We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super venue for a Cornish holiday”

Review of Ahoy the Slip

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fentyler
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super venue for a Cornish holiday”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled down to Cornwall for a friend's wedding and then stayed on for a week's holiday at 'Ahoy the Slip' Our youngest daughter, Lizzie, and her partner shared the accommodation. We all loved the venue and were very gratified by the friendly welcome extended by the proprietors.
The sea views are magnificent and there is easy access to the beach, shops and bars of Downderry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2014
Many thanks for your comments and great to hear you enjoyed your holiday in this beautiful part of Cornwall. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch if we can assist with any future trips!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wink1977
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little apartment”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Downderry at Ahoy the slip and were so happy with it. The apartment was clean, comfortable and easy to find. We were thrilled that we could take our dog with us, he is a large dog, but this didn't matter. The second bedroom is only accessible through the main bedroom, but for my husband and I and our 4 year old son, this was not a problem at all. The beach is so close and the views from the property were amazing. We loved all the extras, that we found, the slow cooker in the cupboard was used almost every day and our son LOVED the telescope for boat spotting!!! We would most definitely recommend Ahoy the Slip and would hope to revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We didn't find the double bed as comfortable as we would expect
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday at Ahoy The Slip and found the apartment clean and comfortable.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again in the future if you wish to re book, we do also offer a loyalty discount for returning groups.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMcL69
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Spent an amazing week visiting friends in Downderry. Our stay in Ahoy the Slip was very comfortable with the apartment having all the amenities that we expected and needed. Stunning views from the house and the beach is literally a 2 minute walk away as is the local pub/restaurant and the grocery store. We used the apartment as a base as we drove the length and breadth of Cornwall over the duration of our stay - Camel Valley wines is only 45 minutes away and a drive to Land's End took just 90 minutes.
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: no complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ahoy the Slip, please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help with your future holiday plans.

*Cornish Traditional Cottages offers a Loyalty Discount for clients returning to a CTC property within 2 years, please see website for participating properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing