We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Niagara wine tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crush On Niagara Wine Tours

Crush On Niagara Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Beamsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crush on Niagara Inc. is the leading Wine Tour Company in Niagara. We are the only tour company in Niagara that owns its own vineyard, has an exclusive fleet of Land Rovers and exclusive winery experiences created by us. We are a company built on a passion for wine and a wine country lifestyle. Our touring agendas reflect our growth in the wine tourism industry here in Niagara and also the passion and knowledge of our valued guests that we facilitate tours for. We offer many exclusive opportunities, such as meeting with a wine maker, blending your own bottle of wine, private vineyard visits with winery owners, private lunches at wineries etc. These have evolved over many years, many friendships and many glasses of wine with our winery partners and our friends. We are proud to have pioneered wine tours in Niagara the area over 13 years ago when none existed and we lead the way in fresh, innovative and educational wine tours. All reviews here are genuine. We look forward to showing you the best of Niagara's winelands.
Overton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Niagara wine tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My daughter had already been on one of their tours with her husband and was keen to repeat the experience and enjoy it again with me. Richard our guide was both entertaining and informative and went the extra mile for us. Would love to repeat the experience in a different season although to see the Falls frozen was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and purchased a wonderful selection of wines.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jensterwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, General Manager at Crush On Niagara Wine Tours, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We run wine tours 7 days a week , year round. Winter certainly is a stunning time to visit wine country, as is spring , summer and fall.

See you again. We would love to welcome you back anytime!

Cheers and keep drinking Ontario wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    13
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Tour Niagara Wine Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our second tour and it was wonderful. Because we'd already done a tour in the fall, we were encouraged to see different wineries, on the bench- even "on the bench" was explained. Both our guides were great, both times- Very informative without droning on.
Bill was especially interesting and when he learned we were "foodies" he made sure we got copies of the locally done "Food and Drink" magazine.
He could not have done more to make the day more fun & interesting.
These tours are a great value and a wonderful way to try an assortment of wines and see many of the vineyards and at the smaller ones, meet the owners and hear their amazing story.
If wine isn't your thing, you can visit a distillery- or micro breweries, to sample their offerings- all in the safety and comfort of a variety of vans provided by Crush on Niagara. Just a great business the exact right approach. So glad to have found them!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, General Manager at Crush On Niagara Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you kindly Jeanne for the wonderful review.

I am pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed the distillery visit on the Niagara Bench, 20 Valley area.

Bill too is one of our most valued tour guides, and he had fun on that tour also!

Cheers! We will see you in wine country again soon.

Keep drinking Ontario wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very informative adventure, and lots of fun, great wines were consumed that's for sure! Would recommend to family and friends anytime!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, General Manager at Crush On Niagara Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Nicky for the recommendation.

We always encourage locals to come and see what our stunning wine country has to offer ( and with a designated driver, natch)!

We look forward to seeing you on a wine tour again soon.

Keep drinking Ontario wines. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a tour through groupon and honestly it was the best valued item we have ever purchased. We stayed two nights at The Harvest Cottage, and did the half day wine tour. Bette Ann was very pleasant and helpful. We had originally been a bit disappointed to not be able to book a weekend, but in hindsight I would suggest going during the week! The wineries are not as busy and it seemed to make our getaway feel more like a vacation as we still had the weekend to tour around on our own.

The Harvest Cottage is quaint and is kept immaculate. The bed was very comfy, you have the option to be able to cook for yourself there or to go to many different restaurants in the area. Breakfast was lovely and we made new friends with the two other couples that were there with us.

Richard was our tour guide and he made the day memorable for all of us. He will be able to suggest many other wineries you can go to on your own. He was very personable and well-liked at all of our stops. He kept our purchases organized and offered much information on the area.

We booked a driver for the evening to take us for dinner. Andrew in the office was very accommodating in arranging that the driver would take all of us from the cottage to dinner. Len was our driver. He was also very personable. He provided us with safe transportation that allowed us to continue to taste the areas wines and beers with our dinner. The cost is well worth the peace-of-mind. We ate at the Autumn Restaurant and would certainly suggest you visit. We were able to enjoy their tapas menu. They serve locally grown food prepared as you order. The service was excellent as was the food.

Our getaway was a time we will treasure and remember with great happiness. This is a company that will have great success always when they show this level of hospitality coupled with such great venues and pairings with their staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, General Manager at Crush On Niagara Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you kindly for writing about our off season winter getaway special.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the entire experience from start to finish. Whether it is one of our daily wine tours, or an entire weekend of sniffing , swirling, and dining, or a custom group tour, we do our best to make sure your experience is memorable.

We look forward to seeing you in wine country again soon!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting experience, learned a lot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our Guide was a retired Geography Teacher and he made the experience incredibly interesting by providing a solid background to why the Niagara-on-the-Lake area is unique and how it impacts the Vineyards. For our group of 4, we choose the 1/2 day tour visiting 4 Wineries and a Cheese Maker.

The Crush Van was well marked, picked us up (and dropped us back) at our hotel, was easy to climb in and out of, and (best of all) was small enough to get into any Winery (other Tours use the large buses and that limits the Wineries they can visit). We were not rushed at any of the stops and allowed to explore until we were done (this I think, was unusual).

Our Guide was well liked by all the Hosts and that resulted in a more 'hands on' experience, rather than just a general lecture. Personally, by Wine Tasting #3, I was very glad that we had a sober, professional Driver; however if you drive yourself, spitting into the provided spittoons is greatly encouraged as it can result in the loss of your Drivers License (Ontario has strict Laws and low tolerances regarding drinking and driving).

Our Guide had also prepared empty wine boxes with our names on it, to store our purchases, reducing the 'who bought what' confusion at the end of the tour.

We Toured at the beginning of October, which in 2013 was harvesting time, or Fruit Fly time. At every stop, in the preliminary processing area (the big open barn where they press the grapes), there were clouds of Fruit Flies and nothing to be done about them. Our group quickly learned to cover our wine glass with our hand to keep the flies from sampling our choices.

The weather was cool and perfect for walking around the vineyards with the Hosts. Adding to the experience were the sounds of the percussion cannons and rifles used to scare birds away from the ripening grapes.

For us, the Crush Tour was faultless, extremely interesting and gave us a strong wine tasting base to build on. I would highly recommend them to anyone interesting in learning, or acquiring knowledge, but not to someone who just wants to drink.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanTexasUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, General Manager at Crush On Niagara Wine Tours, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for this kind review Jean!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the tour as well as your tour guide.

We strive to keep our group sizes small on our daily tours and avoid busses unless we have a private social or corporate group. This makes for a much more personable and "up close" experience and allows us to visit the smaller off the beaten track wineries.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers and keep drinking Ontario wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crush On Niagara Wine Tours also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Crush On Niagara Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing