We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Drakes Farm House

Drakes Farm House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ide
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drakes Farm House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ide B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect b&b”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have to say the only reason I chose to stay here was because it was the first place I found on google, but after staying here two nights for a shooting trip I've got to say its the best b&b I've ever stated in, and far better than a lot of hotels!


Room was huge and well appointed, good bathroom, free wifi and a lovely breakfast, plus the friendliest welcome I've had in a long while. I'll be coming back next year!

If you're looking for a place to stay near Exeter forget the premier inn or other cheap hotels, you'll pay less, and get far far more, at Drakes Farm

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We first stayed at Drakes Farm House 9 years ago as a one-night stopover on the way to Cornwall. It was so nice, cosy, clean and comfortable, the following year we stayed for a week. We have spent a week there every year and even extra breaks in-between. We have just spent two weeks at Drakes Farm and went to Cornwall for days out ! It is an ideal location for exploring south west England in all directions ... Devon, Cornwall, Dorset and Somerset. All major attractions are within easy reach. Set your alarm, drag yourself out of that comfortable bed ... easy when you know you are in for an excellent breakfast, freshly cooked ... and you are set-up for the day. If you can't tear yourself away from the computer even on holiday, wi-fi is available but if you just like talking to human beings the proprietors Nova and Michael (Fred and Mick) are your favourite Grandparents/Husband & Wife/Congenial Hosts all rolled-up into one. We are very fussy about where stay. At Drakes Farm House there is no fuss at all. If you want 5 star, clinical, boring accomodation with grumpy staff and factory-made scrambled egg Drakes Farm House is not for you. If you want a home from home there is nowhere better !

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great house. comfy beds .good food .nice people what else do you need

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richjsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I cannot speak highly enough of Drake's Farm House in Ide. Nova and Mick were spectacular, the family room we stayed in was super spacious with three beds in the room (one for two and two singles), the ensuite bathroom was perfect, the breakfast was wonderful, and there was ample off street parking we could even glimpse from our room.

Large tv, fast wifi, hair dryer, amenities, and more.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat if I were anywhere near Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall united kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Nova & Michael were great hosts and welcomed us to their lovely home. We were only there for one night but thoroughly enjoyed it - the rooms had everything you could ask for and were spotlessly clean if though dated. Lovely breakfast lots of variety and Nova recommended the local pub for evening meal think it was called the poachers? it was fab up at the top of the village. Would definately recommend this B&B and they even stored our bikes for us. Hope to see you again soon x PS Wonderful garden & grounds

Room Tip: They were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermaid68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We very delighted with our one night's bed and breakfast, just what we wanted as we were visiting our son at Exeter University.
The room was large, very clean and had all that you would expect. The owners were friendly and very accommodating.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Drakes Farm House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Ravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Don't be put off by the old fashioned decor - this is a lovely place to stay. We had a large and very clean room with ensuite with power shower. Everything you need for a comfortable stay with added extras like a torch, tissues, shower cap etc. The owners were so welcoming and friendly. Cooked breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious with lots of choice of cereal, toast and spreads. Would definately recommend and will no doubt be staying there again when back in Devon.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ide
2.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
958 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
206 reviews
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Andrews
St. Andrews
#14 of 74 in Exeter
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Farm House

Property: Drakes Farm House
Address: Fore Street | Nova Easterbrook, Ide, Ide, Exeter EX2 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Ide
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ide
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing