We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Place to Stay at the Jersey Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay at the Jersey Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Starlight Motel is a clean well run motel at the Jersey Shore. It is located across from Barnacle Bills Arcade and Mini Golf. The heated pool is fabulous and my entire family loves visiting every summer. We can't wait for this summer!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
87
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Love the updated pool!
As always the property is spotless and provides great amenities for the whole family.
We took advantage of a quick weekend getaway.
Staff is always helpful, barrier island is really shaping up, and to feel the sand on our feet was exactly what we needed.
So glad to see the starlight up and running!
See you this summer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank all4travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Starlight each and every summer for the past 25 years. We usually stay for 8 nights. The place has motel rooms plus efficiencies/suites which sleeps six, if you count the sofa bed. After Hurricane Sandy, I was happy to see that the Starlight made a huge effort to remodel all the rooms on the first floor that had damage and to open up on time for the summer. The rest of the area was hit hard, but is making a comeback and shows progress each week.
The Starlight is one long block from the beach. It has Barnacle Bill's Arcade and Miniature Golf directly across the street. There are several restaurants and shops within walking distance. Of course, the boardwalk at Seaside Heights is only one mile away with all of its' shops and games. The Starlight has three grills, five tables and benches in the courtyard, and a heated pool (which is brand new after Sandy). The suites are equipped with a washer and dryer, a separate bedroom, a stove with pots and pans and plates and silverware, a couch, and a large refrigerator. The beds are done and the rooms are cleaned each day. The staff is always friendly. A big thanks to Michelle, Ron, Sheree and Joe for many years of happiness and many more to come. Terry Felrice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tffd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After Superstorm Sandy decimated the Jersey Shore, particular areas were slow to come back from the disaster; Ortley Beach was one of those places, though not for lack and love from business people and family's that did not want their beloved Jersey Shore memories and families that returned year after year to not have a place to return. Such was the drive of the owners of the Starlight. They set a vision in motion and worked tirelessly to achieve opening to the general public for summer. Our business was working on helping New Jersey come back to life and had the privilege to stay, first on the 2nd floor while the third and then first and motel side of this motel. The apartments on the side we stayed were comfy and very home-like. Thank you Charlene, Sheree and your husbands for accepting us into your family and making such a valiant fight for your community and leading by example!!! Awesome choice on your pool builder; he was an artisan!

Room Tip: Book early and well in advance. These rooms go fast for a very good reason! Families can get noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpremtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Starlight several times over the years for short getaways. This year I was so thankful the motel completed all renovations needed due to damage from Hurricane Sandy. With all the destruction still visable on the surrounding streets of Ortley, I was so happy to have a place to stay so I could enjoy one of my favorite beach towns.
The rooms are always clean and have the convenience of a small refrigerator and microwave. The suites are even more comfortable for longer visits. Best of all the staff is friendly and truly make you feel welcomed. So I hope you all get a chance to stay visit the Starlight and support the local economy in Ortley Beach NJ!!! You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Short walking distance to the beach and a great stay with the extended family. No worries about the kids walking for ice cream or to the other very close food venues. Clean and surprisingly quiet, we highly recommend this well run and affordable motel. Nice heated pool and plenty of outdoor seating space to gather in the evening, we definitely plan to return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was heading back to the jersey shore last weekend for the first time since Hurricane Sandy and after many years being away. I wasn't really sure what to expect. But we found a room at the Starlight and it was a great experience.

First of all, I want to say that the owners were really accommodating. They have a 2 night minimum stay on summer weekends, but they waived this for us since we would only be in town for one night. They let us check in early and check out a couple hours late.

The room was very simple, but it was clean and functional. Great minifridge, good air conditioning. Clean shower, comfortable bed. The pool was really nice, and my husband and I enjoyed the fact that there is a little patio to sit out at, since we have a one year old who goes to bed at 6:30 PM!


This is a great place to head for a few nights with your family. We were really iimpressed with everything the hotel owners have done to restore and improve their business following hurricane sandy. We would definitely come back and I would absolutely recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: probably worth it to get a suite or efficiency for extra space if you are traveling with little kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emscronce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortley Beach
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#24 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
8.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Property: Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1963 Route 35 N, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751-1246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ortley Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight has been and continues to be the ideal spot for a perfect New Jersey Shore family vacation, reunion, or weekend retreat. We take great pride in our impeccable reputation for cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel And Luxury Suites
Starlight Motel & Luxury Hotel Ortley Beach
Starlight Hotel Apartments
Starlight Hotel Toms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing