We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Pet Friendly house and local beach”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
23Tracy23
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Pet Friendly house and local beach”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Welcoming family home.
Nice house and all that you need for a nice family break.
Kept my Yorkshire busy up and down the stairs
We had no problems with parking outside the house x 2 vehicles
Beach is a short walk away. Places to eat in the area The Blue Plate and worth a trip to Seaton to the Wave Bar.
Only negative would be the patio area needs some attention I.e weeding etc we also couldn't use barbecue as it hadn't been cleaned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Many thanks for your review of The Captain's House. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay; it sounds perfectly located.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family home”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have recently returned from a relaxing holiday at this excellent family home. Set over several floors in has everything you could want, from quirky old furniture to modern kitchen appliances.
The house has great sea views. The lounge is on the third floor to make the most of the views.

The down side to the house is all the stairs. It would not be suitable for people who have problems with stairs. Also there is very limited parking outside the property and the road is marrow. The town car park is only a short walk away and I would recommend that. Those are the only minor problems but I would go back another time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay at The Captains House and your parking tips are most useful. We look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive-Jul...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely comfortable house with everything you need. Great seaviews and a dog friendly beach. Places to eat within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Many thanks for your feedback, it sounds like your stay at The Captain’s House was ideal. We are glad that you enjoyed the local area and stunning sea views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing