We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farringdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Timbers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Farringdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A beautiful country cottage offering fantastic accommodation with hospitality to match. Set in a quintessential Hampshire Village, surrounded by stunning countryside we could not recommend this B&B highly enough. There is also a very good pub within walking distance. Finally the owners are delightful.

Room Tip: One room offers an en-suite whilst the other is adjacent to a dedicated bathroom. Both rooms are of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSmith321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Old Timbers is a beautiful house in rural Hampshire. The bed was comfy, breakfast plentiful and tasty, and Kate was incredibly welcoming, but most noticeable of all was how immaculately clean the house was! We would definitely come back, thanks for such a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a perfect location while visiting friends in Hampshire and the south coast. I stayed for 3 nights and received a very warm welcome in this beautiful house, and Kate was so helpful. The village was delightful and everyone so friendly - great pub. Kate's breakfasts were amazing with lots of fresh produce. Only wish my stay had been longer. Will definately return.
Marie Q.

Room Tip: I stayed in the double room, quiet and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My only regret is that we only stayed one night! The house was absolutely charming. Kate took great care of us! The breakfast was delicious and very filling. I loved the sitting room which we enjoyed a lovely pot of tea upon our arrival. The bathroom in our room was very nice and state of the art. Good nights sleep :)
~Natalie

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieKay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Finding Kate's delightful home on the internet, was everything we hoped for. Wanting a relaxing short break in a pretty village, Old Timbers could not have been bettered - old world charm, a friendly and most helpful host and a wonderful breakfast. Lots of extra touches made our time at Upper Faringdon just perfect, not least the cosy sitting room for reading (and the test match!) in the evenings.
Visiting Jane Austen's House along the trail from Faringdon, was a highlight, as were neighbouring, historic Selbourne and Alresford. Just having time enjoy some of Hampshire's treasures instead of rushing past on the way to somewhere else, was just wonderful while looking forward to returning to Old Timbers each evening.

David and Jenny ,Isle of Wight

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Arriving in Upper Farringdon is like travelling back through time.Timber frame and thatched cottages, not to mention examples of topiary, all contibute to that wonderful old English village feel. But the receception and accomodation at Old Timbers is not a thing of the past. Kate will look after you royally at this beautiful old cottage and will always be avaiable to give all the help you need. Bed-perfect, breakfast-exceptional. It is the ideal starting place to visit the numerous places of interest that are within easy reach either walking, or in the car. The Rose & Crown isn't bad either and that's just a gentle walk to with maybe a stumble home.

When we come back to England there is only one place to consider staying.

Alan & Susanne Thoroughgood
Tarpon Springs, Florida

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan and Susann... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed a night while visiting friends in Lower Farringdon. Did not meet the hosts the night we arrived (our frinds had booked and checked us in!!) but woke up to a fantastic breakfast with a fantastic choice of juices, fruits and a lovely cooked breakfast.
Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farringdon
2.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
482 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
2.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in East Worldham
138 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Timbers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Timbers Bed and Breakfast

Address: Old Timber Crows Lane | Near Chawton and Alton, Farringdon GU34 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farringdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farringdon
Price Range: $59 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Timbers Cottage is an attractive 17th-century period family home with original beams and log fires. Chawton village, the home of Jane Austen, is less than 2 miles away. National Trust properties, former capital city of Winchester and historic Portsmouth "Home of Ships" are within easy reach. Steam railway in nearby Alton market town, connects to rail network and London. Perfect for walking and cycling, or scenic breaks from the City or further. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing