We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect local getaway!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect local getaway!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was the first time we have stayed at the starlight and is now our family tradition!!! We have been driving back and forth to the beach for many years, and a friend recommended the starlight. We decided to give it a try and fell in love!! The first thing I noticed was that when I called to book our reservation I spoke to a friendly person who was very knowledgable and helpful. I hate going through recorded prompts on the phone! Michelle helped me choose the best value for my budget and for the needs of my family of five. As Monmouth county residents we have never stayed locally, and ventured to Ortley Beach for fun! We had more than we could ever imagine!!! The room was immaculate and beautiful, the property extremely well maintained and clean, the location was awesome....so close to everything. Boardwalk, beach, extremely clean pool, great local restaurants. I do not miss driving back and forth to the beach at all, and neither does my husband:-) We have been long time New Jersey residents and never knew that a jewel was so close by. As we were leaving we felt like we were leaving family, and have already made our reservations for the next summer! Thank you Starlight!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank all4travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
87
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Great family place one block from the beautiful ocean. We have stayed here at least 3 times in past 6 years.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyandsnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Starlight is across the street from an arcade and the miniture golf. It is one block from the beach and you can walk to the boardwalk. They are close to CVS and the A & P. There are lots of little shops to pick up souveniors. If you have young teens and you get a room on the second floor you can sit on the balcony and watch the kids at the arcade. My parents have been bringing me and my sister and brother to the Starlight since we were little. I'm thrilled to say that we are now able to bring our kids and they range in age from 13 to 18 and we kept our family tradition going. The memories we have made are priceless. With great sadness we have lost my father and brother, but whenever we are at the Starlight we have all those amazing memories!! We love Michelle and Ron and of course Bill. We all look forward to our next vacation at the Starlight every year from the day before we check out. We always book the same room and week for the following year before we leave.

Room Tip: First floor for small kids and second for older
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgoood1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I love this place. i have gone there since I was about 2 years old with my family and now we are going down with my niece how is 2. They have such a warm and welcoming staff that makes your stay as wonderful and comfortable as can be. The rooms are beautiful and have everything you need for your stay and a beautiful pool for the children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammygurl2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have been going to the Starlight for the past 20 or so years, and always look forward to making our reservation for the summer, especially because this past winter was so harsh.
Our experience as a family has always been fun we enjoy the people and staff and the location is perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarlightSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My family began going to the Starlight over 35 years ago when I was a child and now our family carries on the tradition. The rooms are roomy and well kept. The staff is always pleasant and accommodating especially Ron who goes out of his way to satisfy guests. I can honestly say that vacationing in the Jersey shore wouldn't be the same without staying at the Starlight!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleneuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffside park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My family has been going here for many years and the children have developed some great friendships over the years due to the return of some great families year after year. If you want to start your own family tradition then the place to call "Home" for vacation is the Starlight!! There is also an arcade directly across the street so while you relax at the pool, the big kids can go to the arcade, and the beach is one block away. Hope you and your family enjoy it as much as our family does.

Room Tip: Get the large apartment for 4 or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortley Beach
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#23 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Toms River
Comfort Inn Toms River
#4 of 11 in Toms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Property: Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1963 Route 35 N, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751-1246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ortley Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight has been and continues to be the ideal spot for a perfect New Jersey Shore family vacation, reunion, or weekend retreat. We take great pride in our impeccable reputation for cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel And Luxury Suites
Starlight Motel & Luxury Hotel Ortley Beach
Starlight Hotel Apartments
Starlight Hotel Toms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing