We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place, but......”
other travelers have booked this property
House facing Lord Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House facing Lord Street
Culmer Cottage facing the sea A view of Tarpum Bay from the fish dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
House facing Lord Street
Culmer Cottage facing the sea
A view of Tarpum Bay from the fish dock
view from bedroom at Culmer Cottage
living room
living room, dining table, stairs, love seat
kitchen faces the sea
queen bedroom airconditioned
smaller  double bedroom
My caretaker, Kervin Culmer who can take you fishing!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tarpum Bay, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen R
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, but......”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Eleuthera has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth - mile after mile of stunning beaches - many to ourselves - and add snorkelling and diving opportunities to that and its rally rather wonderful. However......it is very quiet and sadly in many ways, forgotten.
Targum Bay is quite pretty and you get a sense there is a real community there - people were friendly and helpful but it's very limited in facilities and things to do. You definitely need a car and preferably a 4 x 4 to reach many of the other far more beautiful beaches - some are down very very rough tracks. Targum beach is pretty but you need to walk about 10 mins from the village centre to find the cleanest spot.

The cottage was lovely if a little tired - bathrooms and kitchen could do with updating as could the crockery and utensils... and to have aircon in only 1 bedroom when its still 28 celsius at night isn't really adequate. There are fans in the rooms which helped and Im sure its fine in cooler months.
That said it was still a nice place to stay and use as a base to see such beautiful island. We went from top to bottom and loved it. Particularly Lighthouse Beach, Harbour Island, Cape Eleuthera and the amazing school and institute there, Tippy's, French Leave Beach, Half Sound Beach, Winding Bay and the Sky Beach Club with its great restaurant and swim up bar.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the helpful owner
Liked least: Outdated bathrooms and kitchens and no zircon in second bedroom.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
I am happy that you loved Eleuthera. It is, as we say, not for everyone. I am surprised that you felt the house was tired as all the furniture is new, and the concrete kitchen counters, infused with shells and sea glass, are also new. So glad you were able to visit Eleuthera from top to bottom. There is lots to explore. It's a quiet island, a place to reflect and call your own. Come back and visit during the cooler months!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Germany
1 review
“Our stay at Culmer Cottage in Tarpum Bay”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved are stay in Tarpum Bay, in Culmer Cottage. There was one problem, though, it was too short! Tarpum Bay is a beautiful small town on a beautiful Island with wonderfully friendly and open and helpful people!
Culmer Cottage itself is an old home, maybe over 100 years old that has been completely remodel by one of th great gr.... grandsons, Kervin. He has done a wonderful job! The original cottage was enlarged. It has personality and makes one feel at home and welcomed. It has all that one needs and a bit more. It even come with a cook and maybe even a maid - if one desires. Brenda took good care of us. Even me with my special needs are far a food goes! We came home every evening to a healthy, tasty, hot meal.
I wish we had been able to enjoy Culmer Cottage and Tarpum Bay and the whole island of Eleuthra for more than the one week we had. It was much too short. And I/we do hope to be able to return someday!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home, not just a vaction house.
Liked least: The mattress was too hard. But we sleep on a waterbed normally.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Thank you Kathleen. I am so happy you had a good time and could relax and enjoy my home and island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond Disneyland”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was our 1st major family vacation. We wanted to show our kids (ages 8 & 5) what a REAL vacation is to us as we traveled a lot in college - before kids! No pools, amusement parks, video games, meal plans, and pristine grounds. Culmer Cottage and Tarpum Bay was exactly that and that is why we loved it. We were there for 10 days in mid-January. On less-than-ideal weather days, we stayed in and played games, read, cooked meals together, or walked the streets of the small town. There is cable TV and internet if the kids wanted to watch a show. Most days were great weather (although the locals said it was a "cold spell" at 72 degrees! It felt perfect to us). We rented a car 4 of the 9 days and explored a different beach each time. "The Beach Book of Eleuthera" found in the cottage is a great book. Our favorite beaches were Lighthouse, Ten Bay and Club Med. We packed lunches as eating out is very expensive. Lynn, the Cottage owner, is very helpful on everything pre-departure. We spoke on the phone and many times over email. She called us when we arrived.
Ask my kids today what they loved about their vacation and they will say the friends they made! Not the beaches or time as a family :) Our kids were invited every night to play in the street or walk to the beach by the local kids. Everyone in Tarpum Bay is so friendly and polite. It's proof that those human connections, especially when you are made to feel so welcome in a foreign setting, that really makes an impact on us.
We can't wait to show our kids another non-Disneyland vacation. Really experiencing another country and culture is what we think makes a good vacation.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: location
Liked least: laundry
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Thanks Becky. It is important that your kids had so much fun. I knew the adults would!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing