We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what it says on the tin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

As a place to stay there are surely far worse, but my friend and I were disappointed that it did not quite live up to the impression given by its website.

The reception area and restaurant are fine, well presented and modern, inside a lovely old building. But as soon as you climb the stairs (no lift) "boutique" is certainly not the word that springs to mind. Ghastly embossed wall paper and narrow corridors led us past all manner of poorly decorated doors. When we finally reached our rooms they were adequate, but the beds were small and in one case uncomfortable (we had two singles).

I'd still recommend the hotel, just suggest that the owners either moderate their website or redecorate the interior.

Room Tip: Check how far you have to climb/walk to reach your room if you have heavy luggage or are infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Travel Junkie
Appreciate your comments .If you intend to stay with us again please contact me to see if I can ensure you get a larger room
You must have stayed in room 7 a twin or room 11 a smaller single which can be a twin
We can't put a lift in as it is a listed building in a conservation area the building is 260 years old hence the tight stairs corridors .
regards
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    102
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
152
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed for a short mid week break. We had room 14 over looking the market square. Very relaxing hotel and convenient for looking round the town. Ate in restaurant one evening - good service and we took advantage of a special meal deal with wine which was good value. WiFi a bit flakey (isn't it everywhere tho') . Car parking is right outside on the square and the hotel explained the procedure carefully and gave us a disc - seems you might want to avoid market day.
Would we stay there again - you bet we will!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Bob
sorry to respond after sometime .
Thank you for taking time to send a lovely report to trip Advisor .
thank and regards from Myself (Steven Bell) Victor the GM Victoria Head Chef and Tonio and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and two friends all had the set lunch here a few days ago.
For starters we all had the crayfish salad. Although the actual salad leaves were quite tasty, the crayfish needed something extra...perhaps a marie rose sauce, However .we all agreed it was QUITE nice,
I had hake with chunky chips for the main course which was delicious and the others had red mullet .
We declined the dessert but we all had coffee.The total bill came to about £53. None of us had wine, but the bill included a drink at the bar before the meal.
The service was excellent. The restaurant was very pleasant, and overall we had very good value for our money. We WILL return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRHUTTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We originally wanted to stay for 4 nights however they had wedding on the Saturday and arranged for us to stay in another hotel (The Treebridge) for the Saturday and Sunday nights. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It overlooked the square but was not too noisy. There were no lace curtains on the windows, which meant that we had to put the light on and draw the curtains to get showered and changed.
They rang us on the Saturday to say that a room was available for the Sunday and gave us a discounted rate, which we accepted. They cancelled our Sunday night booking at The Treebridge for us. We were not sorry to have only spent one night there!! We did not eat in the hotel and there was no bar facility in the evening. However there are several pubs in the town and we would recommend The White Swan for friendliness and atmosphere.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FloratheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I've stayed here twice now and on both occasions it was a delightful experience. I stayed in the same room both times, probably a coincidence. Very nice room, well equipped, pleasant with lots of attention paid to the small details that delight. Staff were very helpful and pleasant on both occasions. I had dinner in the restaurant on the first occasion and it was excellent in every way. The menu, the service, the presentation ... everything was great. The only exception was that the free WiFi is rather patchy. I had to go downstairs to the lounge to get a decent signal, as it was coming and going in my room. I can forgive that though because everything else was so good. Not only is it a delightful hotel, but it is also in a lovely setting. Stokesley is one of the nicest small towns you could hope to find in England. I will definitely be coming back again and again, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We booked a gourmet evening and have to say that we loved everything about the stay. The service was attentive from both reception through to the restaurant staff without being overbearing. The food in the evening and at breakfast was superb could not be faulted. The only reason I have marked it down slightly was the bathroom was tired and some of the unimportant communal areas needed redecorated. Overall a great stay and we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontelandords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

My first experience of this hotel was for my friends 40th celebration; arriving in the AM with said friends wife to arrange the decorations we found that we were unable to access the rear garden as the hotel guests were just finishing breakfast. No problem says 'Zack'; I'll decorate the area for you & that he did. Marvelous job too.
We returned around 3 pm & luckily it was a beautiful day to spend outside. Chris greeted us warmly & assured us that anything we required would be available & he was right.
The space was perfect & the garden bar is ideal. Providing our own taste in music we were able to hook up to their speakers & dance the day/night away too.
The BBQ food was marvelous (although a bit more salad with all of that meat wouldn't hurt).
Service was excellent. Lewis on the outside bar was great. Zack was brilliant & Chris seemed to be everwhere doing every type of job there is. The female staff were quiet but hardworking.
Ideal location as we had the rear room to ourselves too.
Just wish there had been rooms available to stay.
Will be back many timeS I'm sure of it.
Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing