We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bistro is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bistro is excellent”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I reviewed the hotel last week and stand by what I wrote. A little disappointed to be given the same room this week, I should ask for a change. I decided to try the bistro which has good reviews and I was not disappointed. This was one of the best meals I've ever had and I've been around a bit. Started with the scallops which was heaven on a plate. Cooked to perfection.
For the main I had the lamb which also comes with a small lamb hotspot which was really amazing. The rump & belly were also excellent as was the veg. I will definitely be returning. Not cheap, if it was it would be obscenely good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Andyhx

Again another thank you for writing the lovely review about our restaurant.

Victoria, our Head Chef, takes pride in reading all these reviews

Best Wishes again

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    103
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
41
156
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Chapters is located in a charming North Yorkshire village. The restaurant and bar are upmarket although that is reflected in the prices. It's a pity the rooms don't live up to the bistro. The rooms are dated and a little shabby, with furniture blocking access to the closets, which I'd be reluctant to put decent clothes in. Having said that the bed was very comfortable and there is a large flat screen TV and free wi-fi. If you pay top rate for this hotel prepare for a slight disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Andyhx

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review

I know we have been communicating by emails but I do still like to thank our guests for taking the time to complete these reviews.

We take all constructive criticism and deal with them as quickly as we can. As you have seen, the wardrobes have been given a completely new and fresh look.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Chapters last night and the food and service was one of the best we've ever experienced.

We're both well travelled & we can honestly say this was probably one of the best meals we've both ever had, it really was exceptional. The service was also absolutely first class from the waiters being very attentive to the chef coming out to ask how the meal was with lots of nice little touches in between.

The only downside is we stayed in room 1 which was an upgraded room and all we could hear was the music loud and clear that was playing downstairs.

We were looking for a really peaceful early night without our 14 month old crying instead we had the bass and music till about 12.30 which only stopped once we went down to ask for it to be turned off.

We'll certainly be dining there again but unfortunately been put off from staying over.

Stu & Nichola

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stunichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Stunichola

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay here at Chapters Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the evening especially the food and the service and I have passed your positive comments onto the whole team.

I would like to apologise about the level of the music on the evening. We had a wedding in the hotel and they all moved onto the bar hence the reason for the level of the music. If it is a standard service evening, the music would have been turned off no later than 12am.

I will email you personally regarding this too and do hope to see you again soon at Chapters Hotel

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On a beautiful Spring Saturday we drove through Helmsley, over Bilsdale past Chop Gate and into Stokesley, we walked through the Farmers Market and found Chapters. What a discovery ! We were shown to a table by friendly staff and advised of the special lunch time deal. '' two courses for £10.50'' We decided on mains and desert. My wife chose the cheese and tomato omelette with a dressed salad and was delighted with the lightness and fluffy texture of the omelette and the delicacy of the balsamic dressing. I had the pan fried chicken with a tyme jus. This was perfectly cooked moist chichen on a bed of baby roast potatoes and roasted veg with a well balanced jus. The sweets were fantastic licorice and black currant ice cream and blackberry parfait was unbelievable and my wifes choice of sticky toffee sundae warm and inviting with the surprise of cinder toffee at the end was wonderful. When in Stokesley this is the place to eat and check out the deals for lunchtime and evening dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear kevin d

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review

We really do appreciate feedback and I have passed your very positive comments onto our Head Chef Victoria and also onto our team regarding our popular lunch promotion.

We do look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future if you are in Stokesley.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband booked the hotel for a night away, in order to see a band at the nearby Town Hall. We stayed in room 5 for bed and breakfast. The room itself was cosy - well decorated and with comfortable facilities. The bathroom was as big as the bedroom. I enjoyed the stay but felt a bit disappointed by the overwhelming smell of paint in the room and the noise that could be heard from other rooms/overhead/the nearby stairwell. Neither of these stopped me sleeping however. Breakfast was plentiful and service good. Would fancy staying again for the gourmet nights and in a larger room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear GreyK44

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

We do apologise for the smell of the paint, which was still lingering in your room. It is unfortunate the smell was still there but we do try to keep on top of maintaining the hotel standards by decorating when we can, though now we are sourcing "odourless" paint to overcome this situation.

Room 5 is based over the stair case and agree that sometimes it can be noisy when guests are on the staircase.

We do look forward to seeing you again soon though and will try to accommodate you in the Executive Rooms next time.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for a gourmet night and once again were delighted with everything about our stay. The staff were all helpful and very friendly. As last time the food was excellent and better than some 5 star resorts we stayed in recently - should be Michelin starred!!!
Will definitely be visiting again soon.
Well done everyone at Chapters.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello Malcolm381

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay here at Chapters Hotel recently.

It gives us great pleasure to hear comments such as yours and I have passed your kind words onto the whole team - we do feel we are on the right track when we receive such lovely reviews as your own.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is in respect of the restaurant only.....

Went out for an 'early bird' meal expecting a cosy relaxed / leisurely meal but came away feeling as if I'd been an extra on Fawlty Towers.

For a fairly quite Monday evening (the restaurant was half full), the waiters were running (really running at quite a pace!) past our table and down the corridor to the kitchen. The service from the head waiter was abrupt; we saw him violently gesticulate at a waiter and even heard him 'hiss' at another. When we asked for the early bird menu (this wasn't immediately given to us) we were made to feel like we were being cheap. We also anticipated that the waiter would come round with the breadbasket and ask if we would like bread - this didn't happen. The head waiter didn't bring any bread to our table and instead simply said 'do you want bread?' and then looked at us accusingly when we were trying to decide (needless to say we said no!).

Although the service from the front of house staff was quite amusing to watch (and I admit the the food was quite good) the service really needs to be worked as it completely wrecks the atmosphere! At £50 a couple it wasn't exactly a cheap meal and we did come away feeling quite hassled....

I also don't like walking out of the restaurant to see the head waiter having a smoke outside the front!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty7107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing