We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Barn Conversion!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Barn Conversion!”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

As a group of 12 we hired all three parts of this barn conversion. All rooms were a great size and if they did not have an on-suite they had a good size bathroom in the next room. The living space and both kitchens had everything we needed the log burner and under floor heating made sure we were never cold even in the middle of winter. Would 100% rent again as a large group. It is perfect for big groups and families and is dog friendly.

The only negative is that there were minimal cleaning supplies in the cupboards, no dust pan and brush either which proved quite difficult when trying to clean up.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2018
Thanks Adam for the great review and we will take note of the feedback!
Best wishes
Shanti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful barns in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 4 days here just before Christmas. Despite being winter the barns were very warm and we had wonderful views of the sunrise and sunset from the Hay Barn.
Within 30 minutes walk (uphill!) there are stunning 360 views from the top of the Quantock Hills and we didn't see a single person whilst up there. There are also plenty of great viewpoints you can drive to if you don't want to walk.

The photos of the barns don't do them justice - they're very modern and have everything you could possibly need - we cooked a full Christmas dinner one day!

The owners Shanti and Malcolm were very hospitable and will give you as much or as little information as you need. I'm definitely planning to go back and book out all 3 barns with friends next time as it's the perfect place for a big group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2018
Thanks for the review Ashley and very happy to hear you are planning on coming back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rar57327
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend in this peaceful retreat ”
Reviewed December 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had the most wonderful relaxing weekend in the Hay Barn. The location is amazing with the most stunning views. The barns are newly converted to a very high standard, the beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms are immaculate. The living room is upstairs where you can take in the scenery in the comfort of the heat from the gorgeous wood burner. There are plenty of walks within very easy reach and we had Sunday lunch in the local pub, which is less than a minutes walk and I would recommend the food there too.
Thanks to Shanti for her hospitality and we look forward to returning to this great place for a totally chill out weekend sometime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2017
Thanks so much, looking forward to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail J
1 review
“Perfect pet-friendly barn conversion”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Excellent location for a relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings with stunning views. Our hosts were very welcoming providing essentials for arrival, plenty of logs for the log burner and anything else we required.Plenty of places on your doorstep to explore on foot or horseback and dog walks. The barn conversion has been done to an excellent standard, is very comfortable and user friendly.The local pub is literally a few steps away, is very welcoming to humans and dogs, has a varied menu with a great choice of food and drinks.
We will definitely be back for another stay and will bring horse as well to stay in the on-site stables

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2017
thanks so much Gail, see you back soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat w
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely converted barns in the Quantock hills.”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We hired the whole property for our grown up family and some friends. It was well equipped, had lovely views and we were able to walk straight from the property into the Quantock hills. The beech trees up on the ridge looked good in their autumn colours. On other days hunt we hunted for fossils on the beach at Kilve and wandered round the little harbour at Watchet. The property also had a nice big table for playing games- important for our family!
Shanti was very helpful making sure we settled in and telling us about walks, and advising us to book ahead for a meal at the Blue Ball Inn. We did and it was an excellent meal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Thanks so much Pat and thanks for emailing the treasure hunt quiz!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture71...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Shanti, the owner was very friendly and helpful in making sure that we were happily settled in and in directing us to walks on to the beautiful Quantock hills including a lovely one immediately opposite the barns. Wonderful views and very well appointed accommodation.
The Blue Ball pub just opposite was perfect for a lunch meet up and coffees thereafter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Shanti and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
You are very very welcome! best wishes, Shanti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah T
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay in a wonderful location spectacular accommodation”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

There were four of us with two horses and a dog and we stayed in the Hay Barn, from the minute we arrived the owners made sure that the horses were settled as well as us, gave us some tips of where to ride out for a short hack to get the feel of the place.
Shanti even found the time on the second day to ride out with us and showed us places to ride for the rest of our stay.
The accommodation is so comfortable with all facilities that made it a perfect place to stay, I would give it 5 stars. nearby places to eat and sights to see the location is amazing.
We will be back thanks for a wonderful stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
thanks so much Sarah xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing