We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Wyebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's not easy to find a place that is suitable to host a silent retreat for a large group but Sugar Ridge was perfect for this! We had an amazing retreat and the lodge owner and her staff are such LOVELY people! Beautiful land, great food, really clean bathrooms, great experience and my bed was so comfortable! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I really liked cabin 7. :-) For anyone who's not too keen on nature and bugs, you may not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFrost, Owner at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind words!

i absolutely love hosting silent retreats. There is something magical that happens when everyone works together, lives together, without the distraction of speech. Often we connect deeper in silence than if we speak. The centre was designed with meditation in mind so it is intentionally simple yet comfy. Glad you enjoyed it

Peace to you,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
21
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waterloo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to go to sugar ridge for 2 nights in July and August. One trip was with my daughter and the other with some girlfriends. The resort is a small facility, that caters to wellness. It is quiet and serene.
When you enter the main building you are required to take off your shoes. On the left is the yoga studio. Then directly ahead is a lounge area with comfy couches, a coffee table, and chairs. They have books, magazines, and some games. Then is the seating area for meals that consists of two long wooden tables. The entire space has windows overlooking the wildflower gardens. To the right are the washrooms. They have 2 showers with hooks and cubbies for your toiletries. There is also a room that can be used for reading or medication.
The cabins are located around the main building in a ring. Each cabin has 4 beds with a fan, lots of windows, alarm clock, extra blankets and a dresser.
I really enjoyed the classes that were offered. The instructors were awesome.
As most reviews have stated the food is really good. Very nutritious and delicious.
The owner is a lovely lady, with a kind soul.
Ps I loved the dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFrost, Owner at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words - always appreciated! I'm so glad you've enjoyed your visits here. The instructors are awesome - I'm always wishing I had time to get into their classes myself.

Glad you liked my boys (the dogs). They are wonderful hosts themselves.

Much love,, Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was my first stay at Sugar Ridge, but it definitely won't be the last. Everyone was hospitable, the food was amazing, and the amenities were clean and comfortable. Down to the smallest details, they've done everything right here. The room for practicing yoga was designed perfectly, and I loved every moment I was there. It has a great community feel with a large common area and lots of natural lighting. The surroundings of the cabins and retreat centre put you at peace. I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole16b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFrost, Owner at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Well I look forward to hosting you when you can manage to get away again.

We did put a lot of thought into design details - thanks for noticing. We strive for comfort without clutter. Keeping everything simple allows that peacefulness to permeate and not be distracted.

i do love to cook but I often say it's the love in the food that makes it taste so good. Can't wait to feed you again!

Much love,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've been to Sugar Ridge three times now and I plan to go back at least once a year.

My favourite stuff about this place:
- delicious food, especially their pancakes!
- beautiful naturalized landscape full of wildflowers and native species of plants
- friendly dogs
- good yoga classes, especially the Rise n Shine yoga class
- beautiful yoga studio
- cabins are clean, comfortable, and quiet, surrounded only by the sound of crickets (in the summer)
- clean spacious washrooms
- attracts pleasant guests
- breathtaking stars
- Liz is very accommodating and helpful. My partner and I have special diets that she had no problem accommodating.
- beautiful trails connected to the Wye Marsh Conservation area - there are no maps but it is nearly impossible to get lost as all the trails run east-west and parallel to each other, looped together. Beautiful ferns, Sumac, and old apple trees along the way.
- located close to a delicious chip truck in Wyebridge if you need a dose of grease on your way out
- child-friendly - I have one older child who enjoyed exploring the grounds while I was in yoga

Accessibility:
- There have been changes in the past year to increase accessibility which I think slightly reduce the "Rustic"-ness of the experience compared to previous years, but in fact I think these changes make sense and make it easier for guests with mobility issues or who might be unused to such a natural setting. There are now toilets near every cabin so you don't have to go all the way back to the main house in the middle of the night. (But if you are like me and want to go to the main house in the middle of the night, nothing's stopping you!) There are also pretty solar-powered lights at the head of each trail that leads to the cabins, so you can easily find your way in the dark. Also, the grass and wildflowers have been mowed quite wide along each trail to improve accessibility, and I've noticed ramps at the cabin entrances (I'm pretty sure this is new). All positive changes.

An excellent place for a healthy and quiet get-away that is quite different from staying at a hotel or spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHWOHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFrost, Owner at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It's wonderful that you keep coming back and enjoy the space in different ways each time.

It's so refreshing to hear that you liked it without the portable toilets by cabins. They aren't a new fixture but were here to accommodate a very large group who were here for an extended time and had requested them. They simply weren't removed before your last stay. We weren't allowed to put toilets in the cabins when we built nor are we allowed to create outhouses so the portable toilets are brought in only when requested. I'm not crazy about the look of them myself - maybe I should cover them with cedar bows next time and make them blend in a bit more hmmm...

Thanks again for your thoughtful comments, you clearly understand what we're doing here.

Much love, Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

After searching and searching for a place to film a passion project, I felt like the luckiest man on earth to find something as surreal, unique, and beautiful as Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre.

We used the retreat over the course of a weekend and it was nothing but a positive experience in all ways possible. From facilities to the use of the land. The service was fantastic and the staff made us literally feel like home.

Anyone looking to 'get away' or to relax, will not be disappointed and I can only hope to visit Sugar Ridge sooner than later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFrost, Owner at Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind words! We host so many different groups and yours was certainly unique. I can't wait to see the film! It was fun hosting you and the crew. It's not everyday we have an elf princess walking the forest.

Looking forward to hosting the sequel!

Best of luck with the project, Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sugar ridge for a few days with the family late july. It is a very beautiful place with wonderful hosts. We truly appreciated the cute cabins and the time spent together. Definitely bring bug repellant of some kind so that you can enjoy the grounds surrounding the buildings more completely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorwho2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just got back from this retreat centre. A fabulous place to unwind. Set among the trees and forests of Wyebridge Ontario. The cabin was terrific. Well built. We had no complaints. No smell of formaldehyde anywhere. The food served in the main area is all vegetarian and very gourmet. Kurt and Liz have done a great job of this retreat centre and we will definately go there again. There are dogs on the property but they are not allowed in the cabins, just the main area. They are older dogs and very friendly. There are frogs, many different birds, fireflies etc. Thanks for a wonderful time
Julia/Fred

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyebridge
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
9.4 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 8 in Midland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
13.3 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre

Property: Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre
Address: 5720 Forget Rd | Tay Township, Midland, Wyebridge, Tiny, Ontario L0K 2E0, Canada (Formerly Sugar Ridge B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tiny > Wyebridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wyebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Ridge is located on 150 acres of rolling meadows and forest, only 90 minutes from Toronto. Accommodation is provided in private cabins which can have have up to 4 people in each. Nourish your body with yummy, organic, vegetarian meals. We're open 4 seasons. Wildlife abounds and trails crisscross the property for a great outdoor experience. Pets are welcome for some off leash fun. Enjoy a campfire while you're here or snuggle up with tea and a good book. Our studio on site has classes Monday to Friday with certified teachers offering Yoga, Zumba, meditation, Groove and more. Every weekend we have different retreats which you may be able to join. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Retreat Centre Ontario/Wyebridge, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing