We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing :)”
Review of Viscri 125

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Viscri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viscri 125
Ranked #1 of 5 Viscri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Simply amazing! Very nice people, a piece of haven!
Viscri 125 is a very nice place, great rooms in saxon style, great services!!!! We are here in a team building and I really recommend this place for small groups (15 pax). Just try it, you will be more than pleased for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 131CristinaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided to spend 5 days around the New Year's Eve at Viscri 125. While we appreciated the great architectural work and the attention that was paid to the smallest details in terms of decoration, we were disappointed by the service. The 2 ladies (sometimes 3) that cooked the meals, cleaned the place (not the rooms, though), etc. were the only ones in charge and were obviously overwhelmed by the volume of the tasks, as the B&B was fully booked. We only saw the owners of the place on the first day, and, of course, on the last day, when we checked out.
The breakfast was disappointing, again because I expected too much, probably. Instead of local products, half of the stuff was from the supermarket. Dinners were better in this respect, but not always. Desserts were quite disappointing, especially at the New Year buffet, where we had only one type of cake, home-made, but not fresh...Nothing festive. It is true that we were charged the same price as for a regular dinner.
The rooms are nicely decorated, but small and the light is insufficient for reading. Plus the shower was not working properly in our room (no constant pressure and shower curtains too small).The lights are a problem in the common areas, as well. It is probably better in the summer, when you can just go outside and read. So, in the winter, when the days are short, the only thing you can do is to sit in the common areas, but if the house is full, it is difficult to find a quiet place.
All in all, a nice rural project with positive benefits for the whole local community, but for us it failed to deliver. We did not feel like guests, but more like customers. We will not come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mbulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Viscri is a real-life Saxon farming village to which great care has been dedicated in preserving historic way of life (helped no doubt by publicity from UK Prince Charles owning a village house). Viscri 125 has been developed by a young entrepreneurial Bucharest couple. The lovely rooms are in the renovated old house and a modern communal building has been built at the end of the garden in which super food is served. A real gem. As we were only guests at the time our evening meal was cooked at a local farmhouse - a fascinating insight into rural Romanian life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandPDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good food good company!We were amazed what this young couple managed to do out of a old saxon house!Lovely !!!!!!!Go there and just enjoy the silence of the place!Let them cook for you while you relax in the garden reading a book!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Gem of a place - amazingly renovated it combines the charms of local design with modern comforts. Situated in the middle of Viscri it's a great location for seeing the sights in the region. Even though we didn't do much else while there, they organise events and trips. The owners were very helpful, answering all of our questions (maybe chatting with us for up to 45 minutes!).

Perfect place to stay and the area is well worth the trip if you want to see a different world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Matt_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everyone has waxed lyrical about Viscri 125. It was a truly wonderful place to stay especially for children, our little boy was 6 when we visited and they didn't charge us anything extra for his bed or food which I found extraordinary. It is incredibly good value, maybe overly so, which has made me think this venture must be more of a hobby than a money maker which is prefect for visitors who like a relaxed point of view. There was a pottery weekend going on during our stay and, perhaps because of this, the owners were rarely there and this caused a distinct lack of communication. We were told dinner would be served at 8pm but it didn't turn up until after 9pm which is a tad difficult if you are travelling with children. That said it was worth the wait. Breakfast didn't really start until just before 9am so if you are early risers this may be a little annoying. The staff are super but only speak Romanian and, with the owners not being around, it was quite difficult.

As another reviewer has pointed out it is a guest house, so don't expect your beds to be made or your room tidied. There is no information about the surrounding areas and how everyone else managed to organise trips is beyond me but, as said before, it was a busy weekend with the owners' personal friends staying, who took preference over paying guests. Perhaps over quieter periods they are more in evidence.

All said and done, we really enjoyed our visit and wholly recommend it, just don't expect everything to work like clockwork.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as they are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihai G, Owner at Viscri 125, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for the kind words, and we are really sorry not everything worked out well during your stay. It was indeed a "not perfectly" organized workshop that weekend, and meals were late, which we know is annoying. We apologize.

Regarding activities, we already have available maps of the trips in the area and are working at the brochure with the contact persons and details of activities in the village. We noticed that this was needed and thank you for confirming it.

We are coming from a totally different line of business and any suggestion that helps us improve is welcome. Also, we would be very happy for future guests to let us know on the spot if there are things disturbing their stay and we will do our best to fix it.

Once again, thank you for your observations.

All the best from Viscri,

Mihai & Raluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Viscri is growing as a tourist destination mostly because of the influence of HRH Prince Charles and the fortified Protestant Church. The roads to Viscri are challenging but persevere because its a great place to visit. The are no roadsigns or street signs so finding Viscri 125 isn't easy but the moment you walk through the gates there is a warm welcome and you have found a great place to stay and explore the area. As important as the church are the surrounding meadows and their abundant wild flowers, butterflies and bird life. It really is worth while taking time to learn about the history and culture of the area. In 2013 it felt like England must have been one hundred years ago (except for the cars).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viscri 125? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscri 125

Address: Viscri 125, Viscri 507039, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Viscri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Viscri
Price Range: $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the authentic feeling of a middle-age village, deep in the heart of Transylvania. A UNESCO World Heritage site, Viscri is probably one of the few remaining vestiges of a rapidly disappearing world, the Saxon traditional villages with their fortified churches.At Viscri 125, we offer you an oasis of tranquility and relaxation. In a carefully restored traditional property, you will get all the comfort needed to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing