We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B & B I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmorfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A big thank you to Alison for a lovely three day stay at Bwlch y Fedwen.
It's the best B&B we've ever stayed in. We stayed in the Glaslyn bedroom and it was very clean and nicely decorated. Our friend stayed in the Pennant room which was also nicely decorated.
Had a lovely welcome from Alison and nothing is too much trouble for her. Some cakes were waiting for us on arrival, as well as a bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate. Refreshments in the room for us were shortbread biscuits, tea, coffee, hot choc, a mini fridge with a carton of milk. There were dressing gowns and slippers for our use, and a hairdryer. The bathroom had a nice big bath and shower and lots of extras like a small pack of tissues, mini soaps, face cloths, a comb, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, and even a small sewing kit.
The breakfasts were delicious - we were really spoilt for choice. There were a choice of cereals and fruit juice, yoghurts, fresh fruit, muffins and a huge cooked breakfast with toast and jam and marmalade. Set us up for the day and we didn't need anything else to eat till late afternoon. Will defintely recommend this to my friends to stay, and if we are ever in the area again, we'll be back. Oh, just remembered that Alison writes the weather forecast for the day on a blackboard in the breakfast room, which was really helpful to us.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Glasyn room and had a lovely view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am afraid I have been spoiled and other B & Bs will be unable to live up to Alison and the Bwlch y Fedwen. I stayed 3 nights in the Pennant room with my friends across the hall in Glaslyn. Breakfast not only tasty but well presented. Everything you could want provided in the bathroom. The bedroom even contained a tiny refrig for milk for tea. Also a tray well stocked with teas, coffees, hot choc., shortbread, choc, water, etc. I don't get to the UK often, but I will be back to the Bwlch y Fedwen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hospitality, food, accommodation and service were excellent. A very good choice of breakfast was provided. Coffee, tea, biscuits, and home-made scones were provided on arrival and the ensuite was very clean.The room contained a small fridge which was useful. Beautiful scenery and easy car parking made our stay very enjoyable and stress-free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Bwlch y Fedwen is a guest house that sets the standards high! Our room, plainly decorated and furnished, was spacious, bright, warm and comfortable with loads of storage and chairs to relax in. Alison has thought of just about everything a traveller could want and more! Guests have their own private entrance and secure cycle storage was provided. In the room there was a welcome tray with an assortment of beverages including a selection of teas. There was cake and shortbread, chocolate, fresh milk in the mini-fridge and a small bottle of wine. Bath robes were supplied, and there was a good make up mirror and hairdryer. Alison checked that we were warm enough, as the weather was pretty chilly.

The breakfast was simply outstanding. The wonderfully fresh buffet includes offerings of various juices, fresh fruits and yogurts, cereals and pastries. The cooked breakfast was amazing, including my vegetarian option, featuring organic local produce, cooked perfectly and served beautifully. On our five day cycling tour of North Wales, which included hotel stays, nothing came close to the standard of breakfast at the Bwlch y Fedwen.

Alison has created a very special establishment that we recommend very highly. She offers a warm welcome, and it was interesting to hear the history of both the house and the area. A shame we were there for just one night!

Room Tip: We stayed in Glaslyn, which was double aspect so lovely and bright and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This B&B is quite special. Having booked 4 nights for a family wedding we were treated to incredible hospitality and the breakfasts far beat any 5 star hotel anywhere in the world we have stayed. Alison the owner is so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room Moel y Gest was beautiful and every little detail had been thought of including the wonderful homemade coconut shortbready biscuit - absolutely devine !!! We would highly recommend Bwlch Y Fedwen if you are staying in the Snowdonia area. Definitely will return it was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I cannot praise this b&b enough. Bwlch-y-fedwen is top notch accommodation with such superior warmth and hospitality that it more than deserves its excellent reviews and recommendations. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Alison was the perfect hostess. We stayed in the Glaslyn room which was beautiful, and Alison went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect by adding extra touches such as miniature bottles of wine (replenished daily!), delicious shortbreads, chocolate, a selection of teas, filter coffee - to name but a few! Breakfast was second to none (The best we've ever eaten!), the menu choice was varied and plentiful & the homemade preserves were delicious. Our hostess couldn't have been lovelier, always making sure we had everything we needed and even recommending the best places to eat out at. Alison's immeasurable kindness and friendliness make this b&b an extra special place to stay, but don't take my word for it, go and see for yourself. I guarantee, you won't be disappointed. Sheer perfection!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihj1968, Owner at Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you both for your lovely words. It was a genuine pleasure having you stay with us last week and I am so glad you enjoyed yourself and were able to relax and re-charge. I hope we will be able to look after you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a perfect place to stay for a short break. We spent four nights in Moel y Gest, a beautiful room with glorious views, and would have gladly stayed longer. Alison has created a peaceful haven and has thought of absolutely everything; a mini bottle of wine and mint humbugs, a delicious bar of chocolate and butter shortbreads. And along with the usual teas and coffees, she also provided a wide selection of speciality teas. She had recommendations for places to eat and was even happy to lay out places in the breakfast room for us to bring back a takeaway to eat. Breakfasts were exquisite, with a vast selection of fresh fruit along with all the usual goodies and delicious homemade preserves. The locally sourced full Welsh breakfasts were cooked to perfection. I couldn't possibly list all the little touches by Alison which made this so special, but suffice it to say that we have every intention of returning, hopefully when the weather is a little brighter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bryncir Terrace, Penmorfa LL49 9RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penmorfa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmorfa
Price Range: $87 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bwlch y Fedwen is a Grade II listed coaching house built around 1660. We provide a first class friendly service in accommodation that we feel will meet and exceed all your expectations. Relax and enjoy a fantastic breakfast whilst overlooking Porthmadog hills. Located near to Portmeirion, Ffestiniog Railway and Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing