We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waikanae
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just the ticket for a short stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was in Wellington for a conference and decided to add a day for visiting Kapiti. The Kapiti Gateway fit the bill for a clean and reasonably priced overnight stay. It's close to shops and the Southward Car Museum is only a few minutes drive down the road. It's an older building but well maintained and clean. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cl0udstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely friendly hosts and great place to stop on the way off the Ferry. Beds are lovely and comfortable and the view of the swimming pool from the room was very inviting. Only a walk away from the shops and train. Unit was clean and fresh and had everything we needed. Great that this was a Motel that had free wi-fi as not many do this.
Also a lovely warm Spa to relax in.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the Swimming Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pleasant accommodation in a quiet location - until our team arrived!
One of the rooms we had booked was out of service so we were given an extra room free of charge. The rooms appeared freshly refurbished and were very comfortable and clean - a credit to the staff.
The motel is close to local amenities and the hosts were very informative. Would recommend for team away days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Convenient location to shops and public transport (if required). Clean and tidy, room good size for what we required. Comfortable bed. Very welcoming and pleasant owners. Unit could do with a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us. Here at Kapiti Gateway Motel upgrading our accommodation is ongoing and what we spend a big part of our time on...and it brings us a huge amount of pleasure doing it. Upgrading of the unit, the subject of this review, will be done over the next few months...32" TV and new bedspreads are already in, new furnishings on order, painting and upgrading of the bathroom are next. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed because the motel advertised pet friendly and 1 hour from Interislander ferry. It worked very well. The units are clean and well supplied . I appreciated free wifi and my husband enjoyed the Sky TV. Handy for shops and restaurants. Our dog enjoyed walking on the nearby beach.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Conveniently positioned near Waikanae township shops and supermarkets etc. Inside the room is much better than the outside - clean and tidy with all sky channels and well presented bathroom/shower. Unfortunately the occasional goods train very noisy. Otherwise very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0paJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for one night recently and received a friendly welcome on arrival. The motel complex looked very dated on the outside but pleasingly the owners had been making efforts to make some improvements to the inside. Our unit looked dated in places as renovations were only partially done but the bed was very comfortable and the large tv screen meant we got to enjoy the Olympics in style. The most impressive thing was just how clean the unit was, simply couldn't fault it and the provision of a generous amount of tea and coffee and Eco friendly body wash and shampoo were a nice touch.

The one thing I must highlight though is the very close proximity of the hotel to the train line (literally just across the road). The noise and vibration of passing trains was fairly impressive but it turned out not to be a problem as they seem to stop running at some point in the evening and didn't resume until around 7 am at the time of our stay. The owners were kind enough to allocate us a room at the rear of the complex without being asked and we were thankful for that.

All in all a very nice stay. The owners are to be commended for their friendly customer service and excellent standard of cleanliness of our unit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the rear of the motel to minimize noise from traffic on the main road and of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRLNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are always delighted to know when guests have experienced a comfortable stay and enjoyed the service and facilities offered at our motel.
Kapiti Gateway Motel was built in the 1970s and as can be seen in the photos, has been renovated and repainted using a more modern colour scheme (last repaint early 2012). The solid concrete construction of motel buildings from this era actually enhance guest comfort - little or no noise between units and general spaciousness are two recurring comments we receive.
The complex does not face the main road but runs parallel to Martin Street which has little or no traffic at night. There are two units near the road end of the complex and guests who are senstive to road noise are not offered these rooms. Well established trees and shrubs provide an excellent sound barrier along the main road boundary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikanae
4.7 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariki Lodge Motel
Ariki Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
4.7 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapiti Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapiti Gateway Motel

Property: Kapiti Gateway Motel
Address: 114 Main Road | Waikanae, Waikanae, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Waikanae
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waikanae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kapiti Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kapiti Gateway Motel, Waikanae's only Qualmark 4-star quality assured accommodation. For corporates or couples, families or groups, your hosts Russell & Viv Willis, have thought of everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.Studio, executive and 2-bedroom units, clean and inviting, featuring comfortable beds and double-glazing for a great nights rest. 40+Sky TV channels, free wireless internet (conditions apply), heating controlled by you, electric blankets, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, 3 units with bath. Cot/highchair available. Consider having a delicious cooked or continental breakfast delivered to your unit.All our units enjoy a pleasant outlook and easy access to attractive garden area. You'll love our private spa pool, free for use by our guests, and in-ground swimming pool (solar heated Oct-March). Playground with trampoline and basketball area. Guest BBQ and laundry on site.Kapiti Gateway Motel is easy to find and a short walk from restaurants, cinema, art gallery and popular bush/river walks. Waikanae Railway Station is just a 2 minute walk so you can leave your car with us and take the train to Wellington city for a great day out, or to attend an event at Westpac Trust Stadium. Also close by is Waikanae Beach, Nga Manu Nature Reserve, Southwards Car Museum, Waikanae Golf Club, Otaki factory outlet shops. Ten minutes from Paraparaumu Airport, 45 minutes to Interislander Ferry - late arrivals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kapiti Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing