We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our night away in this cosy and friendly hotel. The service was very good, the room very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but we have eaten there before and I can definitely recommend it too. We did stay on a Saturday night and there was a bit of noise from downstairs (albeit it seemed to quieten down after midnight) but it's not a massive hotel and therefore we were near the ground floor so it's only to be expected and we still slept very well. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Simon003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Simon003,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.....

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us recently and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future...

I have passed your comments onto the whole team

Best Wishes

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

I spent a night here on business. Nice light airy room.
The resturant had a good selection. I had a risotto as a starter - with asparagus and garden veg. The main was an excellent belly pork.
Breakfast was freshly cooked. It was good and the twn is charming.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank SouthamptonStarlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Southampton

Thank you for taking the time write this review.

We are over the moon to see that you have enjoyed our new menu and that your stay was enjoyable too...

I have passed your comments onto the team

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for my birthday in May on the Gourmet package. We had room 10 at the back , lovely and quiet. Clean and comfy. Food is excellent as was the singer on the Friday night . She created a really nice atmosphere. All staff polite and friendly. We managed a lovely walk along the Cleveland way from Staiths despite the deluge of rain.
One small criticism , the coffee at breakfast was almost cold in the pot brought to the table and the bacon seemed to have been under the hotplate a little too long. Having said that we didn't manage to eat all our breakfast because of the portion sizes. Would definitely stay here again , lovely little place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear AmCatt

Thank you for taking the time to write this review from your stay here at Chapters Hotel

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us... Val, our resident singer is very popular with our guests..

I have let the kitchen know about your comments regarding breakfast and Victoria, the Head Chef is going to speak to her team... We always appreciate feedback from our guests

We look forward to seeing you again if you are in Stokesley

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight after attending a wedding in Potto.
The hotel is located in a lovely market town and the hotel is a lovely looking building.
The staff we met on both the evening and in the morning were very pleasant and helpful.
The room we stayed in (9) was nice and modern.
The breakfast in the morning was also lovely.
I would love to come back soon to stay and dine in the restaurant after the good reviews I've heard.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Clowesyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Clowesyfamily

Thank you for your lovely review of Chapters hotel from your recent stay

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and over the moon to hear that you may come back soon to try our Gourmet Package (Sparkling Wine * petit fours in your room, 3 course evening meal and accommodation with breakfast in the morning)

I have passed your comments onto the team

Best Wishes

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm a regular visitor to Teesside, and usually stay in Yarm, but Stokesley was a nice change, and Chapters is well sited right in the centre.

I was allocated room 2, and this was a large room overlooking the main square, with an ample bathroom. All furnishings were fine and clean, with the usual features such as tea/coffee and large flat screen tv.

Breakfast was good. Fresh, well cooked, and served in a pleasant manner.

All in all, good value, and nothing at all to complain about. Not sure if all the rooms are as nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Humbermart

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.....

We are pleased you have given Chapters a chance to look after you and that you have enjoyed yourself.

Room 2 is one of our executive rooms and is larger than the standard double rooms.

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and we do look forward to seeing you again

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed after a really good meal and a few drinks.
The steak was very tasty as always..
Room clean and staff helpful.
We've stayed here before but a few years ago now.
We eat here probably once a month.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear CaptWilko

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review

Pleased to hear that you have decided to stay again and that you have enjoyed your meal here.

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and we look forward to seeing you next month

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A lovely property set in a quaint market town . Chapters offers a high standard of food and accommodation. The restaurant food is well prepared using local produce to an exceptional level with a good selection of wines and beers to compliment everyone's tastes . Breakfast is freshly cooked to order . The staff provide a friendly and helpful service .
Rooms are a good size decorated in differing styles . All in all a good hotel in a fantastic location . My only criticism would be the decoation ( cosmetic ) is looking a little tired .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear rob w

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review

We always like to receive comments from our guests....

I have passed them onto the whole team and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
226 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,501 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
338 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
229 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range: $96 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing