We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable-except for the beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“comfortable-except for the beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Our family of four stayed at the Starlight for the 4th of July week. I must say that the people who run the motel are wonderful and made us feel welcome. The maid service was great. They came when we told them to, and didn't bother us about cleaning the room when we were occupying it. The property is kept very clean. The management hoses and cleans up the public areas every night.
We really enjoyed the pool area while we were there. It was kept spotless and heated amply. This was very nice after returning from the beach. It was a bit cool at the beach that week, so it was nice to take a dip in the heated pool at the end of the day.
The only beef I have with the pool situation is this: People planted towels on chairs as early as 7am, and did not even show up at the pool till about 4 or 5pm.... I mean, REALLY! It's a small jersey shore motel. People come and go at the pool all day. There is really no need to block out chairs for the entire day. We never had a problem finding a chair when we needed it. I just found the "chair saving" to be very rude. We joked with our friends, who were also staying at the Starlight, how we should throw all thier towels on the ground as a joke. Of course we didn't. No need to start trouble on vacation:)
We stayed in a Large Luxury Suite. The room had two double beds with an accordian door to separate the living area(w/ pull-out couch) and full kitchen. The room was very clean. The bathroom only had a shower stall w/ no tub. It was very clean, however, with seperat hot/cold knobs in the shower, we had to be very careful. My husband almost scolded himself while trying to turn off the shower. Thank goodness it wasn't on of my kids. I then instructed them to be out of the shower before turning the water on and off.
It seems that the basic rooms have been remodeled, and looked very nice. I do hope they plan to remodel the suites sometime soon. Or at least put new beds in the rooms. Beacause I have to say they were terrible. And that's coming from some one who's bed at home is about 20 yrs old. Even my 17yr olds back hurt after a few nights.
Overall, it was a pleasant week at the Starlight and I would return if the beds are replaced. It is a very convenient area. 1 block from the beach and across the street from "Barnacle Bills" The best classic mini golf course on the island. Also a really cute arcade w/older video games like centipede, space invaders and lots of pinnball. And most of them actually only take a quater! The money here lasts quite a bit longer than at the boardwalk.

  • Liked — the management
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamarara65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetMom, Owner at Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2007
We are happy to inform you that by May 2008 our Suites will be completely renovated, remodeled and redecorated. By next summer you will have an even better vacation than this year. Also, thank you for bringing to our attention the towel situation. We will try to monitor as best as possible and will also post a sign around the pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
87
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

The Starlight was a great place to stay at the Jersey Shore. We went for the night and were very pleased. The room was very clean and the owner was great. The room was a perfect size. I read the reviews before booking and they were accurate. I will be returning!

  • Liked — Very clean room
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmla1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

The Starlight Motel in Ortley Beach offers motel rooms as well as spacious,clean apartments with kitchens that sleep 6 comfortably. A 1/2 block walk to one of the nicest beaches at the Jersey Shore, the Starlight is convenient to minature golf/arcades (great feature if you're travelling with kids) a heated pool (great place to work on your tan if you dont like the sand), fun nightlife (the famous Surf Club is 2 blocks away featuring live bands every day and night). The Starlight has always accomodated family vacationers and we've become close friends with other families that we met over the years of staying at the Starlight. The cordial owners take personal pride in keeping their establishment A-1, as evidenced by the amount of return vacationers every year. Our daughters pretty much "grew up" at the Starlight every summer. We can't say enough about the Ortley Beach/ Lavallette/Seaside Heights experience. Probably the nicest beaches on the east coast !

  • Liked — Freindly Professional Staff and Cleanliness of rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortley Beach
8.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
8.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
9.1 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Property: Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1963 Route 35 N, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751-1246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ortley Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight has been and continues to be the ideal spot for a perfect New Jersey Shore family vacation, reunion, or weekend retreat. We take great pride in our impeccable reputation for cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel & Luxury Hotel Ortley Beach
Starlight Motel And Luxury Suites
Starlight Hotel Apartments
Starlight Hotel Toms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing