We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place!”

Osteria Ca' del Capitano
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Serramazzoni
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

You can hardly find a place like this in the area. A very nice restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere. The owner is a very nice man while his wife prepares all dishes by herself! Every dish is perfect, you can enjoy the traditional taste of Appennino. They deserve a five star review.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank davidevetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2015

This Osteria is one of the best we've ever tried in Italy. It's really far from anywhere but it's worth the scenic drive up the mountain.
After arrival we were greeted by a waiter who looks and performs like the perfect waiter. Perfectly dressed, very attentive. He speaks only little English but we had no problems communicating and he had a menu printed in English as well! The food was outstanding! Try the pasta with black truffle or game. The fiorentine steak was a delicious piece of meat, cooked to perfection. Nice wine list. Unfortunately no space left for dessert...
Highly recommended if you are in the area!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexMOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

The food was delicious and the service impeccable at this hidden gem, tucked away in the hills south of Modena. The antipasti was delicious and kept coming. The homemade pasta was rich in black truffles and the meats cooked to perfection. You'll need a reservation as there are only ten tables.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place after a little roadtrip though the hills and were wonderfully surprised. The owner, Alberto, was hospitable and accommodating for our limited Italian (still keen to chat!). The food was brilliant - particularly the antipasti - and everything was very reasonably priced.

Would definitely recommend a visit!

Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Went to this restaurant last night as it was suggested by a friend.
Can absolutely say absolutely nothing negative, a fab experience.
The restaurant is about 28km from Modena Ctr, the road up to the hills is beautiful so I would definitey suggest to leave early so as to appreciate the view.
On arriving at the restaurant its difficult to park as the area is quite small but as there are three houses and the restaurant its not a problem.
Its necessary to ring the bell on the door which gives this a really special feeling.
We walk in and we are met by the owner a beautiful person, reserved but funny and extreamly attentive the whole evening.
The food is absolutely to die for.We began with the Antipasto della casa which is a plate of various types of antipasti which are delicious
A bottle of Montalcino......
We then went on to the Tortelloni exceptional I was honestly to full for main courses so I had strawberries and Aceto Balsamico (a must in Modena) we then had limonecello and Nocino another must of the area, this was on the house.
A fantastic evening well worth the drive and the cost of dinner was definitly within the level of the restaurant
I have already booked for next Saturday evening !!!

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Ca' del Capitano also viewed

Serramazzoni, Province of Modena
Serramazzoni, Province of Modena
 
Serramazzoni, Province of Modena
 
Serramazzoni, Province of Modena
Serramazzoni, Province of Modena
 

Been to Osteria Ca' del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing