We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at de Vaux cottage at Lanercost”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanercost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanercost Holiday Cottages
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at de Vaux and, having stayed at other cottages marketed by Premier Cottages were expecting great things. From first contact with Sue (& then Sophie) we felt welcomed and looked forward to the short break. Once again the cottage was of the highest quality and everything so carefully thought of. What a treat! The key safes are an excellent idea too, making everything so easy. Beautiful weather in this gorgeous part of the country was a bonus but with such a cosy base, the fascinating Priory just next door and the superb tea-room and gift shop for further indulgence, whatever the weather we would have had a good time. These cottages are not cheap but the quality, warm welcome and attention to detail make them great value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: De Vaux, closest to the parking was ideal for my 83 year old mum so easy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Lanercost Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lanercost Cottages are in a beautiful, picturesque and quiet location. We stayed in Greystoke which is a very spacious, two bedroomed house which was lovely and warm.
The master bedroom is very large with a wonderful little room with a low ceiling which is off the main room which our children thought was a fabulous play room.
They was also a large hall and a large dining table with eight chairs.
Both bedrooms had their own bathrooms.
The kitchen was more than ample and well equipped.
Great standard of furnishings throughout and very comfortable beds.
Tolietries, towels, hand soap, tea towels and dishwasher tablets and cleaning equipment were also provided for no extra charge.
The door off the lounge leads to the Lanercost Priory's garth where there is plenty of room and a large grassed area for our children to play in.
The front door leads to the courtyard. There is a tea room, serving full English breakfast, cakes and lunches on site as well as a shop too.
We had a very relaxing stay at Lanercost and would not hesitate to return.
Additional info:
The venue is also very close to the Bank's Turret part of Hadrian's Wall and also a short drive to Birdsowald Roman Fort and 30 mins from Housesteads Roman Fort.
We can also highly recommend New Mills Trout Farm Fishery - about 5 mins drive. They have a kids pool and £6.50 included rod hire, bait, unlimited fishing time and tuition. They also came to help unhook trout. The trout they caught was then £3.20 a lb which for an extra 50p they cleaned and gutted them. They were absolutely brilliant with our children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanercost-Cottages, Owner at Lanercost Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Lanercost and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Yes indeed, it is a “beautiful, picturesque and quiet location”. From a family focus, it is wonderful to hear your first hand experience of places you visited with your own family. In particular, good to hear the nearby New Mills Trout Farm was such a success and that you enjoyed venturing along the Roman Wall and visiting Birdoswald and Housesteads Roman Forts. And yes, back at the cottages, the Priory Garth is certainly a great place where children can run around and let off a little steam. Thank you again for your super review. We hope to see you again very soon and please keep spreading the ‘Lanercost’ name!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked over the phone for our 8 night stay in de brotherton. The lady who took our booking (Sophie) was amazingly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. She organised the booking and arranged for us to have a high chair and travel cot (no charge, how refreshing!) we arrived to a very welcoming warm cottage. Phillippa arrived shortly later to check we were ok and had kindly cranked the heating up before our arrival as she knew we had small children. The property is IMMACULATE and the kitchen has everything you could wish for nothing is lacking. Tea room on site is lovely serving fab home made food and cakes although a little pricey it's worth the treat as it really is good quality. Brampton is only 2 miles away with shops for essentials and also has a library that do fantastic book bags with puppets and things in so if you have young children get yourself a visitors pass and give them a whirl my 4 year old loved them! Super comfy beds as promised on the web site and god we are fussy about beds! Nice toiletries in the bathrooms and the basics in the kitchen eg dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid, jay cloth, tin foil, cling film etc. All in all a fab stay we even managed to sneak another night in because we enjoyed it so much thanks a lot would recommend you to anyone and hope to come back in the future :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanercost-Cottages, Owner at Lanercost Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

The Lanercost team say a big 'thank you' for your lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your recent stay in our De BROTHERTON property. All feedback is important to us but especially when it is so positive – it’s what makes us ‘tick’! Great to hear you found the property ‘IMMACULATE’ and especially found the beds so comfortable. Also, an excellent tip about visitor passes for young children at the local library in Brampton - the book bags/puppets sound great fun. We will definitely pass this information on to future guests. We do hope that you come & stay with us again soon. We love to welcome returning guests....and thanks for spreading the good word about 'Lanercost'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have today returned from a brilliant stay over Christmas in these cottages - we booked Howard (the 4 bedroomed property) and De Brotherton (the 3 bedroomed property). There were 11 of us in total for Christmas dinner and the Management went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed for a really enjoyable stay - including adding an extra table and chairs so we could all dine together for this week.
The houses were very well equipped - especially the kitchen, where there was nothing more I could have asked for. The living area was very comfortable (we are already planning on buying similar recliners for our own livingroom now!!) with a couple of games, books and films already in the property and the free WiFi was a great bonus.
The whole house was spotlessley clean, warm and welcoming. Downstairs there is also a utility room which has coat hooks, hoover, iron, ironing board etc. Dishwasher tablets and a couple of washing machine tablets can be found under the sink. There was washing up liquid in the kitchen and hand soap in all of the bathrooms. Each bathroom has a small mini size shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
The only thing I would change would be to add a non -slip coating under the rug in the living room as obviously with hardwood flooring, it was inclined to slip and move - as we had a three year old and an 80 year old in our party - we took extra care when they were in the livingroom so no accidents happened.
The beds are very comfortable and as each property only had one double bedroom, we just pushed a couple of twins together for the other couples in our party. There is alot of storage space in each property.
The shop and tea room on site are not cheap as others have also mentioned, however we had afternoon tea one day and lunch another day and on both occasions found the cakes and food delicious and filling. The shop is full of lovely things, many things being sourced locally and I really could have spent a fortune!!
The church is just behind the cottages - just a 2 minute stroll, with the priory ruins next to the church, there is an English Heritage charge to gain access and its only open weekends in Winter.
We are already planning our next family stay in the Summer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanercost-Cottages, Owner at Lanercost Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

What a lovely review to start the year with! Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are always eager to hear what guests really think of Lanercost Holiday Cottages and we're absolutely delighted to hear you describe your stay as being ‘Amazing and Brilliant’. Yes, indeed the larger houses such as Howard & De Brotherton (not forgetting Greystoke) are particularly good for larger group gatherings. As you mention, we are only too happy to provide extra chairs/table for ‘group dining’, where possible. It also helps having an amazing Tea Room/Restaurant on site - not to mention the beautiful 12th century prior on your doorstep. Thanks again for your lovely review and please do think of us in the future – we love to welcome returning guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose the Lanercost cottages as they were right next to the finish line of a charity fundraising event we all took part in on Sunday 12 August – a 32k extreme hike along Hadrian’s wall.
We booked to stay 3 nights in the De Vaux cottage with two friends. We travelled up from the South coast by train and arrived late afternoon on the Saturday and were met by Helen the housekeeper on arrival who explained a few things about the cottage.
Although we opted to stay self catering, we were under the distinct impression that there was a ‘farm shop’ on site where basic provisions could be purchased. After our long journey and due having to get up at 5am the following morning for our challenge, it was very disappointing to discover that the farm shop is actually a gift shop. To get even a pint of milk required a journey to the nearest village – quite annoying after travelling all day and having been in Carlisle prior to getting the bus to Lanercost where we could have picked up some basic provisions. Even if a few teabags and a small jug of milk could have been made available, even to purchase, just for the first night that would have been something. It would have been helpful if the lack of food provision had been made clear prior to our arrival. So we incurred extra expense of bus fare into Brampton and then had to get a taxi back (£7) as there were no more buses that day. We bought some basic provisions and later ate in the tea shop restaurant in the evening which was very nice.
We decided that eating at the restaurant again on Sunday evening would be a nice finish after our gruelling day of hiking, as were under the impression it was open until 9pm. However this was not to be, we went to the restaurant only to find that it was all closed. We were not aware that the restaurant was not open on a Sunday. We later discovered that the restaurant was only open on Thurs, Fri and Saturdays. If we’d known that we’d have bought more provisions and after our challenge were in no mood or physical state to go all the way to Brampton again and incur even further cost. We reviewed the literature in the cottage regarding eating out, take-aways etc and there was a pizza delivery service listed. We spent a long time trying to get proper internet access to make an order only to learn that it was ‘collection only’. So if you stay at Lanercost without a car you are severely limited. The following day, Monday, we were all tired and aching after our challenge, but managed a visit to the adjacent Priory, well worth a visit. Given that we now knew the restaurant would not be open in the evening we opted to eat a meal from the daytime menu, understanding that the tearoom closed at 5pm, we made efforts to try and eat our main meal during the timeframe, arriving there at exactly 4pm. We were told that the fryers had already been switched off! After a discussion it was reluctantly agreed that because a particular person was in the kitchen and they had one fryer still on they would do it for us. Gee, thanks. All the cakes had already been put away at 4pm as well.
In the cottages the rooms are very nice and clearly quite new. The facilities in the kitchen are good and the whole cottage was very clean and comfortable. A couple of things though I would mention – the ‘soft fluffy towels’ are not white and fluffy as expected, but a rather depressing navy blue and not of the quality I’d expect in a property like this in this price range. The bathrooms – my friends sharing the twin room had a lovely shower en-suite. My husband and I had a bath with a small hose type shower attachment, no shower screen or curtain, nowhere to clip the shower head to if you wanted a shower. I would have expected a shower/bath option if not a shower in the double en-suite. Instead we all ended up sharing the one shower which was not ideal.
In the double bedroom the artwork depicted a scene of Venice. I thought this was really odd as given the beautiful countryside in this part of the world and the reason most people are staying there is to explore the area, it felt really out of place. Better to have something more in-keeping with the area, even showcase a local photographer or artist perhaps. This being out in the sticks, the wi-fi was very sketchy and we were completely without any access for several hours.
Cars were an irritant at times, frequent trips in the courtyard area which was noisy due to the stones on the floor. On one occasion a car drove on the path outside our lounge window literally inches from the property!
In summary it was a nice comfortable cottage, but left feeling disappointed with the experience and such a shame that even with a farm next door, there is no local and/or fresh produce to buy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bonnotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanercost-Cottages, Owner at Lanercost Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Firstly, may we congratulate you on completing your very worthwhile charity 32k ‘extreme hike’. Thank you also for your detailed review. We always appreciate listening to customer feedback, and whilst we are pleased you found a great many positive with the cottage, we are sorry to learn you found certain aspects of your stay not quite right for you. In terms of the cottage location – yes, it is rural, and a car is therefore advisable, but we were happy to assist you with recommending alternative transport options. Being as our cottages are all ‘self-catering’, we appreciate that picking up food provisions without a car may have proved difficult for you. In hindsight, perhaps instead of staying in our self catering cottages, we should have recommended you stay in the excellent ‘Abbey Farmhouse B&B’ next door. This establishment, as with the Tea Room, are both separate businesses to ours, but we do try and work together, where possible. We will of course, also pass on to the Tea Room your comments about service received. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our daughter and her family together with us, the grandparents, had a very enjoyable and happy week in one of the Lanercost cottages. The cottage, itself, was airy, warm, comfortable and well equipped for all of us. It is a converted barn right next to Lanercost Abbey which makes for a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at Lanercost and thank you for taking the time for writing such a positive review. Yes indeed, the setting is rather beautiful with history quite literally on the doorstep. The 12th century Lanercost Priory next door is certainly worth a visit, and Hadrian's Wall is only 400 yards up the hill. Do think of us again in the future - we love to welcome returning guests! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It is a comfortable, light airy cottage, warm, plenty of hot water, excellent power shower and bathroom. All the appliances are first class. however unless you have preordered provisions there will be no milk, teabags, coffee or washing up liquid in cottage on arrival, the shop on the site although advertised as a Farm shop is in reality only a coffee shop and gift shop , the nearest shops are at Brampton 5 minutes drive away, there you will find a Co-operative, a Spar, two Butchers, a greengrocers, a bakers a fish and chip shop, various gift shops, a newsagent and a few Pubs, for more extensive shopping Carlisle is 12miles.

The cottage has no facilities for children, bring your own games, puzzles etc, there is a flat screen 22” TV with freeview and a DVD player , about 6 DVD,s provided and a few books, no separate radio or CD player, there is an I pod docking station and free Wii you will find the password on the router.

Adjacent to Lanercost are the Priory Ruins, these are under the auspices of English Heritage there is an entrance charge, next to the Priory is the Mother Church, free entry, very impressive and worth a visit, surrounding the area is an ancient grave yard.

The countryside surrounding the cottage is spectacular, lots of lovely walks weather permitting!, a short drive to Hadrian’s Wall again lovely walking, quite bleak up there wrap up warm before tacking the walks

We enjoyed our stay at Vaux despite having some atrocious weather , we found it a relaxing and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ena193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your detailed & kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in De Vaux cottage, despite the unseasonal wet weather! Always good to hear what customers think about not only our cottages, but the local area too. Lanercost is indeed a very special place to stay - especially with the beautiful 12th century Lanercost Priory next door, the on-site Tea Room, not to mention 'Hadrian's Wall' only a short walk away. Do think of us for any future stay - we love to welcome returning guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanercost Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanercost Holiday Cottages

Address: Abbey Farm, Lanercost, Brampton CA8 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Lanercost
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lanercost
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six luxurious 4 Star Gold holiday cottages on the Naworth Castle Estate in North Cumbria. Beautiful rural setting just 400 yards from Hadrian's Wall and adjacent to 12th century Lanercost Priory. Within easy reach of the Lake District & Northumberland. The area offers a vast range of activities for all ages and tastes, whether you're into walking, cycling, exploring history or simply want to relax in a beautiful, tranquil setting. The cottages are perfect for couples, families or larger groups - we can accommodate up to 31 in total! We operate an ANY DAY arrival policy, meaning if we have your chosen dates (whatever the day), the holiday's yours! To help make self-catering even easier, there is a superb Tea Room on site (open 7 days/week). Or you can simply choose to 'dine at home' from our delicious 'Food by Christina' pre-order food menu. Whatever the time of year, Lanercost offers you a great base for your well-deserved break. Open all year round for week-long stays and short breaks. Discover an ancient and enchanting place - the prefect rural escape. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing