We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Kingfisher Aviation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bear Viewing Tours and Floatplane Service on Kodiak Island since 1998. We operate small custom tours in our Bush Hawk floatplanes from the city of Kodiak to the Kodiak Refuge and Katmai National Park.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This adventure was one of the highlights of our holiday. The flight to Katmai National Park was great with our pilot being very informative telling us about every thing that we flew over. He spotted a bear on a beach and landed on the water very close to him we spent a good half an hour there taking photos sometimes getting onto the floats of the plane and the pilot paddling the plane along the shore to keep up with the bear who was digging for clams. This trip is not to be missed.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank jock162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
“adventure”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

An amazing trip. Kyle knows his business and handles everything. The flight from Kodiak to Katmai was wonderfully smooth with beautiful scenery over the highlands of Kodiak as well as the Katmai.. We landed in a bay where there were plenty of bears gorging themselves on salmon. Plenty of time to observe their behavior and take great pics.
This was truly a highlight of our Alaska trip

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank VAtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip and Tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best trip ever. From flying from Kodiak to Katmai National Park to watch the bears run free, to viewing the beautiful mountains sprinkled with volcanic ash, to swooping down and from the sky to observe the humpback whales swimming in the bay nearby, it was a totally awesome experience! Kingfisher Aviation said they would give me and my wife a tour to remember, and it was. Many thanks to our pilots Kyle and Glen Eaton, they went above and beyond to help out a couple of city dwellers see what it's like in the Alaskan Wild. Can't wait to go back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kingfisher Air taxi and bear viewing”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We flew with Kyle Eaton four times during our trip to Zachar Bay Lodge. He did a great job and was very helpful in describing the terrain and highlights of Kodiak Island. He took us on a bear viewing fly-out to Katmai National Park where we saw a large number of Alaskan brown bears that were only a matter of a few feet away. His plane was in great shape, he was always on time, and we wouldn't hesitate to fly with him again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Bear Watching Trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time! We got to see plenty of bear feeding in the stream for salmon, and got some awesome pictures. Bears moved on so pilot took us flight-seeing. Had a great time with super views. We highly recommend them for your adventure. We flew in a Very nice newer plane. Well worth the money. The pilot always made us feel comfortable, even when a bear got a little to close.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Aviation also viewed

Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing