We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food and Good Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a Great meal tonight! The Steak was cooked to perfection and the Pate was just as good! Friendly young staff. Well done! It was our first visit and we will be back in the near future. Just not enough space for dessert.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Kaalgatjoe

Thank you for taking the time to write the great review on your recent experience here at Chapters Hotel & Restaurant


I have passed your great comments onto the whole team and especially to the Victoria and her team

It is great news to see that you will be back and we do look forward to seeing you then

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at Chapters last night and had the gourmet evening deal . The price included the room with sparkling wine and petit fours in it on arrival. Three course evening meal and breakfast . This was an exceptional deal . The food was amazing, the staff and service excellent . I highly recommend this hotel and particularly this deal. Faultless

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Caroline W

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent experience of the Gourmet Night Special Package, we offer at Chapters


We are over the moon to see that you have enjoyed your time and we have passed your positive comments onto the whole team

We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future..

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

When I stay away from home I like to find an independent hotel as opposed to the chain hotels as I like a little more individuality and like to support the independents as I have previously worked at one.

This hotel is very nice, really lovely town and beautiful building. The room was comfortable and clean but far too hot and I had difficulties getting the window to stay open. The breakfast looked good although I did not partake in a lot of it as I'm not really a breakfast person! I would have preferred some other fruit available e.g. grapefruit but this is a minor personal want.

My only gripe is that every person I had contact with was either on the extreme end of formal or just barely acknowledged my presence. It would appear given other reviews that this must be either my interpretation of events or that I stayed on an "off" day but I probably wouldn't stay there again as I appreciate a nice cheery smile and a "hello" when I enter reception not just being looked at and then the person just putting their head down again. This put me off asking for recommendation of where to eat (I stayed on a night when the restaurant was closed) as I already felt like a bother.

Like I said, minor personal niggle really I'm sure as otherwise it was a unique and interesting hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny_Tigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Sunny_Tigs

We do thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience here at Chapters Hotel. We have tried to contact you personally to understand what happened during your stay.

We have spoken at length with all our staff and we hope by highlighting your comments, our service to all guests will have improved....

We do hope that you give us another chance to change your opinion of Chapters Hotel.

Best Wishes

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Visited the restaurant again on Wednesday with two new people and they came away saying that they will be back , as we will be . Once again the food was out of this world ,staff brill cheers guys .
Looking forward tot he JAMES BOND night in August 2014 .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank redstaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Redstaraz

Thank you so much for the lovely review and we are over the moon to hear that you are joining us for the James Bond Evening in August, which should prove to be a fantastic night too.

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I decided to book a lunchtime meal for a "big birthday" celebration at Chapters, on a friend's recommendation - as I was in the area, I popped in and booked in person. I was impressed with the warm welcome at reception, and so immediately booked a room for the night as well.
We arrived yesterday for our meal, with close family and friends. The service was excellent - the staff were so attentive and professional, and everyone was at ease throughout. We had all travelled from different parts of the country, so were delighted to have a lovely meal, without feeling rushed. The food was absolutely first class, and everyone was catered for.

We had a smaller group for a meal yesterday evening - again the food was excellent, and despite a large wedding party also being catered for, we felt we were important to the staff, and again were impressed by the service we received.
Our room had everything we needed, and we had an undisturbed night, despite being prepared for some noise from the wedding party (who also appeared to be having a lovely time!)

Breakfast this morning was lovely, I had a light meal of smoked haddock and poached egg, while my husband had a full english, with local produce.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and felt every detail was considered, and the highest standards displayed by all staff. We would definitely visit again, and I have no hesitiation in recommending a stay and meals at this lovely little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which was directly over the reception area. We didn't experience any noise, but w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthintruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Earthintruder

Thank you for the lovely review you have wrote about your recent stay here at Chapters

We always enjoy receiving new guests, especially when they have been recommended too.... I have passed your comments onto the whole team and really appreciate you taking the time to write this.

Best Wishes

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our night away in this cosy and friendly hotel. The service was very good, the room very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but we have eaten there before and I can definitely recommend it too. We did stay on a Saturday night and there was a bit of noise from downstairs (albeit it seemed to quieten down after midnight) but it's not a massive hotel and therefore we were near the ground floor so it's only to be expected and we still slept very well. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Simon003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Simon003,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.....

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us recently and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future...

I have passed your comments onto the whole team

Best Wishes

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I spent a night here on business. Nice light airy room.
The resturant had a good selection. I had a risotto as a starter - with asparagus and garden veg. The main was an excellent belly pork.
Breakfast was freshly cooked. It was good and the twn is charming.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Southampton

Thank you for taking the time write this review.

We are over the moon to see that you have enjoyed our new menu and that your stay was enjoyable too...

I have passed your comments onto the team

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,495 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
338 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
227 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing