We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vai”
Review of Vai Beach

Vai Beach
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Vai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vai”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were there in May and the beach was not crowded wich was good. The beach is beautiful but we didn't really enjoy swimming there since it wasn't sand on the bottom of the sea.
There is a restaurant but the menu was a bit "so so". We had lunch at the beach bar instead.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizaSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    338
    154
    43
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“They way to Vai is the best attraction”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Basically we expected a tourist attraction and got it .... it was nice, but too much touristic. On the other hand, the way there was terreific. You will see a lot of the Cretian island, drive through very nice places and be able to make a lot of pictures. So ... the way is the finish .... here it is exactly like this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank starySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist Hotspot Vai - Perfect Bay Ahead”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to Vai after seeing other beaches like Elafonissi and Triopetra and were a bit disappointed. The beach is long, but full of sun beds, water sports and snack bars. Also you have to pay for the parking lot and you have no possibility to avoid this.

As we like it a bit more private we looked for another bay right a short walk away.

If you take the path to the look out on the right side of the beach and walk over to the next bay you can find more peace, less people, but also crystal clear water. (Okay you will have no palm trees)

Vai gets 3 stars, the bay next to Vai 5!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outrageously touristy”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Would have been a fantastic location if it weren't so horrendously over-exploited. The palms were beautiful and I'm sure the beach was beautiful too, except we couldn't see it because it was littered with tacky sunbeds and boardwalks and overpriced tavernas. A classic example of "paving paradise". We enjoyed the day but it was nevertheless disappointing. Be prepared to pay for parking, pay to use the bathroom, pay for a shower... seriously, get adventurous -- there are millions of incredible, hidden beaches on Crete!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A little out of the way but stunning once you're there. We went in quiet season and there was hardly anyone around. Crystal clear waters! If you're anywhere nearby it's well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vai Beach also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Ierapetra, Lasithi Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Vai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing