We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel & restaurant a real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My wife and I , friends and family regularly eat at Chapters . The staff are first rate ,nothing is too much trouble and they are clearly well trained and proud of their establishment. The food is 1st class fresh & creatively crafted into exquiste and exciting dishes ,The wine list is extensive and expertly sourced. The wine tasting evenings are a real treat for lovers of fine wine .We treat our parents to a Gourmet evening for their 50th wedding anniverssary recently and they loved it .A real gem and in my view ,having eaten in so called 4 star places across France & Italy ,hard to beat .Try it its wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatAytonJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at Chapters beginning of June 2011 we were celebrating our son's 18th and 21st. I cannot recommend this hotel and especially the restaurant enough. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are good but its the restaurant that brought us back. The food is just fantastic! I have two fussy eaters and even they were impressed.....and the risotto is the best we've ever had from any restaurant.....and we've been to the best! Well done Chapters!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

On the High Street overlooking the market square so central for everything.
Great base to explore surrounding beauty spots.
Friendly, courteous, informative staff.
Food and drink exceptional.

Room Tip: Go for room 1 if you can watch life in the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thornbirdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed on a Gourmet night £159 inc Exec room, 3 course dinner and breakfast with a bottle of very drinkable spakling wine in your room on arrival. The room was clean and comfortable and could probably do with a refurb, but adequate for a 1 nights stay. Dinner was good, with the Main and dessert being the best parts, not sure i would have been happy to pay £9 for prawns for starter, these were a bit geasy, but ok.
Parking could be a problem here during the week, ok for us as we were here on a Sat night, with no restrictions for parking on a sunday. Breakfast was good, although if i was been picky I would advise the hotel to serve better Orange Juice !.

Overall, I think that they offer good VFM ,as long as you go on the Gourmet deal, which once you tak the cost of the average dinner (£35 a head) and a bottle of decent sparkling wine out, you will work out that the room costs less than £80 for 2 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I attended a special Burns evening celebration at Chapters. We were greeted with a piper and a celebratory drink before joining a party of sixteen people to sample whisky, wine and food. From start to finish the service was excellent prompt, attentive and friendly without being in your face. The food as always was excellently and originally prepared. Infused with sophisticated, subtle and surprising flavour combinations gently probing some of established culinary boundaries. (Haggis tartlets - Superb) Chapters had arranged for a master somellier and a whiskey connoisseur to challenge each other to produce wines and whiskys to serve with the meal. The resulting light hearted competition was educational and enjoyable and complimented the food perfectly. There is nothing better than good food, good drink and good company for a perfect evening out. Chapters delivered once again and proved why they are annual award winners of the Hambleton Best restaurant competition. I will be a regular at their wine evenings from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Booked an executive room with evening meal and breakfast included, at a cost of £159.00. Room was ok but not to the standard that I have come to expect with executive rooms......No mats on bathroom floor made it very slippy when getting out of the shower. Shower was balanced on the rail, which fell off. Meal was nice, and the staff helpfull. We were in room 2 on the front of the hotel and were woken at 5.30am by market traiders putting up the stalls. (fri am) There is only so many times they could drop poles but they still were making a noise when we went down for breakfast at 8.30am. We were also woken up at 7am by reception asking were we'd parked the car, somthing we had told the reception on arrival. At breakfast we asked for tea and coffee with our breakfast, we had finished eating before it arrived, full english but no toast was brought either.....Glad to get home and have some sleep......

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

It was my mother's 80th birthday on 3 January and a party of 18 family and friends went to the restaurant for lunch.
The quality of the food was very poor.
The starter of goats cheese tart was a combination of a burnt-but cold- pastry case, goats cheese that had been barely cooked, cold tomatoes, marinated in oil, but so hard they were inedible.
I had the main course of chicken and the sauce it was served with was tasteless. It was also served with a single sprout, inside which contained something that had been finely diced - I am not sure what is was but I am sure that it was cold. Finally, the potatoes and vegetables were awful!
My wife had the sea-bass-again cold and very disappointing.
The service was poor and there was an endless delay between the serving of the first main course to one of our party and the last.
Dessert was a chocolate pot. It had a fancy description which made it sound as if it was going to be good.The reality was that it was bland. It could, and should, have been so much better. It was of the same standard as the first two courses I endured.
Chapters should be ashamed and embarassed by the quality of the food served to our party.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank ade072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
230 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,536 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
318 reviews
15 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
494 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing