We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B - you must stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmorfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
2 reviews
“Amazing B&B - you must stay here!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2011. Alison the owner is extremely friendly and helpful and pays so much attention to all the small details, making this the best B&B we have ever stayed in.
The room was lovely, very comfortable and well supplied with tea and coffee, shortbread, magazines, cotton wool etc. There was a tv and plenty of wardrobe/drawer space.
Breakfast was amazing - hot choices, toast, yoghurts, fruit, cereal, cereal bars, muffins, the list goes on! The breakfast room has beautiful view over valley.
There are a couple of places to eat nearby - the Square was amazing - possibly one of the best puddings i ever had - definitely recommend for dinner!
Great base for visiting the area - so many places with in easy reach - harlech Castle, barmouth and all the great beaches in between, Portmeirion, Llanberis.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
96
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Just stayed one night while touring through Wales. It is so very lovely. It is in a rural setting about 3-4 minutes from Tremadog, or about 8-10 minutes north of Porthmadog. Alison couldn't be nicer. The view from our window was beautiful , the breakfast to die for, and the flowers in her yard and around the house just so very pretty. The bed was very comfortable. We went back into Tremdog to the Union Inn for a nice pub dinner. Even though it is a rural setting, it is very close to use as a base for alot of different activities and sites. It got an A+ from us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwitte1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Using recommendations from Trip Advisor, we booked into Bwlch y Fedwen for two nights and only wished we could have stayed longer. It was a delight from the first moment of arrival. Alison is a warm and friendly hostess, with guests' comfort uppermost. Our room was comfortable with a spectacular view of the glorious mountains. Fluffy towels and plenty of hot water augmented our very favourable impression. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, with fresh flowers on the tables adding a pleasant touch . This b&b deserves five stars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonitonWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in this excellent B&B. The owners have put such a lot of thought into their business. Service was absolutely excellent. There is a welcoming feel to the place. The facilities are, in my opinion, equivalent to some of the best hotels in which we have stayed. The breakfasts are outstanding with a huge variety of food, and drink available each day - cereals, fresh fruit, juices, muffins, croissants, and the cooked breakfast was superb as they only use organic and free range ingredients. The Glaslyn room was extremely comfortable with tea, coffee, milk, chocolates, and biscuits (not packets) provided daily. The room has it's own entrance / exit as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

From the first telephone call enquiring about vacancies Alison was warm and welcoming. She wrote and confirmed our booking. Very businesslike and helpful. We arrived to find that all reviews were accurate. The house and garden were delightful. The room was lovely with a view of the mountain. In the bedroom the little touches were impressive. Useful toiletries - a bar of chocolate - and a jar of biscuits with a note encouraging us to eat them and not be shy and a huge selection of teas. My husband is vegetarian and was happy with cornflakes but Alison thoughtfully prepared a veggie breakfast for him. We stayed in a castle after this but the whole experience, including the very generous choices at breakfast, were more impressive. All of this for £70 for 3 of us. Anyone booking into Bwlch Y Fedwen B & B will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianebg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2010

What a find ! Such a great welcome ....very comfortable accommodation and superb breakfast ! We hope to return one day .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joangportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I was looking for peace and quiet and I found it.
The "Bwlch y Fedwen B&B" lies in Penmorfa near Porthmadog and the house is a Grade II listed house built of stone. The atmosphere was very relaxing and friendly. My room was spacious and done in bright colours with a nice view to the mountain Moel-y-Gest and the mattress of very good quality.
Alison is a great hostess and takes very good care of her guests. As I do not drive a car, she even gave me a lift to Porthmadog and showed me how to walk from Borth-y-Gest to Porthmadog. And you should see her breakfasts! I would love to give her a golden breakfast award. She gives you a big choice of ... just about anything you might fancy. On her breakfast buffet you could also find a great choice of fresh fruit which I appreciated very much.
Before I booked the room, I had some questions and the communication by mail was outstandingly sympathetic. Can you judge a B&B by the communication at the time of booking? Might well be.
If I ever need again to get away from it all, I would love to stay at the Bwlch y Fedwen. It's a hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaLittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmorfa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bryncir Terrace, Penmorfa LL49 9RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penmorfa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmorfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bwlch y Fedwen is a Grade II listed coaching house built around 1660. We provide a first class friendly service in accommodation that we feel will meet and exceed all your expectations. Relax and enjoy a fantastic breakfast whilst overlooking Porthmadog hills. Located near to Portmeirion, Ffestiniog Railway and Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing