We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete booking disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I would have liked to be able to review the hotel and restaurant but they completely messed up my booking. I booked several days in advance and rang on the afternoon of my proposed stay to check that the booking was OK, and was told that it was. When I arrived around 5.30 I was told that all the rooms and the restaurant were filled by a wedding party and that there was no room for me. I assume that they knew about the wedding party long before I booked , and I assume that they also knew about it that afternoon when I confirmed my booking. As it was I was transferred under protest to another hotel a few miles away where I had a reasonably satisfactory room but a very indifferent meal, the irony of which was not lost on me as I booked Chapters chiefly on account of their restaurant. I insisted on compensation, and Chapters paid 50% of their room rate towards the room at the other hotel, the least they could do in the circumstances.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank MikeTCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 338 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

Went for my 40th birthday with friends. Food fantastic, service fantastic and complimentary drinks after the meal what more could you say. Try it you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooleyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We had read about this small hotel in magazines and decided to give it a go. We booked for one of their gourmet evenings which includes a 3 course meal in their restaurant, sparkling wine and petit fours on arrival, bed and breakfast (we choose an executive room)
The rooms was fine a good size and a decent free view LCD. The furniture was pleasant and a very large bathroom. To be hypercritical the room could have done with a new carpet and a few decorative repairs. However, it was ok with nice touches.
I was a little concerned booking the gourmet evening that we may be limited to what we could choose from the menu. However, I need not have worried we could have any starter, main course and dessert.
I had scallops to start which were very nice. My wife had Thai fishcakes again very good. Main I had Monkfish which was superb as was my wife’s choice of chicken. Desserts equally of a high standard with the most well presented plate of cheese and biscuits I have ever had. The attention to detail was exquisite.
The restaurant service was exceptional and beat a number of five star hotels, it could not be faulted.
All in all we will definitely be returning and recommending this hotel and its restaurant to all. Yes, it really is that good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Excellent again!This was our third visit to Chapters for their Gourmet night.The food is excellent and the staff are very attentive.
I felt I had to write a review as they are doing such a good job consistently .

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
Thank gianluca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
227 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,508 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
344 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
15.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing