We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Falls Health Farm and Spa
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxation Done Well

Spent 3 days and 2 nights at this health spa recently. Needed a place away from it all where we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Y1058QQkevinh
via mobile
Birthday Spa weekend

Myself and my mum have been to Cedar Falls several times. It is slightly dated but it's also... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2018
mandyfranklin
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
23
21
7
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
21
7
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room spa area dry towels sauna steam room spa reception enjoyable stay main gripe special offer dry float long driveway michelin star aqua jet facial classes travelzoo spas slippers
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 65 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017

Returned to Cedar Falls on a solo trip to unwind and recharge. CF definitely allows you to do that and whilst some areas are still on the list for refurbishment and look a little dated, it is one of my favourite places as it is adults only, good food and has plenty of relaxation beds. Classes are good and professional and the daily walk is a definite must to learn more about the interesting village and it's history whilst getting some good exercise. Clothing, handbags and jewellery in the onsite shop give you the opportunity to buy things that are not on every high street. Stayed for 2 nights this time and would definitely recommend the extra night.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank filer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Cedar falls is housed in an old country house and the settling is lovely. But as a spa the place is sadly lacking. 2 of the 3 courses at lunch were good but desert of ice cream or sorbet was frankly lazy. I also would have liked a glass of wine but wasn't offered one. It wasn't even on the menu. The ladies at the next table ordered them but apparently you have to be in the know.
Classes were limited and they were not to music which is bizarre.
Changing rooms are fine but the showers needed a clean.
Management appear to be trying to make every extra penny they can. I don't expect to have to pay for every drink. Also charging £1.50 for slippers when you have paid £89 for access is cheeky.
I would also expect decent shampoo, shower gel etc not cheap generic soap. Most spas offer moisturiser and combs etc for use if you gave forgotten yours but not here.
Overall fine but I wouldn't go again

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank WanderingPomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

My mum and I went to Cedar falls for a spa day and loved it. All the treatments were excellent apart from the aqua jet which I probably wouldn't recommend. We really enjoyed going in the outdoor pool. Excellent food!

Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Lovely house, lovely staff in all of the areas. Absolutely spotlessly clean everywhere. This was our third visit and we used Travelzoo - bit too pricey otherwise for what you get.
They have upgraded the changing rooms very stylishly and the pool area is fresh looking as is the spa area. No change in reception, bar and other reception rooms but it's all in keeping with the age of the property and is very comfy. Single rooms rather small - as a single traveller I am used to double rooms for single occupancy these days.
An area for improvement is for the management to up their game in the training of the dining room staff. The youngsters were all completely charming but had no idea about the basics.
Starters were brought out incomplete and when this was brought to the attention of the staff, it was apparently 'no problem' ! Two meals brought out and we had to wait for the third whilst the two dishes cooled in front of us. No napkins at breakfast and we were questioned about this. We all ordered poached eggs on toast to make it easy for the staff and the eggs varied from hard to very watery. The advertised accompanying tomatoes arrived after we had finished the eggs on toast.
The lunch was very good and we all enjoyed the choices on offer.
I agree with another reviewer about the trays of drinks left around for hours - 5 hours actually and maybe longer - we had to leave so I couldn't say when they were collected.
It's not the staff's fault and it's not fair on them - it is always the management.
Having said all the above, we did enjoy our stay and it was the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness and quality of the facilities that made our stay a positive one.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank amapBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night with family.

We booked a twin and double but opted for the superior rooms. It looked as if they had been upgraded recently as the decor etc was fresh and soft furnishings, new.

The rooms were rather cramped but we were glad we were in the updated rooms. The hotel was comfortable but looked as if it was in need of renovation. It appears that the owners are in the process of doing so.

We did not have any treatments in the spa but used the swimming pool. Again apart from a lovely conservatory which housed rows of sun loungers, the pool area looked rather 'jaded'.

The evening meal was enjoyable. The head waiter was really helpful and the service was excellent.

Lots of board games available in the Drawing Room.

To summarise, this was an excellent base to see Dunster and it's fabulous castle, and it's just around the corner from The railway station where you can catch the Steam Train from Bishops Lydeard to Minehead.

Helpful and efficient reception/front desk.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank LilyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews