We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find”
Review of Auberge Medievale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Audrix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Medievale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Audrix
Monmouthshire Wales
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We cycled up to Audrix looking for somewhere for lunch and decided to give the Auberge Medievale a try - and we were very glad that we did. It wasn't overly full, but apart from us everybody else was french. Always a good sign we reckon. We went for the lunch time menu at 14€ for three courses (four if you include the bowl of soup first!). It wasn't haute cuisine, and it was mainly duck-based - but when in the Dordogne that's what you expect. We had duck terrine with fois gras, confit duck wings and dessert of an enormous bowl of sugared strawberries. Perfect. And very good value for money.
Staff were attentive but discrete, and didn't seem to mind us trampling in in all our cycling gear.
No idea what the hotel is like I'm afraid, but would definitely visit the restaurant again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tienen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I highly agree with the review made by 'speckledjim73' on this restaurant earlier on.
We had very similar experiences. Staff is not unfriendly but do not seem to care that much. Food is below average and the wine was quite poor (house wine).
Avoid this place! Not the worst experience we had in the Dordogne but definitely below average.

If you are in the neighourhood I would recommend Auberge de Salvétat (in Cadouin, more expensive but way better food), Auberge de Vielle Cure (in Saint-Chamassy, maybe a bit too expensive but overall very good experience and great terrace), Le Centenaire (Les Eyzies, with a distance the best restaurant in the region, gastronomical experience). Less upscale but good for a 'no fuss' lunch: Le Bistro D'en Face in Trémolat, le Pauly in Cénac and Hotel du Chateau in Campagne. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a review of the Restaurant only! In late August my Brother took us (Family) for a celebratory meal in honour of his Wife's Birthday. We had a lovely meal and the service was very good. The ambience was nice, with low music in the background (medieval I think!!) Would like to think I would be going back again but, if not, I shall remember the evening with happiness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location etc but food and service is mediocre at best.
Visited many years ago and was hoping for an improvement on the shoddy food but sad to report it didn't happen.
Understandably the terrace is full of tourists (British) but no excuse for the tardy service or distinctly average food.
We sat in complete darkness at one end of the terrace. Garlic soup was tasteless - unforgivable for such a regional speciality. Magret of duck arrived with school meal standard mash and various bits of gristle/bone... For dessert Sorbet contained lemon rind... Inedible and not to my taste I'm afraid.
Overall unacceptable for a €30 menu when there is far superior competition locally.
Took over 3 hours to serve up 4 pretty poor courses. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speckledjim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Audrix
2.9 mi away
Royal Vezere
Royal Vezere
#2 of 4 in Le Bugue
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Manoir De Bellerive
Le Manoir De Bellerive
#1 of 1 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
34 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
159 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
#2 of 2 in Meyrals
154 reviews
5.0 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Medievale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Medievale

Property: Auberge Medievale
Address: Le Bourg, 24260 Audrix, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Audrix
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Audrix
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing