
Liked least: That I only booked 1 week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing