We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views, wonderful home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shore View

Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Solid oak wood, very well equipped kitchen with American fridge and an induction hob. Dining area of kitchen/diner with french doors to juliet balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Entrance to house, with spectacular views across the beach.
Solid oak wood, very well equipped kitchen with American fridge and an induction hob.
Dining area of kitchen/diner with french doors to juliet balcony.
Lounge with views through french doors to a spacious balcony. The property has solid oak flooring.
Enjoy Al Fresco Dining on the Balcony with panoramic views from Rame Head to Looe Island.
Master bedroom with queen size bed and spectacular sea views.
Master bedroom window with solid oak settle.
Master bedroom dressing area with en- suite bathroom/wet-room beyond.
Second bedroom with private bathroom/ wet room and same sea aspect as the Master Bedroom.
View from second bedroom window.
Third bedroom. This is another spacious, airy room with a wet-room next door.
View towards Looe Island from the balcony.
Cream tea on the balcony?
Glorious sea views...
Beautiful elevated position with amazing uninterrupted sea views
Juliet balcony view from dining area.
Entrance hall; the house is lovingly furnished with many vintage touches.
View from bedroom window.
Contemporary travertine marble wet rooms throughout the property.
Family bathroom/wet-room. All three wet-rooms are in same travertine style.
A light oak stairwell connects the three floors of the property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Autum F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, wonderful home!”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Shore view for a week. The cottage is beautiful, very welcoming. Loved our little welcome card and welcome gifts! We have been holidaying in Cornwall for over 20 years as a family, and we have to say shore view was a wonderful place to stay. Given we were so close to Looe (around a 20 minute drive) we frequently spent time there for evenings and meals, there are a number of local eateries, we found our favourite to be Kelly's fish and chips, and the Ship Inn in Looe.
While staying her we travelled to Newquay, St Michael's Mount, St Ives, Mount Edgecombe, Bodmin, taking in places such as St Michael's Mount, Bodmin Jail, the Eden Project, all of which we've visited before but would recommend.
The owners of Shore view were very welcoming and accommodating. The layout of the property is lovely! And the views from the bedrooms are stunning! Waking up to a beautiful sea view every morning made us not want to come home.
We comfortably had space for 5 adults, and all of the amwnetieies we would need at the property.
We would recommend Shore view to anybody looking for a holiday. Thank you for having us, and we wish all others who stay here a wonderful holiday! You will fall in love with this place, just like we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storytell...
1 review
“Perfect home in a perfect location”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Fourth visit to Shoreview, feels like home. Love the area with a dog friendly beach. Places to eat nearby and Seaton is a gentle stroll away. Locals are very friendly never want to come home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephengr...
Pewsey,England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cold Christmas staying in shore view Downderry cornwall”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this house in Downderry Cornwall Uk (apartment) over the Christmas at probably the coldest time of year. The property in my opinion lends itself more to summer use than winter rental with it’s current modern eco style heating system.

The unit was next to a building construction (we had not been advised of this at the discussions with the owner at the time of booking) so check with owner before booking as it still looks like there will be more work on that house next door prior to completion and the scaffolding does impede slightly on the panoramic view to the left of the bay.

Currently the trip advisor details do not state one floor is not available (hence my term apartment) as opposed to house. The heating during our stay was a big issue as the lower rooms cold and the only main heat is 4 mobile heaters which once you get them going, means those 4 rooms are warm but bathrooms are still very cold. I don’t think the mobile heaters would be very safe if you bring small kids. The house is classed as a Eco-house and I am sure the installed heating system could work better if we had been able to change it. In summer the I'm guessing the system would be ok but as far as I can see they only circulate cold air, which is not good in winter.

As the lower floor is not currently available I would suggests the owner reviews fire safely in the property as if a fire were to break out, my assumption is you may have to break the stair gate marked private to get out if you are on the lower levels. If so, signage to clearly indicate fire exits on ground floor might be a welcome addition.

I would suggest to enhance guest experience the owner looks at maybe including access to the garden and maybe a simple way to help guests understand how the heater system works if needed in colder weather.

All in all, this property could command a greater rental value and more guest value with a few minor touches. A small TV in the two main bedrooms and a simple radio in the kitchen or bedroom would be good. On a plus side, the WiFi was pretty fast and there was a nice size TV in the lounge which we got pretty cosy with the mobile heater. We stayed in this property as part of a party of 3 with my 84 year old mother .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Shore View was booked via AirBnB, not TripAdvisor, for 2 spells over Christmas/New Year, the review for the same stay as this one on AirBnB is 4*. The following stay was reviewed at 5*, so in the interests of
balance any reader concerned by this review can check out AirBnB.
On the issue of fire safety, which we take very seriously, there are 14 state of the Art Fire Sensors, all interlinked(one goes all go) on mains power with 5 year battery backup and there are fire exits and extinguishers.
The removable stair gate is provided for guests with children.
The heat recovery system works really well, evenly heating the house and removing all moisture/smells etc from wet rooms/kitchen, if you work with it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
We're really pleased you enjoyed the house and Downderry, thank you for your kind words and you are welcome back any time ☺
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mr c
2 reviews
“its a lovely house”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

its a nice place to stop the house is wonderful and view is amazing across the sea down derry nice and the beach just down the road

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
We're really pleased you appreciated the facilities ☺
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannelba...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Shore View Downderry”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned from the most amazing week at Shore View The beautiful home is so well equipped, everything has been thought of. The property is over 3 floors kitchen being on the top floor (entrance floor) living room and balcony on the middle and bedroooms bottom floor all with amazing sea views!! You definitely keep fit in this property!! As it's situated on quite a hill but so worth it to have the breathtaking views. My husband took his mountain bike and loved the ride into Seaton nature reserve which is around 5k, I love my running into Seaton and back which was 5k there and back. We tried the local restaurant Blue Plate which was nice but very pricey also tried Inn on the Shore which was nice but our favourite beyond compare was Waves bar we had dinner in there 3 times, beautifully presented lovely food also has happy hour 4-6 daily bonus Loved our sun ☀️ trap there looking out to sea. We have had such an amazing week loved the expanse of the sea and beach it was great being able to walk our dog every day as this beach is dog friendly. Our 14 year old twin daughters even had a go at paddle boarding and kayaking which was available on Seaton Beach they loved it! We will definitely return to Downderry such a beautiful hidden gem of a place. Thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Thank you for your review, we're glad you had a great time ☺
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing