We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb meal and delightful environment”
Review of Hotel Communal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Communal
Ranked #1 of 1 Val D'illiez B&B and Inns
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb meal and delightful environment”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

On a family reunion/ski trip to Switzerland, coming from the Washington DC area and Vienna, we stayed in Val d'Illiez and had our big meal at l'Hotel Communal. Three generations, from 70 to 2 months, with a 10 and 7 year old in between, enjoyed it tremendously. The menu was varied enough for everyone, and we all loved what we chose. We especially recommend the escargot and butternut squash soup appetizers, and the rabbit and rack of lamb main courses. (We all skipped dessert because the little ones were exhausted.) The service was excellent, even though there was only one waiter for Sunday night, and the host Per-Henrik Mansson, was more than gracious. Because we had too many people to fit into our car for the short trip home (we'd come in two batches), he personally drove some of us back to our chalet. I don't know anything about the lodging, but the meal was perfect for our special occasion.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank spunkysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well Located for Champery (by local/frequent train) and Les Crosets (by car) which joins up with the whole Port du Soleil Region incl Avoriaz, Morzine, Les Gets and Chatel.

Idyllic village hotel with excellent Restaurant food, friendly efficient service. Close to quiet station
village shop, Patisserie village pub and Pizza stall.

Good selection of rooms with pleasant cosey and warm rooms on Top (2nd) floor

Room Tip: Ask the owner and give him your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

5 of us just stayed at this hotel for a skiing weekend at the start of Marsh 2013. The hotel is very easy to get to from Geneva, the staff and owner are friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. The restaurant serves excellent food and should not be missed. The hotel is situated just a few minutes from the ski areas of Champery, part of the Portes du Soleil, and even closer to the thermal baths in the Val d'Illiez, a perfect place to relax and recover after a hard day's skiing. Simplay a great location to get away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our second stay at Le Communal in Val d'Illiez. It is the perfect location close to the ski resort of Les Portes du Soleil. Each room is different, spacious and clean. The owners as well as the whole staff are very friendly. Don't miss the restaurant and its amazing food. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 467Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val D'illiez
0.5 mi away
Thermes Parc
Thermes Parc
#1 of 1 in Val-d'Illiez
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Riad des Neiges
#2 of 3 in Val D'illiez
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amici
Amici
#1 of 3 in Val D'illiez
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Communal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Communal

Property: Hotel Communal
Address: place du Village 1, Val D'illiez 1873, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Val D'illiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Val D'illiez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Communal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly opposite Val d’Illiez Train Station, Hotel Communal is located at the foot of the Dents du Midi Mountains. The restaurant has a terrace and serves Swiss and international cuisine. Free Wi-Fi is available.The rustic-style rooms feature wooden furnishings, a flat-screen TV, and a bathroom with a hairdryer.Free parking is available nearby. The Val d’Illiez Thermal Spa is 3 km away, and Champéry is 8 km away. The Portes du Soleil Ski Area is 10 km from the Communal Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Communal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing