We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage by the Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Beamsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Upon arrival, we were speechless by the breath taking views of groves and groves of peach orchards to our left and Lake Ontario to the right. We arrived earlier than our expected time, but was graciously greeted by Philip and Susie [who are amazing!].

The cottages were perfect--size [just enough for two], very clean, super cute and very thoughtful [our fridge was stocked and Philip even had gluten-free muffins, knowing that I was gluten intolerant. That was so wonderful!]

All four of us were thoroughly impressed with Philip and Susie's hospitality and generosity. They both made us feel as though their home was ours. It was so peaceful -- the kind of relaxation we all needed. Both nights, we all enjoyed watching the sunset with our wine overlooking the lake -- which was simply breathtaking.

Cottage by the Lake is centrally located between all the vineyards and wineries, which gave us easy access to enjoy the area. I can't say enough things about our experiences, and can't wait to come back!

Thanks Philip and Susie!!

Room Tip: There are two cottages, one of which is larger [the one we stayed in] and has a wood burning fire pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yokimkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staying there was fine with nice views of the lake but the owner was very unfriendly and unwelcoming. Very unfortunate. The cottages are a bit old but kept neat and tidy. Breakfast is in the fridge as "make your own". Nice fresh bread and loafs. Watch your step going down to the lake, the stairs and dock are very rickety. Again, unfortunate about the attitude of the owner...would have been a nice experience. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A perfect view, fantastic hosts and a breakfast fit for a king! We travelled with two young children to visit Niagara Falls. We were able to relax whilst the children played safely in the grounds, messing with Philip and Sue's dogs and picked fresh raspberries. Beautiful views and a restful couple of days. Our 7 year old daughter cried as we drove away! Thank you Philip and Sue.

Room Tip: The large cottage suited us - two adults and two children under 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squirefamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay while visiting the twenty valley. Phillip and Suzie our hosts were the best. We were provided great choices for breakfast in a stocked fridge, the cottage was like stepping back in time, light airy and wonderfully clean.

we were made to feel like old friends, the view cannot be beat, very pet friendly and close to everything you might want to see on your trip the the winery's

Thanks for a wonderful time, we will be back again.......
Mike and Cindy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbatthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved staying here. The hosts Phillip and Sue are very nice. They have two great dogs and run a spotless b&b. Warm friendly place to stay. The views are spectacular. Nothing but fond memories Thank you
Dave and Tracey

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I loved my lit'le private cottage right on the waters edge!!! The hosts, Philip & Sue were very warm & inviting, the cottage spotlessly clean & cozy, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything I needed (including fresh baking...I am gluten intolerant and they made special provisions to accommodate my needs), I had my own private grill and picnic table, and my dog loved running and playing in the adjoining orchard. I loved my experience and would recommend it to all my friends! This is a place you will never want to leave...just curl up with a good book, take in all the sounds, smells, sights and get lost in the moment!

Room Tip: Both cottages are beautiful-one has a wood burning stove but is only open during the warm seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueAndrews123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a wonderful night in the small cottage while attending the 20 Valley Winter WineFest. The accommodation was excellent, comfortable bed, spotless room, incredible view looking out to Lake Ontario and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottage by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage by the Lake

Address: 5463 Blezard Dr, Beamsville, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Beamsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beamsville
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are only 2 private cottages on the property. Each cottage is as close to the water as possible without getting wet. The cottages are meitucously clean. White sheets,white duvet ensure that everything is freah and clean ! When you arrive...freah baking is on your kitchen counter. The fridge is freshly stocked for you to make a breakfast for a king or just a muffin or toast.There are Adironack chairs at your cottage to enjoy a coffee or adult beverage and your own barbeque as you watch the sun set over the Toronto skyline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Cottage by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage By The Lake Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing