We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Kodiak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A little pricey, but very yummy sandwiches and huge Russian tea, although it was instant. Wish they were open on the weekends. Cute atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The place is popular. We had to wait in line to place our order. But the wait was worth it. They make fine sandwiches. The somehow forgot my sister's order, and they quickly made her a deluxe sandwich meal and gave us our money back. I returned the money - they were so nice. Tables downstairs are few, but they have additional tables upstairs in some sort of used clothing shop. If they ask you if you want an upstairs table, wait for a downstairs table to feel connected to the whole experience. You can also do a carry out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good sandwich shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good sandwiches, although expensive. Service is quick and friendly. Can get crowded at lunch and the parking is terrible.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofsixinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
591 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch in Kodiak City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Monk's Rock Cafe offers a wide variety of super tasty dishes that are freshly-prepared by the staff of young folks (who are part of the Orthodox Academy on Kodiak Island -- hence the name of the place). Their breads are outstanding and baked in-house, along with their pizzas too. My favorite choice is their borscht soup, which is served traditional-style with a dark rye bread roll (and sour cream on the side)... this dark rye bread (which is also sold at the cafe in sliced loaves too) is made in true Russian taste & fashion -- which we've not been able to find elsewhere here in the USA -- and it was most excellent to again eat this wonderful bread (!). The now roast & brew their own coffee too, their prices are low -- and the service is most polite & quick too. They have a area inside the cafe that's filled with Orthodox gift/religious items for sale (imported from Russia) -- be sure to also bring home one of their specially-made ceramic mugs w/ their logo too... The Monk's Rock Cafe is always a must-eat place whenever I visit Kodiak Island... Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Love the gourmet sandwiches and coffees! My favorites are the ones with brie, gouda, bacon and avocado. You have to try it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore also viewed

 
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 

Been to Monk's Rock Coffeehouse and Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing